We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
31
19
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
19
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Stoa Rooms ticks all the boxes- from the hospitable host (Yianni) to the location & views of the old harbour from rooms 1&2 via small balcony, car space (must advise you are travelling by car as there is only one car space) rooms cleaned daily at a reasonable hour, air-conditioning, only 5 rooms in total, and a great rate!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank sophie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Wanted to stay 1 night in Chania near the centre on a budget & this was perfect. The spotless room had a single & double bed, kettle, fridge, coffee, lots of teas, milk & water. The room included aircon, safe, hairdryer & a modern shower room with toiletries. There were little extras like sweets, biscuits & home made raki from the owner Yannis & free wifi We were yards away from the harbour & could see it from our little balcony.
Not really suitable for a full holiday in the summer but perfect for a few nights. Would definately book to stay here again if returning to Chania for a short stay & was pleasantly surprised at how good the accommodation & location was for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AME34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent three nights at Stoa and would highly recommend it. The price is unbeatable, especially considering how close it is to the harbor. We loved the location, being able to walk everywhere in Chania very easily. The room was basic but spacious and clean with a kitchenette. And the owner was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liliasna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were 3 womens looking for a clean, well located but inexpensive hotel for a five nights stay in Chania. We booked a triple Room with a view at the Stoa room and had an enjoyable stay. Here are the pros and cons of staying at the Stoa Room:
Pros
- Yiannis the owner is so welcoming. He was waiting for us on our late night arrival (11pm). He then took the time to show us around, how everything work. When he realized the safe deposit box was broken, he had it fixed later on. I gave us gifts when we left and talk about his appartment that he will have to rent whenever I go back. He is a great host!
- Room: The room is clean and well appointed (kettle, coffee, milk, water, candy ...). I enjoy the shutter blocking the sunlight in the morning. The bathroom was surprisingly large. The room was refresh each day. The AC in the room and the Wi-Fi work well. The balcony fitted 3 persons and was a plus value. I am glad we have paid extra for it. We had the nicest view (although obstructed by electricty cable) sipping a glass of wine at sunset before going to dinner.
-Location: you can't beat the location. Since you are at the pedestrian entrance of the venetian port, you are surrounded by typical small alley that are so nice to walk in. Yet, you have the bus station and travel agency nearby, also walkable if you need to travel in Crete.
Cons
-We knew the room was small and we are not fussy. It was ok for 5 nights. But for 3 mature woman, we ended up by finding the room small for a longer term stay.
-One key for 3 persons was a bit challenging.
-The shower is small, but typical for Greece. You need to develop skills to wash efficiently.
-The location is unbeatable but comes with noise. We were off season so it was not as much of a problem during the week, but on the weekend, you hear the lively ambiance from the restaurant pretty well. I slept well, but with earplugs.
-Once, the housekeeper entered the room without knocking while we were in there.
Overall, keeping in mind that we got a very central location for the fraction of the price, we really enjoyed our stay at the Stoa Room. The price/quality ratio is undeniable and I will return one day! Chania is wonderful and Crete needs weeks to be discovered properly.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A couple of minutes' walk from Hania's famed harbour-front, this is an absolutely brilliant accommodation that also provides superb value for money. We arrived pretty late in the evening, but Yiannis was around to receive us and get us settled. Our room had a nice balcony, a small kitchenette - overall, a small but well-contained studio for a very comfortable stay in a quaint, laid-back, beautiful town.

Room Tip: We had room # 5 for a family of three - highly recommended.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Udayadittya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews