We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plush, poise ... and a little noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Very good hotel, old-styled in the best sense of the term. The staff is simply second to none, very courteous and always friendly. It's not a mere coincidence that Mr. Paulo de Carvalho, the very attentive Hotel Director, is an ubiquitous presence at the front desk. The location is perfect: right in dowtown, one block from Aliados Avenue and a metro station, at walking distance from Clerigos, Sé, Rua Santa Catarina, even the famous Cais da Ribeira and its restaurants. I've stayed there for 3 nights, on my way to Santiago de Compostela, at a standard room: large and very comfortable. On my way back, I got the "Suite Infante", at the 1st. floor. SImply breathtaking: one of the more luxurious hotel room (actually an entire apartment) I have ever stayed at. On the flip side, there's a kind of rock show in the opposite side of Dona Filippa de Lancastre square every week-end. Noisy, indeed. But that's life: nothing's flawless.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 440 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2009

The hotel is old but very elegant. I did not find it to be worn-out, in fact, I enjoyed the environment that the hotel created with their decor. The room was beautifuly decoracted and well appointed. The elevator has a couch in it! The service was very good and they took the time to make sure that I was well served. For example, when I asked about a Fado house, they made a reservation and made sure I had a table at the front to see the show.
Breakfast is very good and the hotel location is fantastic. However, DO NOT park in front of the hotel without telling them (you car will be towed for sure within hours) I saw it happen everyday! They will park the car for you which is worth it (there is a cost of some euros). Porto is a bad place to drive if you don't know the city very well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boottraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

This is an expensive hotel in a reasonably central location. It tries very hard to be a boutique hotel but it really isn't - it's an old 19th century hotel which has had a bit of a makeover and its staff retain an attitude which is fairly oblivious of the fact that there are guests in the hotel.
I am sure there must be better hotels in Porto!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ullans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Interesting, grand yet somewhat eclectic atmosphere for an upscale hotel in the core of Porto.

Friendly service, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, great breakfast. Neat courtyard.

Enjoyed dinner in their upscale restaurant.

The concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

It was our first trip to Portugal and we stayed at this hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. It is after all, a Small Luxury Leading Hotel of the World. They offered us lemonade during check-in which was very refreshing given the hot temperatures outside. The pictures of this hotel don't do it justice. It is absolutely breathtaking! It is very trendy, chic, and unusual--yet maintains an air of elegance. Our rooms were very comfortable and chic as well. The breakfast was excellent, as was the service. I would highly recommend this to travellers looking for luxury, a central location, and quality service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agalstia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.8 km away
Pestana Vintage Porto
3.3 km away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.3 km away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 109 in Porto
625 reviews
0.6 km away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 km away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#33 of 109 in Porto
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: RM824 - RM1,537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing