We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, with perfect service and clean rooms”
Review of Mistral Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mistral Mare Hotel
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The staff was very friendly and helpful! The room was clean and spacious! There is fantastic view from the balconies. The food was very tasty!
the beach there is the best in Crete. The place around is perfect!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikosHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

Just returned from our holidays on Crete a few days ago, it was the second on the island (2 years ago we visited Rethymno) but this time was better!
First of all this is one of the best beaches I have ever visited, sandy and crystal clear water. Sunbeds and umbrella are on extra cost because the beach is municipal, entrance to beach is a little tiring because there are many steps but fortunately there is another easier way to get to the beach.
Regarding hotel, Mistral Mare has great view over the sea and Agios Nikolaos, we really enjoyed having our dinner looking at the sea while the sun was setting.
Food is delicious with sufficient variety and taste. Staff of restaurant and cook are polite, smiling and really fast!!
Internet is not free, I was surprised to realize that at the beginning but the wifi cards that you can buy at reception are not very expensive and I am not such a frequent user of internet so two cards of 200 minutes (8 euros each) were more than enough.
We rent a car from the near village and we visited many nice places such Ierapetra (small city with beautiful beaches around), Heraklion, palace of Knossos and Sitia. We also visited Vai beach, it was nice but the road till there is so narrow and tiring that it wasn’t worth all the trouble!
All the all it was very nice holidays and I would like to thank all of staff in Mistral Mare! Hope that we will see each other again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilpapadom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The only reason I'm giving this a 2 star rating and not a 1 is because of the absolutely stunning view I've had from the room. Also, a very nice beach (Voulisma) is rather close to it. These would be the only Pros for me.

Now, let's go through the Cons.

Location: The hotel is located just near the little town of Istron, spread over some pretty steep hills. Because of this, you will be phisically challenged just walking around the hotel. My first guess is that people with disabilities should stay away from this hotel. If you have chosen the Golden Wing, you will have to walk some distance to get to it.

Room: My first impression is that this is not a 4 star hotel. The furniture is rather old and poorly maintained. The minibar was located in a cabinet integrated in the desk. The door was falling from one of the hinges, so I had to fix it back to not pick it up from the ground. The bed was without exaggerating the worst in which I ever slept. Too small, too low, uncomfortable mattress, rock hard pillow. The room door was old and it kept moving whilst the balcony door was opened due to draft, making annoying noises. And yes, draft is a constant presence, due to Crete being the windiest place I've been to.

Speaking of noise. If you're seeking a nice and quiet vacation, don't come here. The hotel is full of russians which are by far the noisiest and most inconsiderate tourists I've ever seen. Also, they leave garbage just laying around. As an example, some of them were eating sunflower seeds near the pool. After they've finished, they left the shells in a plastic glass which was tipped over by the wind. All the sunflower seed shells went directly into the pool. And maybe tourists may be excused for doing this since they're on vacation, but the hotel staff was not really there to make the necessary cleaning. So you would see empty glasses, beer mugs, wrappings and all other this just laying around everywhere.
Also, the hotel is located next to a very busy road, so don't expect to hear the sea in the room - just passing traffic.

Further speaking of cleanliness: don't expect it. In the dining area, all the tables were constantly dirty and sticky and grose. And so were some of the plates and especially the cutlery, so you needed extra attention when you picked them up to eat.
The room was "cleaned" daily, but it always gave the impression of doing a poor job (dust was still there, dirty towels were not always changed and they sometimes forgot to clean used mugs or glasses).

Speaking of food: the word to describe it is mediocre. And I'm being kind. There were some days in which I couldn't find anything decent to eat, and I'm really not a picky person. So consider booking rooms only with breakfast (which was by far the worst meal), and go eat at a taverna in the town (I would recommend Panorama, which is 3 minutes away).

All in all, the hotel was a total disappointment. Thank God that Greece is a wonderful country, which saved our holiday.

I'm closing with a tip: If possible, rent a car, it's not that expensive and it will ease all your transportation.

Room Tip: Best views: Golden Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mihai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We chose Mistral Mare hotel as it was in a good location and we were looking for a nice, quiet hotel that was all inclusive. We had previously read reviews that the hotel was "For Russians" but as we are a quiet couple we were not too bothered about other guests so continued to book the holiday.
When we arrived we were welcomed by a lady at reception, at about 1am she took us into the restaurant with no lights on, brought us two plates of food with cling film on and told us to eat. We thought maybe it was just the night time and it would get better in the morning.
Breakfast was a very basic buffet from 8am -10pm, although the cake was good.
Lunch is from 1pm-2:30 which restricts what you can do during the day if you don't wish to spend money eating out, we found lunch mostly made up of leftovers from breakfast.
Snacks are between 11-12:30 and 3-4 which are sandwiches and hotdogs. The first time we asked for snacks they said they didn't understand although we were also pointing at the menu. The second time it was 12o'clock and they said that snacks had shut to come back at 4, although when we did they said dinner was opening at 7 so to wait until then as they were not serving snacks, making us question if they really served them at all.
Dinner was between 7pm-9pm, the Russian guests normally got there early and we found they took plates and plates of food, so there was nothing left even after only a few minutes, we had to search for someone to ask for more and that's if they understood us. Food was very hit and miss, one night was snails the next was rabbit.. so we found ourselves going out for food even though we were paying for all inclusive.
The other guests were all Russian something we didn't think would bother us, however the food, signs and everything were catered for them. We were constantly stared at and they were very rude even when we had smiled ect.
The hotel advertises an A La Carte restaurant, however this doesn't exist, only a buffet. It also advertises a sauna and hot tub both of which are €40 per person. The gym has a treadmill, and about 4 other broken machines which is built underneath the hotel into the rock. The hotel isn't suitable for people with mobility difficulties at all or children as there is no entertainment. We paid for all inclusive from Monday-Monday but on the morning of our flight we had to be out of the room at 12pm by the cleaner saying "bye bye" several times. even though our flight wasn't until 10:35pm, we were told all inclusive finished at 12pm and given a complementary lunch voucher and 1 free drink which is weird considering we paid for it!! We missed lunch due to packing and got told that was it there's nothing else. We had to pay €2 to put our baggage in a safe place also. The wifi costs a huge amount. We asked for a double bed and got two singles together. The hotel is clean, the pool was nice with good views, the beach was beautiful and the view from the balcony was incredible but we did pay more for it.
Overall the staff were very rude and unhelpful and didn't understand English, the food was hit and miss and the whole experience was dreadful.. would not want anyone to experience what we did there are plenty of better hotels around especially for the price.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank dariay94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
8.1 km away
Mistral Bay Hotel
Mistral Bay Hotel
#63 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
48 reviews
5.7 km away
Faedra Beach Hotel
Faedra Beach Hotel
#34 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
208 reviews
7.0 km away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartmen...
#16 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
160 reviews
1.2 km away
Elpida Village
Elpida Village
#1 of 2 in Istron
306 reviews
10.3 km away
Paradise Primavera Apartments
Paradise Primavera Apartments
#28 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mistral Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mistral Mare Hotel

Address: Kalo Horio | Merabelou, Istron, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: RM271 - RM1,207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mistral Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mistral Mare Hotel in Agios Nikolaos prefecture is a 4 star hotel, which has been totally renovated during last winter (2007). It is situated on the hillside at Kalo Chorio (near Istron), a beautiful Cretan Village, 300 meters from the famous beach ”golden beach” (blue flagged),10 km from Agios Nikolaos and 75 km from Heraklion airport and offers a magnificent view over the Mirabello Gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mistral Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mistral Mare
Mistral Mare Agios Nikolaos
Mistral Mare Hotel Agios Nikolaos, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing