We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
US$132
View deal
Booking.com
US$134
View deal
Hotels.com
US$132
View deal
Expedia.comUS$132
TravelocityUS$132
HurbUS$148
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,735)
Filter reviews
1,736 results
Traveller rating
1,406
280
35
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,406
280
35
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet end old town perfect location sea view venetian harbour excellent hotel hotel is located excellent breakfast small balcony bars and restaurants our honeymoon yogurt rental car places to visit crete lighthouse balconies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,736 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2021

Porto Veneziano has the best location in Chania. The harbour with the lighthouse and the old boat building/repair building are stunning. Plus it is away from the hustle bustle of the other part of the waterfront.

We had one of the best rooms in the hotel, one of the suites in the corner of the hotel with 2 balconies and a sitting area. Highly recommend the room even though it is a bit pricey.

We had breakfast every morning outside on the patio and there were a great number of choices and delicious food in a beautiful setting.

We also had two dinners there. We never eat in hotel restaurants. We again sat on the amazing patio and had great service and great food at a very reasonable price. We had the best white wine for only 16 euros a bottle.

The staff was great and was very helpful in making our Samari Gorge hike perfect. They arranged for a taxi to the gorge for 4 of us in a nice van and then a taxi back from Sougi which met us at the ferry.

Also highly recommend Elafonissi Beach--best beach we have ever been at. Walk a ways out on the peninsula a bit and pick a magical spot on the sand with great swimming

Room tip: Get one of the suites on the corners with the sitting rooms and 2 balconies.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clarkelovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis Platsidakis, General Manager at Porto Veneziano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guests,

Thank you for this amazing review and for recommending Porto Veneziano to other travelers!
We are really honored to read all these compliments for our hotel and our staff.
Moreover, we appreciate your nice words about our a la Carte Breakfast and Restaurant, as we put our best efforts to offer the best quality of homemade local specialtes to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to Porto Veneziano again soon!

Kind regards,
Yannis Platsidakis
Owner-Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Conveniently located with a gorgeous view! Food and service top notch! So helpful with our rental car and restaurant recommendations. Perfect place to watch the sun go down with a cocktail in your hand!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cccella
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis Platsidakis, General Manager at Porto Veneziano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear cccella,

Thank you for this lovely review!
Nothing makes us happier than the great holiday experience of our guests, and we wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our hotel in the near future.


Kind regards,
Yannis Platsidakis
Owner-Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2021

Hotel was very clean and the personnel were very nice and helpful. It is very easy to walk into Old Town Chania from the hotel. Just outside the front door we rented a small motor boat for the day. It was one of the best days we had. We were able to motor around the coast, and dropping anchor wherever we wanted and jump into the beautiful water It is close to wonderful restaurants. And from the balcony we were able to view some beautiful sunsets. We would definitely stay here again when in Chania.

Room tip: Definitely get a room overlooking the port for beautiful sunsets.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mrsdms01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis Platsidakis, General Manager at Porto Veneziano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of the Porto Veneziano, thank you very much for having shared this lovely review.
We are very glad that you had a lovely stay and that you found the location of our hotel to your liking.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Yannis Platsidakis
Owner-Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2021

My husband and I visited Crete as part of our recent holiday in Greece. I am very glad we picked Porto Veneziano as our hotel for our 2 night stay in Chania. The hotel has a marvelous location, right on the waterfront and we were upgraded to a suite with views over the harbour. All staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. We were particularly impressed with the help we received when trying to park as we drove in late on a Friday evening with the Chania waterfront at its busiest! Breakfasts were delicious with many interesting choices and served outside by the water. Would highly recommend as a great place to stay in Chania.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis Platsidakis, General Manager at Porto Veneziano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Guests,

Thank you for your detailed and amazing review!

We are very happy that you were vastly satisfied with the service of our team. Indeed, our staff is one of our best attributes and we will surely pass on your compliments.
Thank you also for all your kind comments regarding our breakfast which has been awarded multiple times for its variety and quality and is considered as one of the best in Greece.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Yannis Platsidakis
Owner-Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2021

The hotel is located at an absolutely perfect location. It is directly at the sea along the promenade, just a few steps from restaurants and bars, yet the rooms are calm at night.

The rooms are tasteful and very clean, quality of bed and bathroom are outstanding and we had a cozy little balcony where we could sit and enjoy the warm breeze.

The breakfast was very nice, in particular we appreciated the extraordinarily forthcoming service and the beautiful location by the water. Some friendly interaction, a nice scenery and tasty breakfast were the perfect way to start into the day.

Finally, we also appreciated the free parking on the premises and the free bicycle and beach towels, which we could use for beach visits.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jhuber91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis Platsidakis, General Manager at Porto Veneziano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thamk you for your excellent rating and for this nice review!
We are glad to know that our hotel location, services and facilities met your expectations.
Moreover, thank you for the kind words about our breakfast, which has been awarded multiple times for its variety and quality and is considered as one of the best in Greece!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Yannis Platsidakis
Owner-Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews