We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical greek hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mike Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2006

mike hotel/appartments are typically greek.the hotel is pleasant but in bad need of renovation.the downstairs restaurant area has been done but the bedrooms leave alot to be desired!My son-in - law and I both work in building and spent the first three days fixing broken door handles,showers and anything else we could fix!The staff however are very nice.The food was average and overpriced compared to portion size.we would recommend you eat at the local tavernas where the food is excellent and you get much more for your money!breakfast was very boring(unless you paid extra).The pool area and appartments(much newer) are very nice.However the pool is dangerous as both of my grandchildren(and some others) cut their fingers on the steps(my 4 yr.old grandaughters was quite bad)We did report it to some staff around the pool but I doubt anything was done! If you are unfortunate enough to get a front room at the hotel,take earplugs as you will need them.Dont expect too much from the hotel(first looks are deceiving)but enjoy the pool and hire a car and youll have a good holiday!we wont be going back,but make your own mind up!cheers.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank dav1d49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Mike Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 334 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2006

I'm really picky when it comes to holidays so spent ages researching where to stay. Trip Advisor was a really useful tool in my decision so only right that I make my own contribution.

We stayed at the apartments which were right on the beach front by the pool. First impressions were that the room was quite basic but then we soon got over that as we realised we were there to chill out. The apartment had everything you need - air conditioning, a wee kitchenette, table, sofa's and telly. The twin beds weren't expected but at least my husband didn't complain I nicked the sheets!

The resort is lovely and friendly and not too big. The other reviews were right in that the family that run the place can't do enough for you.

The pool area and bar is fantastic. No need to rush down at 7am to put towels down! There's plenty of beds with umbrella's and loads of space around. Lilo's were allowed in the pool which the kids loved!

The resort is right on the beach which is lovely but it is all pebbly. I prefer the pool anyway so wasn't too bothered by that.

There's a few lovely little taverna's around to eat. The restaurant at the hotel was one of the best we ate at so would recommend that. As you go out of the resort by the beach, turn right and walk along 5 mins there's a couple of much bigger restaurants that are packed. To be honest we didn't go to them as their menu's were just the same, but we found out that as soon as you had eaten they were ushering you out. Right next to the resort , again by the beach on the right is a little hotel with a restaurant out the front. This was a great little place and they didn't rush you so would recommend that.

There's a couple of little supermarkets around within walking distance so would recommend getting water from there.

We visited the Venetian harbour in Chania which was lovely. All you need to do is get the bus which comes half hourly right outside the hotel, and takes 30-40 mins. Only costs 2 euros each. Would recommend getting a taxi back as the bus back can be a mission. Met some people who had a nightmare. Taxi's are really easy to find at any time of the night. Taxi back cost us 17 euros which was worth it. All you need to do is take one of the business cards from reception and then show it to the taxi driver and they'll know where to go.

All in all a great place and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank Manamoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

I must confess - we cannot say enough good things about this property. The location is serene, the owners are excellent hosts (esp. Manos!), and the property itself is fresh and simply lovely (and, the price is remarkable for such a find). The apartments are clean and well-furnished, including a kitchenette (stove, fridge) and a table both inside and outside on the balcony (perfect for sundowners at the end of the day). The apartments are in close proximity to some of the most gorgeous (and wild) beaches in Greece... you should definitely rent a car to explore these and then numerous nearby mountain villages which are not only genuinely quaint, but often have incredible tavernas! We would highly recommend a stay at Mike's! We'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank Love2Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2006

Lovely holiday in Chalia. Very quiet and family owned place everywhere. On thing was the beach is stony n painful to walk on because they were hot sharp stones. although you can drive to another beach about 10 mins away.
All in all was ok.

Stayed: July 2006
5  Thank Kittyc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2006

The hotel was beatiful. Private balcony overlooking the ocean. Very spacious living room, efficient kitchenette, large bedroom. Very new & modern. Gorgeous pool. The manager went out of his way to welcome us & helped with our ferry booking.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caymansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.2 km away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.7 km away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
244 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mythos Beach
Hotel Mythos Beach
#5 of 15 in Maleme
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maleme
201 reviews
0.5 km away
Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel
10.1 km away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike Hotel & Apartments

Address: Maleme , Chania, Maleme, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maleme
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maleme
Price Range: RM200 - RM551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mike Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike’s Studios & Apartments are situated on the beach in the village of Maleme, 17 kilometres west of Chania. The self-catering apartments are modern and spacious and are all surrounded by a beautiful tropical gardens. 100 metres away from the apartments is Mike's Hotel and Restaurant. Based on more traditional design the Hotel includes sea view or mountain View rooms. Enjoy Mediterranean specialties in the restaurant terrace gazing the blue horizon of the Aegean sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mike Hotel And Apartments
Mike Hotel & Apartments Maleme, Chania, Greece
Mike Hotel máleme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing