We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for the wonderful vacation”
Review of Mistral Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mistral Mare Hotel
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Location is perfect, not that far from the airport (you can get there by bus, which is pretty convenient), the view is just breathtaking, sea is 2 minutes from the hotel. Very pleasant stuff!! All in all it was a great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

To redo!

Third trip to Crete with my girlfriend since 3 years.
Extraordinary beach just in front of the hotel with our room viewing the sea. White clear sand and light blue clear sea water ++ (after traveling all around Crete - the only one better i have seen is situated in the south of Heraklion near Kala Limania). Quick access to the beach - coming back involves climbing stairs for about 4min which adds some physical activity to the day :-)

Access to Agios Nikolaos is provided by bus or taxis but a personal vehicle is recommended - anyway you would be needing one if you decided to go around Crete a little bit. We just preferred staying at the hotel this time - for once our choice was well compensated !

Food really good and local recipes present ++. Dinner on terrace in front of sunset possible.
Hotel staff very polite and professional. Good service ++. Reseptionist and concierge really funny and welcoming

Piscines clean and nicely situated, hotel really clean as well.
Room with a great view, spacious with confortable beds.
Internet is not free unless good mobile contract service

Concluding: really nice holidays, in an all inclusive 4star hotel in-front of a wonderful beach ! TOTALLY WORTHY !
Many thanks to all of the staff and hope seeing you again next year .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The staff was very friendly and helpful! The room was clean and spacious! There is fantastic view from the balconies. The food was very tasty!
the beach there is the best in Crete. The place around is perfect!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikosHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Just returned from our holidays on Crete a few days ago, it was the second on the island (2 years ago we visited Rethymno) but this time was better!
First of all this is one of the best beaches I have ever visited, sandy and crystal clear water. Sunbeds and umbrella are on extra cost because the beach is municipal, entrance to beach is a little tiring because there are many steps but fortunately there is another easier way to get to the beach.
Regarding hotel, Mistral Mare has great view over the sea and Agios Nikolaos, we really enjoyed having our dinner looking at the sea while the sun was setting.
Food is delicious with sufficient variety and taste. Staff of restaurant and cook are polite, smiling and really fast!!
Internet is not free, I was surprised to realize that at the beginning but the wifi cards that you can buy at reception are not very expensive and I am not such a frequent user of internet so two cards of 200 minutes (8 euros each) were more than enough.
We rent a car from the near village and we visited many nice places such Ierapetra (small city with beautiful beaches around), Heraklion, palace of Knossos and Sitia. We also visited Vai beach, it was nice but the road till there is so narrow and tiring that it wasn’t worth all the trouble!
All the all it was very nice holidays and I would like to thank all of staff in Mistral Mare! Hope that we will see each other again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilpapadom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The only reason I'm giving this a 2 star rating and not a 1 is because of the absolutely stunning view I've had from the room. Also, a very nice beach (Voulisma) is rather close to it. These would be the only Pros for me.

Now, let's go through the Cons.

Location: The hotel is located just near the little town of Istron, spread over some pretty steep hills. Because of this, you will be phisically challenged just walking around the hotel. My first guess is that people with disabilities should stay away from this hotel. If you have chosen the Golden Wing, you will have to walk some distance to get to it.

Room: My first impression is that this is not a 4 star hotel. The furniture is rather old and poorly maintained. The minibar was located in a cabinet integrated in the desk. The door was falling from one of the hinges, so I had to fix it back to not pick it up from the ground. The bed was without exaggerating the worst in which I ever slept. Too small, too low, uncomfortable mattress, rock hard pillow. The room door was old and it kept moving whilst the balcony door was opened due to draft, making annoying noises. And yes, draft is a constant presence, due to Crete being the windiest place I've been to.

Speaking of noise. If you're seeking a nice and quiet vacation, don't come here. The hotel is full of russians which are by far the noisiest and most inconsiderate tourists I've ever seen. Also, they leave garbage just laying around. As an example, some of them were eating sunflower seeds near the pool. After they've finished, they left the shells in a plastic glass which was tipped over by the wind. All the sunflower seed shells went directly into the pool. And maybe tourists may be excused for doing this since they're on vacation, but the hotel staff was not really there to make the necessary cleaning. So you would see empty glasses, beer mugs, wrappings and all other this just laying around everywhere.
Also, the hotel is located next to a very busy road, so don't expect to hear the sea in the room - just passing traffic.

Further speaking of cleanliness: don't expect it. In the dining area, all the tables were constantly dirty and sticky and grose. And so were some of the plates and especially the cutlery, so you needed extra attention when you picked them up to eat.
The room was "cleaned" daily, but it always gave the impression of doing a poor job (dust was still there, dirty towels were not always changed and they sometimes forgot to clean used mugs or glasses).

Speaking of food: the word to describe it is mediocre. And I'm being kind. There were some days in which I couldn't find anything decent to eat, and I'm really not a picky person. So consider booking rooms only with breakfast (which was by far the worst meal), and go eat at a taverna in the town (I would recommend Panorama, which is 3 minutes away).

All in all, the hotel was a total disappointment. Thank God that Greece is a wonderful country, which saved our holiday.

I'm closing with a tip: If possible, rent a car, it's not that expensive and it will ease all your transportation.

Room Tip: Best views: Golden Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mihai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
8.1 km away
Mistral Bay Hotel
Mistral Bay Hotel
#64 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
50 reviews
5.7 km away
Faedra Beach Hotel
Faedra Beach Hotel
#34 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
209 reviews
7 km away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Elpida Village
Elpida Village
#1 of 2 in Istron
306 reviews
7.6 km away
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartmen...
#16 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
160 reviews
9.1 km away
Lato Hotel
Lato Hotel
#12 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mistral Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mistral Mare Hotel

Address: Kalo Horio | Merabelou, Istron, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: RM274 - RM727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mistral Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mistral Mare Hotel in Agios Nikolaos prefecture is a 4 star hotel, which has been totally renovated during last winter (2007). It is situated on the hillside at Kalo Chorio (near Istron), a beautiful Cretan Village, 300 meters from the famous beach ”golden beach” (blue flagged),10 km from Agios Nikolaos and 75 km from Heraklion airport and offers a magnificent view over the Mirabello Gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mistral Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mistral Mare
Mistral Mare Agios Nikolaos
Mistral Mare Hotel Agios Nikolaos, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing