We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location”
Review of Arion Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arion Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This hotel is at an excellent location, both tucked away, and close to Monastiraki and pretty much everything. The staff are also very helpful, the rooms are well maintained, especially with the beautiful Acropolis view. The only reason I went for a 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the beds, they are quite hard to sleep on, and could cause a back ache. If they change their mattresses to softer/better quality, this will be a real 5/5 hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Boliath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, Manager at Arion Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Boliath,

thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for the compliments to our staff. We thank you for sharing your sincere feedback that helps us become better.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Athens.

Kind Regards,
Sofia K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for Arion Athens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Arian hotel is a great hotel. Acropolis views, and restaurants right down the street close to Idion square. It may be a little hard to find, but once you do, you are in for a treat. Staff is great and the top floor garden with view to match. Breakfast prided and is also great. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are a few Acropolis view room, must ask for them.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mikecox24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, Manager at Arion Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear mikecox24,

thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for recommending us!

Your wonderful description of our staff being great and the top floor garden with view to match leave us with a smile. We are also very happy to read that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel.

We certainly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
The Arion Athens Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

If you are a city traveler, what would you expect from your hotel?
A great location, close to sightseeing, night life and public transportation, a clean room, good air conditioner, descent bed and a good breakfast and an helpful tips from the staff about what to see and where to go. All of it should of course meet your budget.
Well this hotel fulfills most of it:
(+) location is within spitting distance from most of what you want to see and do in Athens, the rooms are small but clean, there is a small fridge and the hotel itself is renovated and good maintenance.
Price is in good value for money.
(-) breakfast was just ok and the Staff at the front desk were a bit apathetic (maybe like in many other over touristic places) and not that useful.
At total not a fancy hotel but nice and welcoming small city hotel just for city travelers.
P.s : take noticed that all the terrible and poor reviews are quite old - it's seems that at the last few years the hotel changed for the best

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank itay_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, Manager at Arion Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear itay_liz,

Thank you for taking the time to review us online and thank you for describing us as a "nice and welcoming small city hotel" that "city travelers will love". We are delighted that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel that allows you to explore Athens and all the ancient sites on foot. Thank you for all your comments, positive and negative that help us improve.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a return stay!
Thank you for recommending us!

Kind Regards,
The Arion Athens Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

This is in the Plaka area which is great if are just into the bar and night club scene. There is A LOT of graffiti everywhere, so much that it is "in your face" everywhere you turn. There are also a lot of gypsies constantly begging and following you around. It is around the corner from a main street where you'd to go go if you want to meet a tour bus. To the left of the Arion you go right into Plaka. On the other side of Plaka are the Zeus and Acropolis ruins (40 minutes away)... so if you are in Athens to enjoy the historical sights, this would not be a convenient location. With that being said, the front staff at the hotel are unhelpful and seem to not care about customer service. The older gentleman (constantly smoking in front of the hotel) is less good than the younger one. He was also housekeeping and you'd call him if you need towels, etc. As we got out of the cab he remained smoking, never said hello and offered no help with our suitcases. We proceeded to the front desk and waited for him as he finished his cigarette (about 3 minutes later - yes I timed him). There was no coffee pot in the room, or a mini bar. They charge for use of the safe. Bathrooms are extremely small and there is no privacy. The view from our 6th floor room was a view to trash. The free wifi never worked properly. Luckily we only booked 2 nights there. A big let down for us. Do not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRAVELFREAKONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, Manager at Arion Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear travelfreakone,

your review leaves me somehow confused and I am not sure if you wanted to review a different property as your descriptions does not match our offerings or location. We do not charge for the use of safe. There are safe deposit boxes that every guest can use free of charge. Furthermore, the housekeeping team is available to change towels and clean the rooms on a daily basis. I am sorry to read of this experience, which does not match our standards nor the level of customer service that you will read in other guest reviews.

Sincerely,
Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Great central hotel, walking distance to bars, restaurants and the acropolis! Changing of the guards at the Parliament House is quite a fascination!
The market square is busy with all sorts of things to buy or have a lunch and a drink or ice cream

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kazywazy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, Manager at Arion Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear kazywazy_11,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel and for sharing some tips for our future guests regarding places to visit.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for a return stay!

Kind Regards,
Arion Athens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,363 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,897 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#24 of 282 in Athens
736 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Acropolis Select Hotel
#52 of 282 in Athens
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Athens Hotel

Address: 18 Agiou Dimitriou (Psirri) | Plaka/ Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: RM276 - RM913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arion Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arion Athens Hotel is a modern, city centre hotel, a 2-minute walk from Monastiraki Metro Station, with direct access to the airport and the port of Piraeus. The hotel’s extremely convenient location provides easy access to the Monastiraki Flea Market, Plaka, Thiseion, the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum as well as Syntagma Square, the Parliament, museums and many more. Many restaurants, tavernas and bars can be found within small walking distance. Arion Athens Hotel features bright, stylish rooms and a rooftop garden with stunning Acropolis view. Free wireless Internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arion Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion Hotel Athens
Athens Arion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing