We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again.”
Review of Elounda Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elounda Heights
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Have just returned from a fabulous 2 weeks at what must be one of the most tranquil and beautiful locations on the Island of Crete. Elounda Heights continues to deliver Year after Year with Vangelis still running a fabulous holiday experience. The pool area is set in the middle of lush gardens, with views over Elounda bay and Spinalonga eye watering. Can recommend the Mezze evening and the Sunday boat trip is not to be missed. Next year will be our 8th in a row.

Room Tip: Studios in my opinion offer better views at a cheaper price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank davidmack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

Something happens as you drive through that gate, that doesn't happen anywhere else I have stayed. This was our 5th visit and it still hasn't lost that magical quality that literally lifts the challenges and pressures of life off your shoulders while you are there.
It's not grand or pretentious but Vangelis and Ann have managed to achieve something that I have never experienced anywhere else and we have been blessed to visit some lovely places.
Your time there can be what you want it to be. If you want solitude then no-one will bother you and if you want company there are always a great bunch of people around.
The food is amazing and that view doesn't leave me all year.
A truly very special place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UkAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Lovely place to stay with great view. The family and staff around Vangelis always make you feel welcome and taken care of. You always get a smile and the help needed.Only problem is the location on a steep hill, a chalange to walk the older you get and even using a car. The room we stayed in had airconditioning in the bedroom only, leaving the other rooms warm and causing a cold draught as situated overhead the bed. Kitchen is equipped sparse. Driveway need better surface., old one too uneven. Apart from that can recommend dining in once in a while - the cook (Vangelis) is great. Dining in Elounda also recommended - plenty of good Restaurants. Poolarea comfortable with small parasol

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klaus Dieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Elounda Heights is advertised as adults only, which is why we booked. However, whilst we were there, the place was full of families with children who certainly weren't adults. Some looked no older than 14 or 15. Even some of those that probably satisfied the bottom age limit acted like kids, only bigger and noisier around and in the pool. As these were families, there were probably more than two people per room meaning it became very crowded at the small pool area with some genuine adult couples not being able to get sun loungers. Granted, this is a lovely place, the views are spectacular and Vangelis and his staff can't do enough for you. My point is that if a place is advertised as adults only, then that is what it should be. I would even say that the age limit should be raised to 18 and be strictly adhered to in fairness to other guests who are being misled. We will visit again but will avoid the school holiday periods.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MorrisTrevla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annadamakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Elounda Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

We were sorry to read that you were discontented with your stay at the Elounda Heights in relation to other guests who were staying at the same time. In no way are we trying to mislead guests and yes, the minimum age this year and in previous years has been 16 and we are strict on upholding this rule. We are a very quiet resort and we would like to point out that there was no more noise around the pool than normal. We are not meant to be a retreat, we are a place where people can relax but also enjoy themselves. On the whole, one can see from our reviews, that it is considered very peaceful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I travel often around Europe and beyond, and we really like variety in terms of towns and accommodations, it's basically a no go when it comes to returning to a place...But this place... impossible not to come back... this was the third time ... the hospitality, the simplicity, the beautiful garden and views of the sea, the swimming pool, the family who takes care of you... VANGELIS... need I say more? Vangelis is the owner and runs the kitchen and bar and is the face behind the property. He is always smiling, always working, always joking and makes you feel right at home. His energy and that of his family is unmatched and is the reason we come back to Elounda and stay at this place. The rooms are equipped with simple basics, including a functional kitchen with fridge, you need to bring your own toiletries and you can go into town to buy bread and food that you can prepare and eat in the room/apartment or out on your own terrace. There is nothing better. This trip I brought my brother and his wife and also this is the second year we have brought my mom. We each had our own room in the same area and we had breakfast together every morning on our terrace overlooking the gorgeous garden where you'll find fresh wild basil, mint and rosemary. You must dine there for dinner too as the food is fresh and Vangelis is a great cook!! Thank you everyone again and we will see you next time!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Garbanzobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.7 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
0.8 km away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 35 in Elounda
271 reviews
2.6 km away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
157.7 km away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
156 reviews
114.2 km away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
658 reviews
30.9 km away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Heights

Address: Emmanouil Pouli, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#2 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: RM 252 - RM 430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elounda Heights 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Heights, is a delightful family-run complex of nineteen studios and apartments, perched on a hill with panoramic, breathtaking views over the beautiful Mirabello Bay and the Venetian castle on the island of Spinalonga. It is just 300 metres from the village of Elounda, surrounded by beautiful gardens and complimented by Greek statues as this is the theme of the complex. The apartments and the studios are named after Greek gods and goddesses. The property offers magnificent views in a quiet and tranquil setting reserved only for adults over 18. The hotel for the last 10 years has been reviewed as one of the top hotels in Elounda. That's why we have a very high number of repeat guests We invite you to explore the majestic scenery and tranquillity of the area and enjoy your stay in our awarded hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Elounda Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Heights Apartments And Studios Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing