We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Oceanis(Kallithea)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Orchidea(Kallithea)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Delfini Hotel(Kallithea)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Maya Bay Hotel(Kallithea)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ammon Zeus Hotel(Kallithea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alkionis Studios(Kallithea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oscar apartments(Kallithea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
218
129
46
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
129
46
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar hotelstayed in a junior suitebeach sidemain buildingpay eurossea watera la carte restaurantprivate beachbottle of waterspecial holidayexcellent hotelgolf buggieswater qualitystar qualityhotel suitedswimming pools arehotel grounds were beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

I cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough. We got it for a reasonable price as it was booked with only a couple of months before we went.
The food is excellent, there should be something for everyone,all tastes & allergies accounted for.it was well cooked,well presented,an excellent & varied menu, different on each day & sometimes themed.Breakfast was just as good with 20-30 different types of tea,again everything well presented.
There was only 1 niggle with me which is a small thing,but you weren’t allowed to have a bottle of wine in the restaurant & then bring it down & drink it in the restaurant the next night,you had to either finish it at the table or take it to your room.i know some of you are thinking right now- wine left over???I can’t drink a bottle of wine on my own every night as my husband has ouzo in the evenings.They did do half bottles,but for me I just like a glass with a meal,then peach schnapps (which I might add,to add to the excellent service in the hotel the bar manager got in for me )& lemonade in copious amounts afterwards.
The staff there were fantastic, from the maids who were really cheerful & extremely efficient & lovely to the bar staff .So a big thank you to Tasos,the bar manager who I didn’t manage to check with him to make sure he was ok with his name being mentioned & to Olga who was extremely efficient & conscientious thank you again.
The waiters in both restaurants,Christina,Vasilis, Ashley(good luck with studies)& lastly George who all looked after us really well.
Both of us would love to come back & stay again very soon.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank terry_mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galini T, Public Relations Manager at Aegean Melathron Thalasso Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear terry_mel,

Thank you for providing us with such wonderful feedback following your recent stay.

We are delighted to learn how impressed you were with the food quality and we are thrilled in particular to hear that the highlight of your stay was the service you received from our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

With best regards,
Tsipoudi Galini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

The hotel is beautiful with great beach, clear waters and convenient location. Great pools and surroundings. We were with HB, food was nice both for breakfast and dinner.
Huge minus for:
- Paid sunbeds – while this might be acceptable for 4 star hotel it is certainly not for 5 star hotel: For first row you have to pay 25 Euros and you can get 4 sunbeds and one large umbrella.
- Too small, crowded and hectic restaurant – We waited for more than 20 minutes to be seated for dinner, and still we were asked to sit separately (we were a group of 6) because there was no bigger tables. The ambience of the restaurant also is not very nice, (again something I would expect from 5 star hote) , and the restaurant terrace is too small, so you can almost never dine outside.
- No playground for kids - only one slider extremily dirty which nobody had used for years

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BiljanaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galini T, Public Relations Manager at Aegean Melathron Thalasso Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear BiljanaSt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay, but, in the same time we are sad for the issues you had during your stay.

Our sunbeds and umbrellas are indeed provided with an extra charge. You correctly mentioned that the first row with a big umbrella, 4 sunbeds and a big pillow costs 25€. Though there are two more options. A pair of sunbeds with an umbrella from the second row and back cost 8€ an the same set on the grass costs 5€.
The restaurants might be crowded during a specific hour that the guests choose to dine. In any case, there is no one that leaves without having dinner.
Regarding children's animation, we have a kids club with qualified personnel, where children can spend their time.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on another occasion in the not too distant future.

With best regards,
Tsipoudi Galini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We recently returned from this hotel and the experience was generally very good. The hotel seems to have a 5 star rating but we didn't pay 5 Star prices for the holiday, so maybe that's a "Greek" rating. In our opinion the hotel should be rated as follows . . .

5 Stars
for the amazingly well kept, beautiful gardens spread throughout the very large site, with apartment blocks widely spaced in small groups, good in appearance and all having their own pool nearby.Very well maintained, cleaning of grounds and rooms was very good. In addition, the Hotel has a fleet of electric passenger buggies which can be called upon to transfer guests and their luggage etc from one area to another. Also the private beach front area is excellent. Very good overall.

4 Stars
for the room we had, very clean, comfortable, good quality fixtures and fittings (applies throughout the Hotel) free air con., free safe, free Wifi (intermittent), complimentary wine, water and fruit on arrival. But not 5 star, a lot of updating would be beneficial.

5 stars
for the friendliness, politeness, professionalism and helpfulness of 99.9 % of the staff from ground staff and cleaners to waiters and managers. One very minor exception being one bad mannered gentleman at reception letting the side down badly with his "attitude".(He knows who he is !)

4.5 stars
for the food. A wide range of generically International style dishes, very well prepared, unusual and delicious. Very helpful and efficient staff in the restaurant areas and the Pool bar.

1 star
For the bar prices and drinks quality !
2 small and very weak gin and tonics and a small dish of "recycled" nuts . . 16 Euros
2 small and very very weak Ouzo and lemonade with "nuts" . . . 12 Euros
We asked for Pernod and the waitress didn't seem to understand so we chose Ouzo. Our first Ouzo and lemonade one night, was virtually crystal clear when it arrived and overladen with ice in a small tumbler. It had a very faint flavour of Ouzo and was not "milky" in appearance as is usual. I asked for the drinks to be changed and this was done, the next drinks being "milky" but not at all strong. The head barman apologised for the "error", however the standard of drinks remained poor. My partner asked for an Ouzo and lemonade with no ice, what was served up was yet another substandard drink with the glass only filled to about 2 thirds of it's capacity, we were stunned. We ended up buying our own ingredients (Ouzo at 9 Euros for a litre in the local supermarket) and avoiding the bar rip offs other than a nominal 1 drink after dinner whilst listening to the entertainment, then retiring to our balcony. So whether this is linked to the Greek economy or the Head Barman trying to maximise his profits and look good to the Hotel management, we'll never know.We have enjoyed genuinely 5 star Hotels and I'm more than happy to pay for 5 star quality drinks, but near 5 star prices for 1 star drinks is shocking, and very short sighted of the Hotel management. Essentially it deters people from spending money in the Hotel and thereby reduces the Hotel profit, simples ! "Caveat Emptor" !!!

2Stars
for the entertainment, a male female duet every evening, quite tasteful but monotonous, dreary and repetitive, apart from one evening when the duet changed and we enjoyed some excellent, romantic music and singing.

I could go on but this is turning into "War and Peace" so to summarise, . . .
We would recommend this Hotel for a generally quite family holiday in lovely surroundings. It's not 5 Star but we didn't pay 5 Star prices and other than the issue with bar prices, it's good value. We won't be returning to Greece for a while until they sort out their economy, and we won't be staying in any of this Hotel Group's properties again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DELBOY707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galini T, Public Relations Manager at Aegean Melathron Thalasso Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear DELBOY707,

Thank you so much for your kinds words and feedback which helps us to keep improving.

It is indeed, such a rewarding feeling to read that you enjoyed so many things at Aegean Melathron.

All your comments have been taken into account regarding the bar services and the entertainment.

We hope you had a wonderful time in Chalkidiki.

Give us the chance to turn your poor experiences around.
You are always welcome here!

Warmest regards,
Tsipoudi Galini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

I recently stayed at this hotel, I had a good pool view room which was clean and comfortable. Staff were efficient and friendly. Food was good, though at times the restaurant was busy and it was difficult to find a table.

I visited the hotel spa which provided an excellent service. I received a massage from Sophie which was as good as any I have received in the UK. I would recommend a visit.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Stoneleigh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galini T, Public Relations Manager at Aegean Melathron Thalasso Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Stoneleigh22,

Thank you for staying with us at the Aegean Melathron Thalasso Spa Hotel.

We are very grateful for your kind review and the nice comments about our staff.

We certainly looking forward to your next stay with us!

Kindest regards,
Tsipoudi Galini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

GOOD: Food,beach,nature,pools,clean rooms.
BAD: Sunbeads for guest are not free of charge (25 eur first row,8 second). Not kids friendly-we were three families,every one with one child between 2-3 years and our kids were playing in the hotel for 2-3 minutes and one employee came and said we are disturbing and tell us "you should take your kids and go away some other place". My kids raise his voice in the restoran for 1 second and in the moment came shef and warning me for my kid. The hotel is great but they have too many rules so you can't have relaxation. My biggest disapointment was from woman who work in the spa. We have offer for free spa masage and is a fake because the lady who work in the spa laying about working hours in the spa (there is huge sign for working hours and she was luying about it so she can make you go away) and that always is busy and you can not make reservation, not for masage, not for haman, its always busy busy busy (busy in april?!?),spa woman should imrove her behavior (priority),luying is dissrespect for guest ,it's insulting. if she dont want to work she should quit her job or tell the menagement that she can't service all the guest.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suaramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galini T, Public Relations Manager at Aegean Melathron Thalasso Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

It was good to read how much you appreciated our effort to make you feel relaxed and have a pleasant stay despite the issues you describe.

All your concerns will be reviewing within the relevant departments and we will try to provide you with the perfect guest experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Tsipoudi Galini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews