We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ammoudara Beach Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alantha Apartments Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Almyros Sand Apartments(Agios Nikolaos)
US$638
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anna Maria Studios(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Athina Villas(Istron)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Anemone Seaside Traditional Homes(Istron)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$907
US$584
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ammos Apartments(Ammoudara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Almiros II(Agios Nikolaos)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
43
21
12
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
21
12
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat holidaylaines4starseasunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

To redo!

Third trip to Crete with my girlfriend since 3 years.
Extraordinary beach just in front of the hotel with our room viewing the sea. White clear sand and light blue clear sea water ++ (after traveling all around Crete - the only one better i have seen is situated in the south of Heraklion near Kala Limania). Quick access to the beach - coming back involves climbing stairs for about 4min which adds some physical activity to the day :-)

Access to Agios Nikolaos is provided by bus or taxis but a personal vehicle is recommended - anyway you would be needing one if you decided to go around Crete a little bit. We just preferred staying at the hotel this time - for once our choice was well compensated !

Food really good and local recipes present ++. Dinner on terrace in front of sunset possible.
Hotel staff very polite and professional. Good service ++. Reseptionist and concierge really funny and welcoming

Piscines clean and nicely situated, hotel really clean as well.
Room with a great view, spacious with confortable beds.
Internet is not free unless good mobile contract service

Concluding: really nice holidays, in an all inclusive 4star hotel in-front of a wonderful beach ! TOTALLY WORTHY !
Many thanks to all of the staff and hope seeing you again next year .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JLGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The staff was very friendly and helpful! The room was clean and spacious! There is fantastic view from the balconies. The food was very tasty!
the beach there is the best in Crete. The place around is perfect!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikosHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Just returned from our holidays on Crete a few days ago, it was the second on the island (2 years ago we visited Rethymno) but this time was better!
First of all this is one of the best beaches I have ever visited, sandy and crystal clear water. Sunbeds and umbrella are on extra cost because the beach is municipal, entrance to beach is a little tiring because there are many steps but fortunately there is another easier way to get to the beach.
Regarding hotel, Mistral Mare has great view over the sea and Agios Nikolaos, we really enjoyed having our dinner looking at the sea while the sun was setting.
Food is delicious with sufficient variety and taste. Staff of restaurant and cook are polite, smiling and really fast!!
Internet is not free, I was surprised to realize that at the beginning but the wifi cards that you can buy at reception are not very expensive and I am not such a frequent user of internet so two cards of 200 minutes (8 euros each) were more than enough.
We rent a car from the near village and we visited many nice places such Ierapetra (small city with beautiful beaches around), Heraklion, palace of Knossos and Sitia. We also visited Vai beach, it was nice but the road till there is so narrow and tiring that it wasn’t worth all the trouble!
All the all it was very nice holidays and I would like to thank all of staff in Mistral Mare! Hope that we will see each other again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilpapadom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The only reason I'm giving this a 2 star rating and not a 1 is because of the absolutely stunning view I've had from the room. Also, a very nice beach (Voulisma) is rather close to it. These would be the only Pros for me.

Now, let's go through the Cons.

Location: The hotel is located just near the little town of Istron, spread over some pretty steep hills. Because of this, you will be phisically challenged just walking around the hotel. My first guess is that people with disabilities should stay away from this hotel. If you have chosen the Golden Wing, you will have to walk some distance to get to it.

Room: My first impression is that this is not a 4 star hotel. The furniture is rather old and poorly maintained. The minibar was located in a cabinet integrated in the desk. The door was falling from one of the hinges, so I had to fix it back to not pick it up from the ground. The bed was without exaggerating the worst in which I ever slept. Too small, too low, uncomfortable mattress, rock hard pillow. The room door was old and it kept moving whilst the balcony door was opened due to draft, making annoying noises. And yes, draft is a constant presence, due to Crete being the windiest place I've been to.

Speaking of noise. If you're seeking a nice and quiet vacation, don't come here. The hotel is full of russians which are by far the noisiest and most inconsiderate tourists I've ever seen. Also, they leave garbage just laying around. As an example, some of them were eating sunflower seeds near the pool. After they've finished, they left the shells in a plastic glass which was tipped over by the wind. All the sunflower seed shells went directly into the pool. And maybe tourists may be excused for doing this since they're on vacation, but the hotel staff was not really there to make the necessary cleaning. So you would see empty glasses, beer mugs, wrappings and all other this just laying around everywhere.
Also, the hotel is located next to a very busy road, so don't expect to hear the sea in the room - just passing traffic.

Further speaking of cleanliness: don't expect it. In the dining area, all the tables were constantly dirty and sticky and grose. And so were some of the plates and especially the cutlery, so you needed extra attention when you picked them up to eat.
The room was "cleaned" daily, but it always gave the impression of doing a poor job (dust was still there, dirty towels were not always changed and they sometimes forgot to clean used mugs or glasses).

Speaking of food: the word to describe it is mediocre. And I'm being kind. There were some days in which I couldn't find anything decent to eat, and I'm really not a picky person. So consider booking rooms only with breakfast (which was by far the worst meal), and go eat at a taverna in the town (I would recommend Panorama, which is 3 minutes away).

All in all, the hotel was a total disappointment. Thank God that Greece is a wonderful country, which saved our holiday.

I'm closing with a tip: If possible, rent a car, it's not that expensive and it will ease all your transportation.

Room Tip: Best views: Golden Wing.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Mihai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We chose Mistral Mare hotel as it was in a good location and we were looking for a nice, quiet hotel that was all inclusive. We had previously read reviews that the hotel was "For Russians" but as we are a quiet couple we were not too bothered about other guests so continued to book the holiday.
When we arrived we were welcomed by a lady at reception, at about 1am she took us into the restaurant with no lights on, brought us two plates of food with cling film on and told us to eat. We thought maybe it was just the night time and it would get better in the morning.
Breakfast was a very basic buffet from 8am -10pm, although the cake was good.
Lunch is from 1pm-2:30 which restricts what you can do during the day if you don't wish to spend money eating out, we found lunch mostly made up of leftovers from breakfast.
Snacks are between 11-12:30 and 3-4 which are sandwiches and hotdogs. The first time we asked for snacks they said they didn't understand although we were also pointing at the menu. The second time it was 12o'clock and they said that snacks had shut to come back at 4, although when we did they said dinner was opening at 7 so to wait until then as they were not serving snacks, making us question if they really served them at all.
Dinner was between 7pm-9pm, the Russian guests normally got there early and we found they took plates and plates of food, so there was nothing left even after only a few minutes, we had to search for someone to ask for more and that's if they understood us. Food was very hit and miss, one night was snails the next was rabbit.. so we found ourselves going out for food even though we were paying for all inclusive.
The other guests were all Russian something we didn't think would bother us, however the food, signs and everything were catered for them. We were constantly stared at and they were very rude even when we had smiled ect.
The hotel advertises an A La Carte restaurant, however this doesn't exist, only a buffet. It also advertises a sauna and hot tub both of which are €40 per person. The gym has a treadmill, and about 4 other broken machines which is built underneath the hotel into the rock. The hotel isn't suitable for people with mobility difficulties at all or children as there is no entertainment. We paid for all inclusive from Monday-Monday but on the morning of our flight we had to be out of the room at 12pm by the cleaner saying "bye bye" several times. even though our flight wasn't until 10:35pm, we were told all inclusive finished at 12pm and given a complementary lunch voucher and 1 free drink which is weird considering we paid for it!! We missed lunch due to packing and got told that was it there's nothing else. We had to pay €2 to put our baggage in a safe place also. The wifi costs a huge amount. We asked for a double bed and got two singles together. The hotel is clean, the pool was nice with good views, the beach was beautiful and the view from the balcony was incredible but we did pay more for it.
Overall the staff were very rude and unhelpful and didn't understand English, the food was hit and miss and the whole experience was dreadful.. would not want anyone to experience what we did there are plenty of better hotels around especially for the price.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews