We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived, we registered very quickly and had a porter to take our cases to our room. We were on the 9th floor with amazing sea views. The hotel was definitely four stars but agree with previous comments about the rooms needing to be updated to be in line with the rest of the hotel. The pool was sea water so didn't go into it much but always able to get a sun bed and umbrella. The staff and service at the pool snack bar was second to none, the drinks and food were excellent. Maria and Koula were lovely and made it a truly great holiday, nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment was actually better than expected and Daniel was great but would benefit from looking a little happier. The hotel was always clean and tidy. Every staff member was amazing and great at thief job and very friendly and approachable. Linen changed every day, Inc towels if needed. Pool towels provided. Safe, air con and fridge free of charge. Not geared up for children really. Food a little disappointing for all inclusive but just about found something. BBQ twice a week was on the other hand fantastic. Ice cream free for most of the day. Amazing location just 5 mins from the main centre. Thompson rep on site, lovely lady, very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraColection, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear helen l,
Thank you for your kind words following your stay in Hermes Hotel.
It is with great appreciation and excitement we read that you enjoyed your holidays with us and that you found our customer services, food variety as well as the amenities offered to our valued guests to be to your liking.
We are thankful for your review and look forward to welcoming you back in our Hotel for yet another relaxing vacation.

With warm wishes
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival to the hotel, we were checked in swiftly and efficiently and our bags were offered to be carried up to our room. We were located on the fifth floor which was perfect as both the restaurant and pool area on the same floor as this.

The rooms are a little dated, but this wasn't a problem for us. We found the outside seating area wonderful as we could sit and look out to the wonderful views. The beds are a little hard, but you can ask for extra pillows which help! The room was kept clean every day, the maid would come in at around 2pm and provide fresh towels if needed or linens, I really couldn't fault her, she was amazing!

We were all inclusive so had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel every day with all our local branded drinks included too. Breakfast was great, lots of different options, whether you wanted cooked or something lighter. We weren't too keen on lunch inside the buffet so opted to eat this at the snack pool bar instead, where the chef made fresh to order pizzas, sandwiches, pasta etc. and this was delicious every day. Dinner was themed most nights and there wasn't one theme we didn't enjoy, I loved this idea as it meant plenty of variation! The waiters and waitresses were all amazing, so attentive and friendly! Especially the ones in the main bar located on the fifth floor - they were brilliant, equally the girls in Café Del Mar! We used the bar on the ground floor every single night of our stay and it didn't bother us having to pay for the drinks as the lady made the cocktails so well, they were a delight!

Our only grumble would be the sun loungers - this isn't entirely the hotels fault - more the early bird risers who would be down dragging sun loungers about at 7am! In the end we gave up trying to find one and just went down in our own time. The pool is sea water so has a bit of a bite to it when you first get in but you soon warm up.

The evening entertainment is actually really good, which surprised us! We attended most evenings and really enjoyed ourselves.

The hotel is in a really good location - easy walking distance into town and you are right by the sea. Our entire stay was wonderful and relaxing - exactly what we wanted.

I wouldn't hesitate to come back and stay here again and have recommended it to all our friends.

Room Tip: Pick a higher level room with a sea view for uninterrupted views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank -x-HolidayGirl-x-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraColection, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear -x-HolidayGirl-x-,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent holiday with us and for emphasising the view and food but especially your kind words for our dedicate staff. I am extremely happy and grateful to read that our customer care philosophy, namely high professionalism combined with genuine care is being felt and recognised by our valued guests.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With warm wishes
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. Again we arrived late at night to a personal welcome and a supper of sandwiches, wine ,fruit and water in our room ; we took the food to the bar and just had time for a drink before the all inclusive finished for the night (midnight ) A private transfer is advisable as the journey is approx. an hour from the airport and with drop offs this can double .
The rooms are a little tired but are spotlessly clean with daily maid service . On the day we left we booked a late checkout , the maid tidied our room whilst we were at breakfast and left 8 clean towels one for each of us to use later in the day . My 84yr old mother requested a kettle to make a hot drink if she woke in the night and was brought a complete tray with cups ,saucers, tea bags etc and her request for an extra pillow was sorted within a few minutes. This is the kind of attention that makes this hotel great.
Plug sockets are limited for charging devices so it may be worth investing in a multi charger if this will be a problem for you . The shower is the over bath kind but was praised by the youngsters in out party as being better than the power shower at home !My father loved the space in the rooms and public areas and all the places you can sit and relax both inside and out .
Our daughters and their partners used the salt water pool daily but were a bit frustrated that the 45 min sunbed unattended rule was not upheld by the staff so sunbeds were not always available having said that they managed to get to get one within a few minutes.
The food was excellent , choice and quality even the desserts which can be a let down in some hotels. As a party of 8 we sat inside for dinner but as couples during the day always managed to get a terrace table to enjoy the amazing view with our meal.
The local drinks on the all inclusive were fine , There was a comment that a more extensive cocktail menu would be good but there is a basic selection included and the pay bar downstairs does a great range .
What really makes this hotel is it's staff who are friendly and fun. I felt safe in the knowledge that if I needed assistance for my parents that help would be there 24/7. The other big bonus is it's location ; 10 mins walk to the nearest sandy beach, 10 mins to town and the lake and right opposite the bay.
As a multi generation family there was something for everyone at the hotel and in the resort itself.
This hotel and Ag Nik have a special place in my heart!

Room Tip: a sea view room is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hilly29surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraColection, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear hilly29surrey,
Allow us to express our gratitude for your kind review and for choosing to stay with usonce again.
Every member of the Hermes team works tirelessly to offer our valued guests the best customer service and an unforgettable experience with us, thus your gracious review is deeply appreciated.
We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for yet another relaxing and unforgettable vacation.

With personal regards
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a week here towards the end of school holidays with our 9-year-old daughter. A little dated but nevertheless nice comfortable hotel and staff made us feel welcome. We stayed half-board and enjoyed breakfast dinner with plenty of choice. Probably repeating many other reviews but the pool is seawater which was no problem to us, but just to be aware. I found it a a little sharp on entry as it only catches the sun for half of the day really so our ventures tended to be relatively short. Despite all the signs you still get your share of early risers reserving their beds so we opted for an explore in the morning and beds for spell in the afternoon when some tend to free up.

You enter the hotel at street level where the reception is. Rooms take up the next few floors and so restaurant and pool are actually above you, unless you opt for a higher floor (5 upwards). We had sea view on the 4th which was a lovely view. Having the pool area directly above us meant we had a dawn chorus of sun beds being dragged until the early birds were satisfied with their position, but it was neither too early nor annoying (about 8am), unless your after a lie-in!

We found half board ideal as it meant we were more inclined to explore. The town is lovely, especially the lake, and the views from above it are worth the climb. We had many a drink sat around the edge, very chilled.

The entertainment we made a point to watch was good. During the day, you won't find a small army of animation here ready to entertain your little ones 24/7 though.

On a Jet2 holiday package we had airport transfers. Arriving was good, we were out and on the road fairly quickly, albeit the last drop off we still made it there for about 11pm, token sandwich waiting for us in the room which did the job. Going back was a little more brutal, almost first to be collected and it was over 2 hours before we were at the airport, and then fairly chaotic getting through the checks in time to board but overall, all good. Nice place chilled out week.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank a_trave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraColection, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear a_trave11er,
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive and candid review. We are really happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us on your recent visit in Agios Nikolaos. I apologize fot the inconveniece met with the sunbeds and I assure you that we will take your comments into consideration. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Till then keep healthy and happy.

With warm wishes
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Hermes hotel, first time there and wow! The hotel was lovely and clean, we requested a sea view high floor and got exactly that. The view is a must, food was excellent, loads of choice ..... something for everyone. The staff were great, nothing too much trouble and Ivan in the Ikarus bar was lovely. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trace262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvraColection, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Trace262,
Thank you so much for sharing such great feedback with us about your stay. Your experience is the goal we aim for everyday with our guests. We enjoyed having you with us and we hope to see you again soon. I shared your comment with Ivan and he is sending his regards!

With warm wishes
Ritsa Pediaditi
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.1 km away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
496 reviews
1.6 km away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#11 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
971 reviews
1.0 km away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
660 reviews
1.2 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
1.7 km away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#6 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Akti Koundourou 17, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Hermes)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: RM283 - RM1,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos, Crete
Hermes Hotel Crete
Hermes Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing