We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$118
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$136
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$141
US$126
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Eurostars Oporto(Porto)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Gallery Hostel(Porto)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$305
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$323/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$250
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,048)
Filter reviews
1,048 results
Traveller rating
406
412
156
48
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
412
156
48
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstained glasssmall luxury hotels of the worldstar hotelhistorical hotelon arrivalinner courtyardcentral locationstandard roomquiet roomelegant hotelinternet accessthe main squarehop on hophotel is perfectcity breaklarge bathroomcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 1,048 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were offered port on check in which was a nice touch. The standard room we had was clean and comfortable and we had no complaints with it.
The inside of the hotel is beautiful and the lift is fab. It is not like the soulless chain hotels you come across and to us that was one of the big attractions . If you want the corporate ,bland look then this is not the place for you. We found all the staff we met were friendly and helpful especially the bar man and reception who pointed us in the right direction for our trips around Porto.
The hotel restaurant was not open in the evening but Book restaurant, which is attached to the hotel, is great! We went there on my birthday and had a very good meal.
The location of the hotel is very central to most of the sights of Porto and everything is walking distance. Because of the location there was some noise at night but this did not spoil our stay.
Its a nice little hotel and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

An amazing location, right in the heart of Porto. Very attentive staff. We were there over Easter, and were treated to a free classical concert, and to free port and Easter cake every day. The room was quite nice, quiet, with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was good, although rather basic. Unfortunately, the restaurant has closed--there's a new restaurant where you'd need to enter from the outside. Two more things--do not park overnight in front of the hotel, since you may be ticketed or towed by the police; parking through the hotel costs € 12 a night, or you can park in one of the places where you need to buy a ticket (that's only 50 cents an hour, but with a 2 hour maximum). Also, WiFi is not free--and rather pricey (€ 9 per 24 hours).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatriateInGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hotel Infante Sagres looks very nice and luxurious at first sight, but you will soon realize that it is not worthy of 5*. It is a old establishment, with history, but in my opinion trying to cover up the old cracks by painting over it, just make it look cheap and not very clean.

It is a good hotel with a good location (not even 10 minutes walk from the Douro River).

The room are not big in size : I had a 'Superior Room' which according to the description, should have been bigger than the 'Standard' one. The bed is a good size and I have nothing to say about the bed sheets, they are standard. The table lamp on the side table were very filthy with lots of dust and the control to switch it on/off is just a loose switch attach to a wooden piece (very rustic). The bathroom has a charm: You could feel the history into the marble and old cracking paint. The view from the bathroom is nice (view of the garden). The hairdryer is very old school, so i suggest you bring your own.

This is something that you could see all around the hotel : loose cable and electric plugs hanging from the walls in the dinning room (right in my face of there i was sitting for breakfast) and stair case. It gives it a quite rough feeling.

The breakfast is normal. Buffet style. Go as early as possible because they don't temped to refill the food once it's empty, even after requested. The coffee is awful (very shameful since in Portugal the coffee is extremely good everywhere)

Except for the lovely lady with the long black hair, which i believe must be one of the manager, all the rest of the staff, including in the dining room, were quite rude, looked unhappy and where not making the vibe of the hotel friendly.
I asked many times for advice regarding restaurants or bars, but no one could give me proper suggestions. It is incredible that in a 'luxurious' hotel, there is no concierge or person with a good knowledge of that kind.
They should remember that it is also the people that makes the place and experience pleasant.

The Hotel Infante Sagres is not terrible, but it is just not what I expected. I was quite disappointed. If you want luxury, I personally don't believe this is the place to go. If you are looking for a small hotel with character, it might be for you. But I believe that for the price, you can find better is that beautiful city that is Porto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the 'garden'
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabrielleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Desperately seeking for the sweet wine?, hhmm Porto is the answer. Strolling around the city without speaking portuguese here is reallyfun but it is better to stay in the hotel where receptionnists speak good english and know the city very well.
Hotel Infantes Sagres is perfect if we do not look for a real palace's standard. the façade from outside is quite dull and unfurbished (maybe this is the style???).in the lobby, there is small bar and a cute elevator with a banquet to put our butt. The breakfast is correctly presented, various enough to fill the tummy to start our day, do not try the scrambles eggs, it looked so yucki.
Room service is excellent, room and bathroom are okay..especially with the correct price 357€ for 3 days with breakfast. Not easy to get this bargain in europe.Obrigada Porto!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceane789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRUPOLAGRIMAS, General Manager at Hotel Infante Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Dear Infante de Sagres Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to writte your commets about us. In fact you are quite right saying that the hotel's façade is discrete, for me is one of our objectives - with so many important guests every time it's part of our philosofie to be reserved.
Concerning the eggs they where not unfit for consumption, but with all the rules that you must follow concerning food and health security, you just cannot have fresh farm eggs anymore.

again thank you so much for your visit and comments.

Yours sincerely,

The GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

A fantastic boutique hotel in a central location, just off the main square. It's an old historical building where the original features, like stained glass windows and chandeliers in the grand dining room have been retained but added to by modern touches, to create a really opulent feel.

The rooms are beautiful and the beds were incredibly comfortable. Overall we were really happy with our stay, although sometimes the staff on reception didn't understand our English and in general I found service (e.g at breakfast) to be professional, but quite formal rather than over-the-top smiling and friendly. That would be my only criticism. However, despite being part of a small chain they haven't lost sight of the little touches - the glass of port on arrival in particular was very welcome! Would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRUPOLAGRIMAS, Manager at Hotel Infante Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Infante de Sagres Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about our property. Your critics will be considered to improve our service, specially at breakfast time and the excessive formality from our colleagues.
Sincerely yours,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews