We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Premium property with excellent view of Rethymnon”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Knossos Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Pool
The kiosk
The playground
Panoramic views
Barbecue
Wheelchair ramp
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Norwegian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Torolf2
Lillestrom, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Premium property with excellent view of Rethymnon”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled with a large extended family with 8 adults and 9 children. The villa was excellent, well kept and spacious. The staff were very nice, efficient and helpful. The neighbourhood was a bit worn, but the villa in itself and the panorama view of Rethymnon was beautiful. The location was a good a starting point for trips to Rethymnon and other parts of Crete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the property and the view.
Liked least: The nearby surroundings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilona K
Kerkrade, Limburg, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great villa”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were on Knosses Estate villa for our wedding. Everything was perfect for a group with a todler and an elderly. We immediatly felt welcome the day we arrived, because of the personal contact and the little things left by the owner, like some biscuits. They were perfect after the long travel. Also a compliment for the waterfilter which gave us clean cold and hot water. Further was the cleaning perfect. They came every other day and did everything in the villa. We could use the housephone to call taxi's or dining places. Everyone had an excellent time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waterfilter
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenJo2
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Four generations of my family, 14 in all, visited Rethymno at the beginning of September. A lovely month to visit Crete and what a treat our villa was. Headed by Maria nothing was too much trouble for the Knossos Estate team. The villa was just perfect to meet the needs of young and not so young. The pool was clean and invited us all in every day for a refreshing swim. We celebrated my grandson triumph when he swam his first length......The grounds are well maintained - and the view!! You need a car to explore and shop but this villa is a haven for all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon t
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic family adult holiday at this wonderful villa.
There were 13 of us and we had ample space in fact, it was easy to have to search for someone at times as it is so big.
The owners and on site staff are so helpfull and nothing is too much trouble.
The gardens , pool and outdoor seating area's are amazing and so is the built in BBQ area .
There is everything inside you could think of that you may need dishwasher, washing machine,coffee machine, fridge freezer etc and if you are a large party this is all times two as the villa is split on two levels .
Taxi's into town are very reliable and cheap 7-10 euro (it is walkable but about 25mins and not the best road)
There is a very very good bakery/cafe 5 mins from the villa fresh made up rolls cakes, coffee and a pint !
10/10 everything was great

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best holiday to have with multiple families!”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of 5 families, all with young children (7 altogether between 6 months and 3.5 years old). None of us have really been on holiday with children before and not with such a large group (10 adults and 7 children). From the moment we chose Knossos Estate and emailed Nikos we knew that we had made the right decision.

Before the holiday came - Nikos went out of his way to ensure that we had everything we needed at the villa, cots, bedding, high chairs and so forth and he was so happy to answer as many questions that i had in the run up (which was a lot).

We arrived late at night and one of the employees of Knossos - Maria - was there to meet us at gone 1 AM. They were so friendly and helpful and helped us sort the rooms out.

The villa was PERFECT. It was very spacious, nice decor and layout. Everything that you could want. We woke up to see a beautiful panoramic sea view which was such a surprise. So many different places to eat within the villa - BBQ area, veranda, pagoda etc. They also brought baby walkers for the 2 smallest children, so we could swim in the pool while the babies looked on safely in the shade.

The pool is fantastic as was the children's play area - with something for every age child. The house had a cleaner every other day as well as an attendant to outside every morning. So we were able to keep on top of the washing up and cleaning with so many of us - it was a wonderful help and surprise to have that level of service.

Maria was wonderful and super friendly - she helped arrange trips, restaurants and was on hand for any advice and questions. One of the children was sick during our stay and Maria helped to take them to see Nikos' wife who is also a doctor - and the had the best care. We truly felt like we were in a luxury villa - the level of service and care was so good.

It was a truly fantastic holiday and we really want to go back next year as the villa and Nikos offered everything that you could possibly want.

We highly recommend booking with Nikos. AMAZING. Thank you so much for making us have the most memorable holiday. Top marks - no one could better this holiday experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large pool, children's play area, the view
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing