We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
149
23
13
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
23
13
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden pavilion white door service was super friendly clawfoot tub an in room massage stylish boutique hotel shower curtain complimentary bottle of port house is beautiful small garden a lovely place to stay great recommendations small bottle rooms are beautiful top floor fantastic stay spent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Absolutely the best place we stayed in Porto! It's in a great location, with a short walk to the centre of Porto, and some good restaurants and gallery spaces right around the hotel.

We stayed in the Garden Pavilion, which is a beautiful space and really well designed. It also has a lovely little private patio which is great in the evenings. The bed was super comfy and everything was incredibly clean. One thing to be aware of is that due to an older plumbing system, it takes a while for the water to run hot - it wasn't an issue as they warned us about it on check-in, but it's the sort of quirk that might frustrate you if you're more used to "polished" corporate hotels.

Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and couldn't help enough - someone sat down with us at check-in and annotated a map for us with loads of recommendations which was such a nice start to the trip. They even lent us a power adaptor because we hadn't been able to buy one that day.

Room Tip: The Garden Pavilion is well worth the price
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tash W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia H, Gerente de relações com clientes at ROSA ET AL Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Tash,
Your praising words regarding ROSA ET AL Townhouse are very motivating and encouraging for the entire team.
The comfort of our guests is of major importance to us and we are happy to read that you felt comfortable in our suite. We want our guests to truly feel at home. Our Garden Pavilion is indeed a very special and unique suite.
Your wonderful words about our knowledgeable team are very inspiring for us. It is great that they made sure you visited the best museums, booked the perfect table on the tastiest restaurants and sent you shopping on the coolest places during your stay in Porto.
It was a pleasure having you as a guest. We truly hope to welcome you back again in the future at ROSA ET AL Townhouse.
Kind regards,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

So nice to stay in different kind of hotel. Personal service with a big genuine smile from all the staff.
Delicious breakfast and a peaceful rear garden away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
We were on the top floor which was a bit of a trek up by foot ( no lift) but the room at the top was airy spacious and well furnished, and there was a lovely library to peruse on the landing. Crisp white linen and aside from a squeaky floorboard in the WC area we couldn’t have asked for more.

Room Tip: If you are unfit ask for a ground floor or first floor room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatSousa, Proprietário at ROSA ET AL Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you John. What a wonderful greeting, we are indeed a different kind of hotel, not perfect but for sure memorable in a good way. All the best and looking forward to have you or your friends with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This hotel is so perfect. It's a beautiful building full of history and charm, but newly renovated to include all of the best amenities of a small boutique hotel. The location is absolutely perfect - at the center of this perfect walking city. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatSousa, Proprietário at ROSA ET AL Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Jake. Thanks you for your words. We look forward to have you back with us, or any of your friends or recommendations. It was such a pleasure to have you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This is a very cute and stylish boutique hotel, and it's clear that the owners have tried very hard to anticipate every amenity down to the smallest detail. The rooms are spacious. There's a complimentary bottle of port and cookies delivered to the room each night under a little glass dome. We thoroughly enjoyed our six-course dinner with four mid-level wines and exceptional service at 80 euros per person, and it was great to just be able to waddle upstairs after a large, satisfying meal. The rear garden is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine in late afternoon after a full day of sightseeing. Most of the staff tries to be helpful and friendly. So I give this place a very good rating for trying hard on executing the good stuff and working to make guests comfortable.

But there are real shortcomings that you should be aware of. The bathroom was a deal-breaker for me. It's an ergonomic nightmare and a personal injury attorney's dream. There is too-dim lighting, both here and in the bedroom. The clawfoot tub was positioned so it was difficult to grab onto anything in the event of a slip or fall. If you did fall, you could be impaled on the long, sharp filler pipe. The shower curtain didn't close all the way. There was a bath caddy for shampoo and other amenities, but it wouldn't fit across the tub if the shower curtain was closed. We made a makeshift caddy by moving the wastebasket closer to the tub and putting the amenities on that. But if you swiveled around and crouched to reach the shampoo, you might have found that long filler pipe probing your private parts. There was no dish at the sink for the hand soap. We have stayed in luxury hotels around the world and this is one of the extremely rare times where I dreaded taking a shower in the morning.

Other shortcomings? There's no elevator. You park your car down the street in a small garage for an additional 20 euros a day. The hotel's sign is tiny and practically invisible, so it's easy to drive right by. If the loading zones are full on the one-way, single-lane street, you won't be able to stop your car and unload bags. We found the staff less-than-reliable in making restaurant reservations and their knowledge of local attractions slightly underwhelming. If you take a front room, be prepared for noise from garbage trucks or car alarms during the night. There was a device in our room that gave off an annoying red light during the night, and while a staff member assured us this was a normal safety device and our question was unfounded, we saw it nowhere else in Portugal. Finally, we sensed a bit of a defensive attitude, with a feeling that if the guest had a complaint, it was the guest who was deficient. You'll see this reflected in the hotel's responses to some other reviews (i.e., the nonsense that the bathroom is configured to adhere to some sort of architectural integrity), and I suspect you will also see this attitude emerge once again in the hotel's response to my critique here.

Because this is an independent effort by two energetic entrepreneurs, I couldn't, in good conscience, give it just three stars. Much of what is good is very good. But just be aware of the shortcomings. If you can handle those, then give this hotel a try.

Room Tip: Pick a rear room to avoid nighttime noise.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Longislander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatSousa, Proprietário at ROSA ET AL Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent review. We really do our best to please our guest and create a memorable stay.
As awckard as this may seem, the bathtubes are really a architectural option. Since the beginning, there were no curtais, our goal was to create a bathtub experience that many of us long for but never have time or energy to do it, so why not when you are in a hotel as a tourist with no time to count and with someone else to clean up the mess that it can happen on a long soaking bath. But as the guests required we changed it and we add curtains but it is not a perfect shower because it was made for bath, we are working on that and we hope that one day we have guests that are enjoy the bathtub as we dream about..meanwhile we add a room that has 3 power showers, 2 in the room and one in the private outdoor patio. So next time ask for the room with the showers if this is your preference. :-)
The simplicity and exclusivity we aimed when we designed this concept are indeed an option on the outdoors sign, there is no sign indeed only a discreet sign saying ROSA ET AL in a white big door, and we are not aiming to change it. The purpose is not becoming overwhelmed with curious people but receive our guest as a friend in our townhouse.
We are in a city and the rooms facing the street are indeed facing a street with cars and trucks and buses and people that unfortunately we can't control in terms of noise. But the light in the rooms can be sorted out and can be corrected if the guest request us upon their stay. We like dimmed and low level light, but we also understand that are different needs and we have extra lamps to add when they are asked.
In terms of staff, i am very sorry that you haven't been lucky to meet your expectations in terms of recommendations and concierge services. Myself will give extra attention to the newest staff members that can be in the beginning of their career with us and not at all yet fully comfortable in delivering the best service of Rosa et al, with recommendations that are approved from my personal experience of places unique to locals and the best in town.
The attitude in our responses are not aiming to be defensive but above all to explain our aims and goals and to express and to inform all our guests that all can be sorted out when the guest in the house, because after your experience coming online can cause damages that could be easily sorted out when you were staying withs us, creating a memorable experience with faults that were immediately corrected or explained and not this feeling of not meeting the expectations.
We are not a perfect place, but as you clearly explained we deliver a good service, a good night sleep, a wonderful breakfast and a memorable dinner, we have a lovely garden and a very excellent in room spa service and we deliver every morning our energy for the best experience a guest can have in our townhouse, Because of your words we thank you for recognition of our effort and we hope that in your next stay with us we have been uplifted and sorted our shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Beautifully restored old building, with stylish modern design. The rooms, garden, and restaurant are beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are great! Our only gripe was that the toilet was part of the room, which was not comfortable for us at all (we had to agree on some "private time" for each of us in the room :). We were only there for one night so it was no big deal, but had we stayed longer I would have preferred a room with a separate toilet. Aside from that we looooved this hotel, and would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Porto.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the toilet in the middle of the room. If this matters, ask about other rooms that have a closed off toilet.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BeeFlyerCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia H, Gerente de relações com clientes at ROSA ET AL Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hello!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your feedback with us.
Your praising words regarding ROSA ET AL Townhouse are very motivating and encouraging for the entire team.
We are delighted to know that our fresh and homemade breakfast was one of the highlights of your stay with us. It also makes us very happy to read your wonderful words about our knowledgeable team.
It was a pleasure having you as a guest. We truly hope to welcome you back again in the future at ROSA ET AL Townhouse.
Kind regards,
Claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews