We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
183
125
39
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
125
39
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking holiday hf walking olive press walking group green valley hf holiday plane trees orange trees rustic style traditional village lovely oasis orthodox church hot water breakfasts were excellent western crete poolside bar outdoor pool
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Nice old renovated building in lovely surroundings. Spilia is a small sleepy village with a church and one bar. The Hotel has a very good restaurant and delicious breakfast, also an evening bar. Superior room was large with a four-poster bed and a huge bathroom. The terrace was a common area with neighboring rooms, with private chairs and a table. The view was great. The only slight negative thing was the otherwise charming pool area. It was taken over by some families with lots of kids, who were swimming, jumping and yelling in ecstasy in and around the pool. So no chance getting some peace or swim there.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sinikka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiliavillage, Manager at Spilia Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Sinikka,
we really appreciate your kind review. We can see that you liked the hotel and the traditional village. We feel sorry that you could not enjoy the calmness of our pool area, but during high season also many families visit Spilia. Normally the pool area is more peace and quite. Why not to come to visit us again in low season? Crete is fantastic especially in May when everything is green and covered with flower, having a swim in the pool and seeing the snow covered white mountains. We are looking forward to welcome you.
Best regards
Franziska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

We visited this beautiful hotel two years ago and felt compelled to return, this time with mum in towe. We booked two rooms (room 122 and 124, just over the little bridge) and we were more than happy with both. The rooms were spacious, clean, well stocked and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The staff are always pleasant and helpful (particularly the young man at the reception desk). The breakfast was amazing, such a wonderful choice with lovely fresh orange juice. The evening meal was good, nothing more than. The poolside bar was a bit of a disappointment, not much choice. When on holiday it's nice to go mad sometimes... perhaps have a cocktail at lunch time? Having said that, we wouldn't let it put us off returning again. This seems to be a hotel full of charm and character tucked away with very little around it so I would say that car hire is a must. A thoroughly enjoyable visit and would highly recommend.

Room tip: We had two rooms over the little wooden bridge and both were quiet, clean and spacious
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiliavillage, Manager at Spilia Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Angela,
It was great having you back in our hotel. We are happy you liked the rooms we allocated you and you realized the upgrades regarding our bedding (mattress, pillows and new high quality linens). Thank you for also mentioning our receptionist Vasilis.
We had a big upgrade for breakfast this year and we can see that our guests, like you, really like it.
Unfortunately you have been kind of disappointed with our pool bar. I can't understand the problem regarding the cocktails, because we serve cocktails all day during the opening hours of our bar 11am-6pm, even there is a hug choice of different snacks (pizza, salads, toasts and sandwichs, and sweets).
As you mentioned, the car is a MUST! and I am glad guests always mention it at their reviews. There are so many nice places to see around when in Spilia, why they should miss them!
We wish you all the best and we are waiting for you to come back again.
Best regards
Franziska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Excellent all round, great scenic location and quiet village, 10mins drive from coast. Would stay there again. Village location creates local feel away from more commercial cost towards Platainias. Good road access to all main road routes for access to mountains and rest of island.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiliavillage, Διευθυντής at Spilia Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Alastair,
thank you for your review!
We hope you will choose our hotel again, visiting Crete.
Best regards
Franziska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Many positives here that are worth a 5 star review. This would include the staff service levels, the breakfast, the pool, the gym and the beds/rooms. The main downside is the restaurant, which is relatively overpriced and on the one occasion we eat there, poor food. Not a real problem as the local taverna a 5 minute stroll away and is the opposite, great value and lovely food (we became very welcomed regulars)

The location isnt for everyone, its off the beaten track and for anyone without a car its a bit isolated. However we liked that and found preferable to the more built up areas of the region. With a car its easy to find and just 5 minutes from the main road that allows you to get to anywhere you would want.

The rooms look like they vary a lot, this is because the hotel has grown organically to take in previously joining properties. The different prices would give you quite a different scale of room/suite. We had one of the cheapest and the room was spacious, and the bed very comfy, some of the suites did look better still.

4.5 stars average is about right and as long as you arent looking for a buzzing party venue its fab and a nice relaxing hotel.

Room tip: look carefully at options, quite different size of rooms/suites
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulsrken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiliavillage, Manager at Spilia Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Mr. Paul,
thank you for your review, especially mentioning our staffs service level, breakfast, pool, gym and the rooms.
Unfortunately you have been disappointed with our restaurant. Be sure, that the price reflects the quality of the food, as we just use A quality ingredients.
We hope we can welcome you again in Spilia, and may you will try again our restaurant and will have an other opinion then.
Best regards
Franziska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful place about 45 minutes from the airport. Lovely rooms in the hotel and the villas family had were lovely. All the staff were absolutely super and made our stay a very pleasurable one. Thank you so much for a fantastic wedding and stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiliavillage, Manager at Spilia Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Liz and Sean, it was a honor for us hosting your beautiful wedding in our hotel. We wish you a life full of love and fun with your handsome two boys and hope we will welcome you again a wedding anniversary.
Lots of love
Franziska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews