We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic rural villa with wonderful ambience”
other travellers have booked this property
25 sqm swimming pool with sun beds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
25 sqm swimming pool with sun beds
Outdoors - garden and pool Outdoor dining and sitting area under the grapevine!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
25 sqm swimming pool with sun beds
Outdoors - garden and pool
Outdoor dining and sitting area under the grapevine!
Sitting area right next to the swimming pool
Outdoor dining table under the grapevine!
Tastefully decorated spacious indoor open plan area
Open plan living, dining and kitchen area
Living room area
Dining area
Fully equipped antique style kitchen
Smeg retro-style refrigerator adds a taste in the house!
Smeg retro-style oven in the kitchen
Bedroom on the first floor
Bedroom with private bathroom on the first floor
Bedroom on the ground floor
Bathroom
Enjoy relaxing in our garden under the grapevines..!
The swimming pool within the beautiful garden of the villa
There are plenty of outdoor sitting places in our garden
The entrance of the villa from the garden
Sitting area with great view - feel the Cretan nature!
One of the best place to relax or sunbathe..!
Traditional wood oven, there is also a sink and a gas hob in outdoor area
Our garden is full of grapes in the summer to taste and relax under that
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
tobyhards
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic rural villa with wonderful ambience”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As a family of 5 with a 6,4 and 1 year old, we had a wonderful stay at Villa Dimitra and felt well looked after by the owner and villa management. The house is very nicely decorated and well equipped, the garden is magnificent with a lovely pool, great views and good outdoor seating all surrounded by a well kept garden complete with an abundance of fresh figs (end of July through to Sep/Oct).
I would definitely recommend this place, it is rural so somewhat of a retreat and a drive to get anywhere but well worth it if you like that sort of thing. The village is quiet and traditional and gives a real feeling of Cretan living, it has a great Taverna in walking distance who do takeaways and 15 mins drive to some ok beaches.
Only downside of the villa would be the slightly uncomfortable beds upstairs which for a week would be fine but we spent a month there so a larger mattress would do better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural nature and beautfiul setting
Liked least: beds and quite small bathrooms
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeLJ72
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Taken me a little while to get around to add a review, but our trip back in the summer of 2014 has not left my thoughts. As many of the other reviews the welcome from the family was amazing, and having arrived late they waited to meet us at the villa and even drove to guide us in the last few miles.

If you want a lively beach resort, this is not for you, but if you are looking for a little of the true rural Greece then this is ideal. Set in the foothills above the coast there are fantastic views and some great walking and historic sites, with the coast a short drive.

My breath was taken away from the moment we walked through the gateway and the walled garden is complete tranquility with a lovely tended garden, pool, and alfresco dining.

Just loved days of relaxing in the garden, going for a run in the hills, taking a plunge and then cooking a rustic dinner in the garden, and our two weeks went by far too quickly. Hope to make it back again someday soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A true tranquil retreat
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical madness, a wonderful experiance”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I Just had my 30th Birthday celebration at Villa Dimitra last week.
for the most part we where 6/8 people with 14 people for a party over the weekend. The owners where so acomodating and lovely about the arrangements for the extra people (a bit of a stretch) and the Taverna in the village where amazing at helping me organise a lamb roast (butchered that day for us by the village butcher in his army fatigues) and also organising extra accomodation in the village.
The house is exactly what i hoped, beautiful and charming with traditional furniture and all the nooks and cranny's filled with Icons, art, textiles and fabrics of a traditional Cretan nature.
It was very peacful 9even if we where not) with a beautiful garden and a very laid back attitude.
I cannot tell you how much i loved the place and the village, my friends and i had a wonderful time and we're all missing it very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rchr1983
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A magical place to stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A truly magical place to stay - comfortable, well equipped and with beautiful garden, terraces, pool & views! The family could not have been more welcoming even when we arrived at 2am - they were there with raki to welcome us. The whole house was so thoughtfully made up with a load of food in fridges and cupboards and lovely fresh fruit etc from their home. A wonderful outside kitchen& dining area with bbq& bread oven too! The village taverna 100 yards away serves delicious local food and is just as friendly and welcoming. Thoroughly recommend as a place to stay with a young family or without.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Life-in-A...
Accra, Ghana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem of a place with warm hospitality”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week with a group of 6 friends at Villa Dimitri and absolutely loved it. The old stone house has been restored with great taste and is filled with antique furniture. The kitchen is small but very well equipped (there are 2 fridges) and the outdoor patio provides for great breakfast and evening BBQs. The owners are really friendly and were extremely helpful throughout the week, welcoming us with raki and biscuits, recommending places to explore, restaurants to try, even inviting us to the village party one night. A small pool has just been installed a few months before and we were able to cool down after a day of exploring near-by sites.

The house is up in the mountain, but only 20mn drive from Rethymno, which is a miniature, much less hectic version of Chania, with lovely boutique shops and superb restaurants. There's a very good tavern in the village as well, where locals offered us a warm welcome. You can then enjoy one last glass of liqueur on the roof terrace and enjoy the cool night breeze.

I cannot recommend enough this place, it was definitely the best part of our stay in Crete!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$159
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing