We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olive Grove Apartments
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2017

There are so many superlatives to describe this place – ‘wonderful’, ‘friendly’, ‘quality’ and ‘an oasis of calm’. Family is very much at its heart. Started by the ‘laid-back philosopher’ Dimitri and the ‘effervescent’ Julia, his wife, the operation is now largely in the hands of their eldest son, the ‘empathetic’ Mano, who seems ever-present together with his delightful wife Hayley and their two small children, Jimmy and Theo. If there were an award system covering every aspect of an apartment complex then this would be ‘AAA’ without any doubt. It has an enormous amount going for it. The location is central to the beach and the harbour side town square (both a maximum 3 minutes’ walk) and all the attractions around them – tavernas, bars, boat and road ‘train’ trips, including to the quaint village of Plaka and the haunting island of Spinalonga opposite it. There are 18 apartments, which is a good number to create a sense of community without edging into the impersonal. They are all well-appointed and are quite clearly maintained to a high standard during the off-season. The pool, and its adjoining toddlers’ pool, is just the right size for a swim or a wallow in the hot weather. There are plenty of sunbeds and areas of shade around the pool, including the relatively new gazebo where you can have breakfast and snacks served from the poolside bar, open until 0030. We spent a fair amount of time around the pool and were easily able to keep an eye on our two granddaughters who absolutely loved the pool, as did Mano’s Jimmy – really ideal for kids and watching parents and grandparents. There is also wifi available around the pool and common areas and within your rooms, which we used, not least to calm the children down watching Netflix or whatever. Whether couples or families or groups of friends you will fall in love with this place and like many others vow to return. When you leave, you feel as if you have left family behind – reviews come and go, but the heart never lies!

Room Tip: some rooms adjoin the pool; if you want a bit of seclusion ask for one away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Convo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017

The Olive Grove is literally a 2 minute walk to restaurants and 5 minutes to the harbour. It could not be better located for access to everything Elounda has to offer.
The apartments are a good size, in good condition and have all the usual basic facilities for cooking, plus more than ample wardrobe and storage space in the bedroom.
The management and staff, Julia, Demetre, Manos, Kate and Pat are all great, along with the resident security staff of Rocco and Molly. Rocco is easily bribed with a good scratch, but Molly is more discerning and generally needs a food based offering. Just in case you haven't realised, Rocco and Molly are their 2 lovely dogs.
The barbeque and quiz night on a Friday evening is extemely good value, and good fun as long as you don't take it too personally if your team is beaten :-)
There are plenty sunbeds around the pool, although they are quite closely spaced. More room is available on the sun terrace which is only a few feet further from the pool
Food is available all day, and is good quality and well priced.
My only reservation is about the lack of privacy for the ground floor units adjacent to the pool. A couple of them face directly onto the bar area and have seating just a few feet from the patio doors.
That is absolutely my only negative about the Olive Grove, and if a 4.5 rating was available I would have given that. I don't think reducing my rating to 4 would be fair.
If any more evidence is required of the popularity of the Olive Grove, they have many repeat bookings and are already heavily booked for 2018.
Thanks again to all the staff for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: If possible avoid ground floor, pool side apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Keitht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

This review is quite late as we visited Elounda in May
I can't really comment on the whole accommadation as we only popped in for a quick drink.
The bar staff were very friendly and the drinks were a reasonable price.
The pool and bar area were also very clean. However I'm glad we didn't book to stay here as we thought it to be very noisy...not from the people staying at the complex but the noise from the road.
The Olive Grove appartments are situated on the corner of a busy road so not only do you have the vehicle noise (especially the mopeds and bikes) but also the fumes!
Definitely not relaxing at all which is why I'm so surprised that it receives such great reviews?
I can only guess the rooms and food must be amazing or some people haven't visited many places to compare this accommodation with others?
We prefer to stay somewhere that is overlooking the sea with beautiful surroundings and is peaceful, not noise and concrete. So unfortunately we wouldn't choose to stay here.
There are far better places to stay and in other resorts too!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank sunnysuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Had a walk around Elounda and came across these lovely apartments. We had a very well prepared and tasty lunch and a few drinks which was not expensive at all. The owner should us a vacant apartment which looked well equiped on was spotlessly clean.
I will stay at these apartments in the future as there are plenty of bars, shops etc close by to keep us occupied.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank frank f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Just returned from "The Olive"
Marvellous stay AGAIN
This the only place for us in Elounda. Thanks to Dimitri for keeping the pool in great shape. To Julia for her fine Mezzi. To Mano for his keeping of the often very busy pool bar. Aided by the lovely Kate. Can't not mention Hayley Jimmy and Theo. Mano's lovely family. The cleaner's who also do a great job cleaning the apartments to a high standard with minimum fuss. Please do the BBQ it's great food. A fun quiz that turns strangers to friends is included.
All well policed by Rocko and his charming assistant Mollie. Booked already for next year. Can't wait

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.2 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
457 reviews
0.9 km away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
1.3 km away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.8 km away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
2.4 km away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Apartments

Address: Mirabello Bay | Naksou 2, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Elounda
#3 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: RM260 - RM422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Grove Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Grove Apartments is a new complex of 14 apartments situated in the center of Elounda well known for its friendly atmosphere and service. There is a large pool and children's pool, also a bar serving snacks and drinks from early morning to late evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Olive Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Apartments Elounda
Olive Grove Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing