We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall, but not 4 stars”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We traveled to Crete as a family for the 2nd year in a row. We chose this hotel for its position and pool. The travel agency said nothing about a dress code for dinner. So in the first evening, a very angry waiter speaking Russian, yelled at me. After a few minutes of confusion a English speaker came and explained that I could only eat outside of the restaurant and my wife can bring me the food, I was not allowed to the buffet. The next evening I came with a sports outfit (long) and I was allowed to eat. How was this more elegant?

The position (excellent) +++
Close to the city center, incredible view from the pool.

The room (Bad)--
The extra bed was made of stone! (yes) The door handles broke. The bathroom drain was not working. DO NOT TAKE MOUNTAIN VIEW, its more like garbage view. (Yes, garbage, literally)

The food (Ok) +
We had HB, and it was ok, but nothing special.

The pool (Good) ++
Nice pool going from 0.95 m to above 3m.

The beach (Bad)-
They have a tunnel to the beach, but is not the hotels beach and its with stones. There is a small beach with sand 5 min away from the hotel.

Too bad they forgot about the Cretan hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkozmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octavian S, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Dear kkozmin,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. I personally apologize for the attitude of the waiter. As I explained to you the time of the incident, he spoke to you in Russian because you were entering the restaurant together with another Russian family and he thought you were with them. Once again I really apologize.
Regarding the dress code it was mistake of the travel agent not to give you the relevant information as all agents have been informed.
I hope to give us the chance to host you again in the future with the will to meet your expectations.
Untill then be happy and healthy!

With warm regards
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

under no circumstances.get a standard room.sea view ok 4star.standard room.just about 2star.update more when I return on the 14th Jul.ps.the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
entertainment ok.but on a Wed evening it was more like a benidorm theme night.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank bert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octavian S, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Dear bert e,

I would like to thank you for taking the time and share your experience of your recent stay at Dessole Hermes. Your positive comments regarding the hospitality of our staff is much appreciated.I am really sorry that the rooms didn't meet your expectations. We do take your remarks with concern for improvement.
I hope to give us the chance to host you again in the near future.
Untill then be happy and healthy!

With warm regards
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Room Tip: A sea view is a must have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank Bazlez
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Octavian S, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

My daughter and I have just returned from a week's stay and have had a lovely relaxing holiday. We didn't pay extra for a sea view, but had a room on the 8th floor which looked over a back street. It was fine - we weren't going to spend long in our room. If you might spend a lot of time on your balcony you might prefer the sea view. The room was fine - only one socket available for charging phones etc., and that was when you unplugged the fridge, and the hairdryer in the bathroom was not great, so best to take one with you, but everything else great. The food was,so good -,couldn't't fault it. Different themed evenings like bbq, Cretan, Asian, lots of lovely salads, fruit and desserts. No horrible queues for tables or food. Drinks,were great too (we were all inclusive and you really didn't have to spend any other money if you didn't want to. Try the Cubanito or Pina Colada cocktails which were lively. The restaurant I overlooked the sea - fab views and setting. The entertainment was not our thing - bingo, dancing, games - although you could join in with aqua aerobics, tea tasting and a cookery demo. We often went out after dinner and the hotel was in a great location with an easy walk to the lake and restaurants and bars.Try the,Alexandros Rooftop Bar for great music and cocktails and the chance for a bit of a dance. Champagne was €2.50 before 10.30 pm! We did a trip to Elounda and Spinalonga with Thomsons - Spinalonga was very interesting but too many people allocated to one guide so suggest better and cheaper just to get a boat 5 minutes from the hotel and do the trip yourself rather than through tour company. Maybe take a couple of pegs to keep your towel on the sunbeds, could be a little breezy. The weather was gorgeous, very hot and the breeze was lovely, but handy to have a peg to keep things in place. We did struggle a couple of times to get a sunbed but liked to go just over the road to a pebbly beach, which was nice and peaceful. There is also a sandy beach not far away. 7 euros on either beach for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella.
Flights ok, transfer on the,way back took a long time so that we arrived at airport just an hour before our flight time, then you have to queue outside the airport, as it is so small and they can't fit everyone inside. No time in airport to shop or stock up on snacks but we still made the flight.
All in all a really good holiday - the food and location getting the top marks.

Room Tip: Sea view, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octavian S, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear 592AlisonM,

I would like to thank you for this detailed review and your positive comments. It is our pleasure to know that you had such a relaxed holiday with nice memories.
I hope to have the chance to host you again in the near future.
Untill then be happy and healthy!

With warm regards
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I stayed at this Hotel in June, having stayed at the sister Coral Hotel next door for many years. There are many aspects of this Hotel that I liked and a few not so much. The rooms are large with good size balcony, however having carpet in the room was quite dated and made it quite dark and warm. The restaurant is lovely, although the inside could do with more air conditioning. The outside terrace is perhaps one of the nicest aspects of the whole Hotel. The food itself was good and varied, although the salads could have been better. I wish they would stop mixing everything in and give people the choice of what to pick on their own. You very nearly had to fight to find a piece of lettuce on its own at times. Who wants bits of banana in amongst their lettuce? We also encountered some bones in the meat, which I don't think should have been there. The desserts were to die for and there was a great selection and the barbeque nights were fantastic. Overall the food was varied and of a high standard. The staff were very attentive and worked their socks off. Both the pool bar and the ground floor bar were well situated and enjoyable. Sunbeds were very near to each other at some points (particularly at the front, which was quite off putting) but the alternative was to go nearer the pool where there was more space. Overall, we had a brilliant time, the hotel and staff were lovely, however I must say I prefer the adult only aspect of the sister Coral Hotel, in terms of getting some peace and quiet. We'll be back for sure, although it will be a hard choice between the Hermes and the Coral, which I love.

Room Tip: Floors 1-4 are at the front and have lovely views, they are not too noisy; floors 6-8 overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 592AlisonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octavian S, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear 592AlisonM,

Thank you so much for this candid review . I am really happy to know that you enjoyed our hospitality at both of our hotels. The issues that you noted will be considered for improvements as we all strive for the best customer service.
Looking forward to welcoming you again!

With warm regards
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.1 km away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
502 reviews
2.6 km away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
674 reviews
1.6 km away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
36.7 km away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
1.2 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Akti Koundourou 17, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Hermes)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: RM290 - RM1,350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos, Crete
Hermes Hotel Crete
Hermes Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing