We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveller rating
835
217
47
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
835
217
47
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tudor hall grande bretagne sister hotel syntagma square upgraded to a suite beautiful hotel parliament building rooftop restaurant sitting room classic room adjoining rooms indoor pool front desk staff perfect location historic sites an upgrade top floor
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent one night at the King George hotel. The hotel is very beautiful and the staff were extremely helpful. The concierge gave us very good suggestions for restaurants. Importantly, the King George is located near the Parliament, and only 0.6 miles from the Acropolis and other historic sites. In less than 6 hours, we were able to see quite a lot by foot. We did not wait in line to go up to the Acropolis. If you wish to do that, get there really early - the hotel can advise you about this. We also really enjoyed early-evening cocktails at Tudor Hall on the hotel’s 7th floor. It’s worth waiting for a table that oversees the Acropolis - a really beautiful view at night that is not to be missed. Only one caveat related tour stay: we were going to be traveling on Aegean Airways from Athens to Santorini. At check-out, The hotel advised us to arrive at Athens airport 90 minutes before flight time. That is not nearly enough time, especially during peak season. Aegean is very disorganized, check-in lines can be really long, and there is little airport help to be found. I realize this is more a criticism of Aegean than the hotel. In any case, our overall experience at the King George was excellent and we thank the entire staff for making our time in Athens so enjoyable.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

What a disappointing stay we had! The King George was obviously once a very grand hotel, but the old lady is showing her age, despite the “Luxury Hotel” branding that’s everywhere. (If you’re truly luxury, do you really need to label everything with that?) We had a lovely check-in experience and were upgraded to a room with a view of the Acropolis. The bed was sumptuous, with fine bedding, though there was a bit of street noise (from the 4th floor). The breakfast (which was complimentary with our stay) was excellent with a view of the Acropolis. Yet there were several bits that quirky or downright unpleasant: First, the shower in the tub is effectively hand-held only. There isn’t enough water pressure for water to reach into the tub when the shower head is hooked on the wall bracket. There is a decent gym, with a complimentary bowl of apples, yet the apples must have been sitting out there for days, as they were rotted when turned over. There is a sauna room which was nice, but when we went there was no running water in the locker room for the sinks or shower, so sweating in a sauna and not being able to rinse/cool off became much less appealing. There is a lovely spa in the adjacent Grande Bretagne hotel that we had access to, but you have to walk outside through our lobby and the lobby of the sister hotel, which when you’re heading to the spa was a big deterrent to going. (Too bad there wasn’t a connecting door or tunnel as they are adjacent.)

The real trouble arose the morning we were checking out however. We had just packed when water started streaming through the ceiling onto us and our packed bags. Totally gross!! We immediately called the front desk, and a bellhop came to collect the luggage. He arrived quickly and we left the room as fast as we could. The bellhop took our luggage while we went for breakfast. Thirty minutes later we go to check out, and the front desk has no recollection that we had any problem with our stay. We had to call over the bellhop to vouch for our story. They spend a good while on the phone, apologizing and saying it was just air conditioning condensate, so it wasn’t dirty water. What? It’s still gross. On a $900 two-night stay, they gave us a discount of $40 for our inconvenience. Not really too meaningful.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John30115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King-George-Athens, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the King George Hotel. First of all, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. Regarding the issues encountered in your room, we absolutely understand your frustration and we have discussed your comments with our Engineer Manager & Director of Housekeeping in order to take immediate corrective action. Your feedback is valuable to us and is always taken into consideration in order to improve our services. We hope to be given the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

In July my family of four had the pleasure of staying at the King George Hotel. It was top notch .Beautiful rooms, outstanding service in the heart of Athens! I highly recommend King George Hotel in Athens.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank kbell72017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Amazing service, booked via Amex Plat. Fine hotels, front desk knew all about Amex benefits , received up grade, early check in and late check out.
Great setting with amazing view , lucky to see the blood moon !
Lovely food and friendly staff. Will stay longer next time

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank yearntree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Beautiful, understated hotel in the center of the city. You would have to look really hard to criticize anything. Very polite and helpful staff with excellent language skills. Rooms appointed with style and taste. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mozo4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews