We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Portugal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #34 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a wonderful old boutique hotel. Nice size rooms with very high ceilings, they have done a great job in renovating this building. The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms are quiet, the bathroom is large and everything is kept very clean. They handed out the most delightful chocolates every night. If we had any complaints it would be the view we had from our room, there wasn't one, we looked down into the dining room. The breakfast provided was more than adequate and satisfied any need. This hotel is located well within walking distance of the pedestrian mall, the city hall and port area of the city. Be prepared for a workout as the streets are very hilly. This would happen no matter where you stayed in Porto. Unfortunately there are no recreational facilities provided ( pool, fitness room etc). Also they did not over free wifi or internet you had to pay but there was a McDonalds 5 minutes down the road that fulfilled this requirement.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up than the first floor you might get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aquatamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 394 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were offered port on check in which was a nice touch. The standard room we had was clean and comfortable and we had no complaints with it.
The inside of the hotel is beautiful and the lift is fab. It is not like the soulless chain hotels you come across and to us that was one of the big attractions . If you want the corporate ,bland look then this is not the place for you. We found all the staff we met were friendly and helpful especially the bar man and reception who pointed us in the right direction for our trips around Porto.
The hotel restaurant was not open in the evening but Book restaurant, which is attached to the hotel, is great! We went there on my birthday and had a very good meal.
The location of the hotel is very central to most of the sights of Porto and everything is walking distance. Because of the location there was some noise at night but this did not spoil our stay.
Its a nice little hotel and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

An amazing location, right in the heart of Porto. Very attentive staff. We were there over Easter, and were treated to a free classical concert, and to free port and Easter cake every day. The room was quite nice, quiet, with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was good, although rather basic. Unfortunately, the restaurant has closed--there's a new restaurant where you'd need to enter from the outside. Two more things--do not park overnight in front of the hotel, since you may be ticketed or towed by the police; parking through the hotel costs € 12 a night, or you can park in one of the places where you need to buy a ticket (that's only 50 cents an hour, but with a 2 hour maximum). Also, WiFi is not free--and rather pricey (€ 9 per 24 hours).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatriateInGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hotel Infante Sagres looks very nice and luxurious at first sight, but you will soon realize that it is not worthy of 5*. It is a old establishment, with history, but in my opinion trying to cover up the old cracks by painting over it, just make it look cheap and not very clean.

It is a good hotel with a good location (not even 10 minutes walk from the Douro River).

The room are not big in size : I had a 'Superior Room' which according to the description, should have been bigger than the 'Standard' one. The bed is a good size and I have nothing to say about the bed sheets, they are standard. The table lamp on the side table were very filthy with lots of dust and the control to switch it on/off is just a loose switch attach to a wooden piece (very rustic). The bathroom has a charm: You could feel the history into the marble and old cracking paint. The view from the bathroom is nice (view of the garden). The hairdryer is very old school, so i suggest you bring your own.

This is something that you could see all around the hotel : loose cable and electric plugs hanging from the walls in the dinning room (right in my face of there i was sitting for breakfast) and stair case. It gives it a quite rough feeling.

The breakfast is normal. Buffet style. Go as early as possible because they don't temped to refill the food once it's empty, even after requested. The coffee is awful (very shameful since in Portugal the coffee is extremely good everywhere)

Except for the lovely lady with the long black hair, which i believe must be one of the manager, all the rest of the staff, including in the dining room, were quite rude, looked unhappy and where not making the vibe of the hotel friendly.
I asked many times for advice regarding restaurants or bars, but no one could give me proper suggestions. It is incredible that in a 'luxurious' hotel, there is no concierge or person with a good knowledge of that kind.
They should remember that it is also the people that makes the place and experience pleasant.

The Hotel Infante Sagres is not terrible, but it is just not what I expected. I was quite disappointed. If you want luxury, I personally don't believe this is the place to go. If you are looking for a small hotel with character, it might be for you. But I believe that for the price, you can find better is that beautiful city that is Porto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the 'garden'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabrielleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Desperately seeking for the sweet wine?, hhmm Porto is the answer. Strolling around the city without speaking portuguese here is reallyfun but it is better to stay in the hotel where receptionnists speak good english and know the city very well.
Hotel Infantes Sagres is perfect if we do not look for a real palace's standard. the façade from outside is quite dull and unfurbished (maybe this is the style???).in the lobby, there is small bar and a cute elevator with a banquet to put our butt. The breakfast is correctly presented, various enough to fill the tummy to start our day, do not try the scrambles eggs, it looked so yucki.
Room service is excellent, room and bathroom are okay..especially with the correct price 357€ for 3 days with breakfast. Not easy to get this bargain in europe.Obrigada Porto!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceane789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRUPOLAGRIMAS, General Manager at Hotel Infante Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Dear Infante de Sagres Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to writte your commets about us. In fact you are quite right saying that the hotel's façade is discrete, for me is one of our objectives - with so many important guests every time it's part of our philosofie to be reserved.
Concerning the eggs they where not unfit for consumption, but with all the rules that you must follow concerning food and health security, you just cannot have fresh farm eggs anymore.

again thank you so much for your visit and comments.

Yours sincerely,

The GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.8 km away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 111 in Porto
2,344 reviews
0.3 km away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.6 km away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#5 of 111 in Porto
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.9 km away
Torel Avantgarde
Torel Avantgarde
#7 of 111 in Porto
139 reviews
0.4 km away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#28 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: RM 950 - RM 1,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing