We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multi generation break in the sun”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. Again we arrived late at night to a personal welcome and a supper of sandwiches, wine ,fruit and water in our room ; we took the food to the bar and just had time for a drink before the all inclusive finished for the night (midnight ) A private transfer is advisable as the journey is approx. an hour from the airport and with drop offs this can double .
The rooms are a little tired but are spotlessly clean with daily maid service . On the day we left we booked a late checkout , the maid tidied our room whilst we were at breakfast and left 8 clean towels one for each of us to use later in the day . My 84yr old mother requested a kettle to make a hot drink if she woke in the night and was brought a complete tray with cups ,saucers, tea bags etc and her request for an extra pillow was sorted within a few minutes. This is the kind of attention that makes this hotel great.
Plug sockets are limited for charging devices so it may be worth investing in a multi charger if this will be a problem for you . The shower is the over bath kind but was praised by the youngsters in out party as being better than the power shower at home !My father loved the space in the rooms and public areas and all the places you can sit and relax both inside and out .
Our daughters and their partners used the salt water pool daily but were a bit frustrated that the 45 min sunbed unattended rule was not upheld by the staff so sunbeds were not always available having said that they managed to get to get one within a few minutes.
The food was excellent , choice and quality even the desserts which can be a let down in some hotels. As a party of 8 we sat inside for dinner but as couples during the day always managed to get a terrace table to enjoy the amazing view with our meal.
The local drinks on the all inclusive were fine , There was a comment that a more extensive cocktail menu would be good but there is a basic selection included and the pay bar downstairs does a great range .
What really makes this hotel is it's staff who are friendly and fun. I felt safe in the knowledge that if I needed assistance for my parents that help would be there 24/7. The other big bonus is it's location ; 10 mins walk to the nearest sandy beach, 10 mins to town and the lake and right opposite the bay.
As a multi generation family there was something for everyone at the hotel and in the resort itself.
This hotel and Ag Nik have a special place in my heart!

Room Tip: a sea view room is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hilly29surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraColection, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear hilly29surrey,
Allow us to express our gratitude for your kind review and for choosing to stay with usonce again.
Every member of the Hermes team works tirelessly to offer our valued guests the best customer service and an unforgettable experience with us, thus your gracious review is deeply appreciated.
We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for yet another relaxing and unforgettable vacation.

With personal regards
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Had a week here towards the end of school holidays with our 9-year-old daughter. A little dated but nevertheless nice comfortable hotel and staff made us feel welcome. We stayed half-board and enjoyed breakfast dinner with plenty of choice. Probably repeating many other reviews but the pool is seawater which was no problem to us, but just to be aware. I found it a a little sharp on entry as it only catches the sun for half of the day really so our ventures tended to be relatively short. Despite all the signs you still get your share of early risers reserving their beds so we opted for an explore in the morning and beds for spell in the afternoon when some tend to free up.

You enter the hotel at street level where the reception is. Rooms take up the next few floors and so restaurant and pool are actually above you, unless you opt for a higher floor (5 upwards). We had sea view on the 4th which was a lovely view. Having the pool area directly above us meant we had a dawn chorus of sun beds being dragged until the early birds were satisfied with their position, but it was neither too early nor annoying (about 8am), unless your after a lie-in!

We found half board ideal as it meant we were more inclined to explore. The town is lovely, especially the lake, and the views from above it are worth the climb. We had many a drink sat around the edge, very chilled.

The entertainment we made a point to watch was good. During the day, you won't find a small army of animation here ready to entertain your little ones 24/7 though.

On a Jet2 holiday package we had airport transfers. Arriving was good, we were out and on the road fairly quickly, albeit the last drop off we still made it there for about 11pm, token sandwich waiting for us in the room which did the job. Going back was a little more brutal, almost first to be collected and it was over 2 hours before we were at the airport, and then fairly chaotic getting through the checks in time to board but overall, all good. Nice place chilled out week.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank a_trave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraColection, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear a_trave11er,
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive and candid review. We are really happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us on your recent visit in Agios Nikolaos. I apologize fot the inconveniece met with the sunbeds and I assure you that we will take your comments into consideration. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Till then keep healthy and happy.

With warm wishes
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Hermes hotel, first time there and wow! The hotel was lovely and clean, we requested a sea view high floor and got exactly that. The view is a must, food was excellent, loads of choice ..... something for everyone. The staff were great, nothing too much trouble and Ivan in the Ikarus bar was lovely. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trace262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraColection, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Trace262,
Thank you so much for sharing such great feedback with us about your stay. Your experience is the goal we aim for everyday with our guests. We enjoyed having you with us and we hope to see you again soon. I shared your comment with Ivan and he is sending his regards!

With warm wishes
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Why Hermes hotel is considered 4 star beggars belief !! Bedrooms are basic to say the least : and that is the seaview ones : beds are as hard as the rock of gibraltar : worst nights sleep i have ever had; although we were half board, never ate evening meal: breakfast was mediocre at best ; bland and luke warm : wine served in hotel was like vinegar : had a late check out and had to move to another room @35 euros for 6 hours : this room was old , stained carpet , smelly and air condition not working ; all in all it was a very very disappointing experience in a supposedly 4 star hotel ; DONT BOOK IT is my advice

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank Jean2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraColection, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Jean2209,
Thank you for your feedback although what you have described is very uncharacteristic of an experience a guest would have at our hotel, as you can see by reviewing the hundreds of reviews we have received on social media. I would like to had an opportunity to verify your allegations while you were at the hotel. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

With warm wishes
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This is a great hotel in a great location and there is nothing to fault. The higher rooms above the pool offer fantastic views. The food was fresh and varied and the staff were always friendly and attentive. Rooms are pleasant and have air con which was much needed. This is our second visit to this hotel and we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank allanpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraColection, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear allanpugh ,
I would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Hermes Hotel!
I was delighted to read you were very pleased with the overall quality and location.
Thank you for coplimenting the staff ,food and view to the bay.
It would only be a great pleasure to give us the chance to host you again next season.

With warm wishes
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.1 km away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
502 reviews
2.6 km away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
674 reviews
1.6 km away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
36.7 km away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
771 reviews
1.2 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Akti Koundourou 17, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Hermes)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: RM284 - RM1,333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos, Crete
Hermes Hotel Crete
Hermes Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing