We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything We Wanted and....”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
atticdwel...
auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything We Wanted and....”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Upon arrival we were thoroughly impressed with the wonderful restoration of this villa. It is furnished with style. Joy, the owner, met us, and we had her dinner, which was very tasty and perfect for tired travellers. She was also very helpful with advice for trips out, etc. The view was magnificent and the pool warmly welcomed us after trips away during the day.
Also, Joy provided us with everything we'd need for the coming morning and beyond.
The location is very convenient, though there is a little noise from the end of the toboggan run just below the pool. On the other hand, you can take a day trip downtown, go up the Monte Cable car, through the Tropical Gardens and down the toboggans to your door!
Just two reservations: 1. If you have a wide rental car, probably best not to park in the garage (exiting can be tricky too, during day time with toboggans coming down the street). 2. MHRD Consultants were unpleasant to deal with.
However those are minor issues. This is a wonderland and our almost 2 year old had a great time, as did we all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and garden/pool
Liked least: Dealing with MHRD consultants: mistake in initial quote, surprise huge bank fees on direct payment required, saying on final instructions that there would probably be a 2 or 3 hour delay if you did not rent car through them - there was no delay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Hello Gregg,

Many thanks for the very appreciative review of your stay at Quinta d’Alegria, we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that the property provided everything you were seeking as accommodation. Thank you for allowing MHRD to upgrade you to our larger property in order to accommodate the prolonged vacation of some our most regular guests. I am surprised and rather disappointed to hear negative comments about the customer service you experienced with our reservations agent, this is totally at odds with the opinions of our guests in general who habitually praise the way their enquiry and bookings are handled with particular reference to their ‘ can do ‘ profile and their personal attention to each individual booking. If your comment arose due to bank charges for the international transfer of funds, this is a matter directly related to the Portuguese banking system, and MHRD cannot be blamed for this point. We are sorry you felt the need to make this comment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyFarme...
Pego Spain
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This really is not a holiday rental - it's more like home!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When it comes to stating in a Rental property you expect to make allowances in respect of facilities and the level of comfort and equipment to use during your stay - not here.

They really have thought of everything - and quality too!

From the heated pool, sumptuously equipped kitchen, fine dining settings to a beautifully comfortable lounge to sit around an open fire, even the logs are provided.

I cannot recomment this place highly enough - and the attention to detail is amazing.

On our last night - the maid 'Ciseltina' prepared and served a fantastic three course meal for us at the dining table which had been beautifully dressed earlier on. There was enough food to feed twice the amount of people present (5) together with 2 bottles of nice wine, and at a very reasonable rate.

Thank you very much for a superb stay - we will return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the facilities and the quality
Liked least: a bit tight to get in with our large estate car - but your could park down the road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
A super review, thank you very much. Delighted that you had a lovely time in Quinta D'Alegria and hope to see you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fritzilei...
bremen
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Vielen Dank. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Rückkehr.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing