We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in great location with a view of the Acropolis!!”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #45 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were delighted with our choice of this hotel. The location is fantastic, right behind the Metropolis Cathedral and close to restaurants and shops in a good area. The room was small, but spotlessly clean, with an ultra modern bathroom. But best of all, our room on the third floor had a balcony with a table and two chairs and a view of the Acropolis! Fantastic and a complete surprise. There was an elevator so we didn't have to lug our cases up stairs. The buffet breakfast was on the 6th floor terrace with an even better view of the Acropolis. Little noisy at night when the trash truck was emptying bins at 2am but we got used to that. If you're a light sleeper the cathedral clock chiming the hour might not be to your liking but we found it to be part of being in the city center. All in all a great experience. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 80Falco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for a night for our one day stay in Athens. It was a reachable walking distance from the Syntagma train station and easy to find. What strike us most was the friendly and helpful reception we received upon arrival. For those with heavy luggages, do not worry as there is a lift to bring your luggages up to your room. Though the lift is abit cramp. The room looks inviting and cosy with sufficient amenities. The location is also great with many eateries nearby. It is also not too difficult to reach the attraction Acropolis from here. Great rooftop view too. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who are visiting Athens. Keep up the good and warm friendly service

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed one night in between our flight from Santorini and our flight to the USA. We took the Metro from the airport (9 Euros per person) to the Syntagma station (45 minute ride). From there it is a 5 minute straight shot walk to the hotel (using Siri). The metro was not operating when we needed to leave for our 6:05 AM flight; cab fare was 54 Euros and 30 minutes. The hotel arranged our cab without issue.

Check-in was easy. Owners/front desk staff know everyone, everything, and can help you with any plans. Room was small but clean. Air conditioner worked. The only issue we had was the wall socket blew out our converter-one big pop and it was dead. The front desk, however, had one we could use. Also, the front desk person brought our luggage up and did not expect a tip.

From the hotel, it was an easy 20-minute walk to the Parthenon and everywhere else. Several restaurants and cafes within a 30 second (yes, second) walk.

When I am in Athens again, I am definitely staying at the Hotel Metropolis!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jknight910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The location is perfect and the service and quality of the property match the view. We were very impressed with the 5 star quality of the rooms which is a nice surprise for Athens properties. The roof top pool and restaurant is a great place to spend the day and night and the food was great at each location. I will definitely choose this location again on my next visit to Athens

Room Tip: Higher floors give best view of acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OldFortBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We selected this hotel based on the location and price and were very pleased with our overnight stay. Reception staff were very pleasant and accommodating, especially since we arrived early. Our room was large, by European standards, very clean, air conditioned and had an amazing view of the Acropolis. The bathroom included a shower with jets and a rain head! Breakfast on the 5th floor terrace was available for a small fee and was quite adequate.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,801 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,382 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 281 in Athens
982 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#68 of 281 in Athens
969 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#80 of 281 in Athens
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#36 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: RM239 - RM662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing