We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location”
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Brilliant location, lovley views from the roof top restaurant used for breakfast. Pool, didn,t use, but there were always towels on the empty beds!. Nice bar area, free wi fi. We were in the basement, at the beginning of the week quite cool. Would be great at height of season and if you had children as went on to grass area, but would have prefered a higher room with a better view, also had problems with the bathroom floor being wet, even when we werent using it. Would go ther again as staff freindly and perfect position.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LandCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2015

The hotel is in an ideal spot facing the harbour. It is clean and the décor inside is attractive including the rooms. It is a pity that the outside is in need of improvement as the exterior does not reflect the inside decoration. We had a side sea view room 408 which we were happy with. There was some evening noise outside as there is a well used lane alongside the hotel on this side and morning noise as the bins are emptied daily, but we didn't find this a problem.

The breakfast room and breakfast balcony are excellent having a view over the harbour. The breakfast itself was adequate but not particularly extensive. There was very little in the way of cooked breakfast.

The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

the hotel is in a perfect location with fantastic views across the harbour from your room if you are lucky enough to have a room with sea view and breakfast on the rooftop terrace overlooking all the boats is stunning. breakfast is quite basic no fruit but was enough for a weeks stay. the hotel itself is very clean and the staff were very friendly. the pool does not have a great position as does not get the sun all day but there are more pools in close proximity which can be used free of charge. highly recommend and will return

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank juicylucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We have just spent our 3rd stay in this hotel and each time it just gets better. The bathrooms are now revamped to a good standard and the decor is clean and fresh through out. Clean towels & maid service daily, as others have said the mattress's are firm but that is how we like it.
There is a little fridge big enough for the water, wine and beer, so just take you own kettle if like a cuppa in your room.
The breakfast terrace is a real plus for this hotel, the view every morning is amazing. Breakfast is good and plentiful all the usual things ham, cheese, yogurt, honey, bread, jam, fruit, olives, tomatoes, cake, croissants,eggs, bacon. sausage , juice, coffee, tea etc so as long as you are not looking for a good northern fry up there is some thing for you.
Personally the Alkyon has got every thing that we are looking for and more. Great staff through out, and as for the lovely Kiki and Georgina on reception nothing is too much trouble. The location is just right, close to every thing without being in the middle of it.
Skiathos is a beautiful island to spend time on, this year we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary so it was extra special for us. We shall be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaz1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We have just returned from the Alkyon quite disappointed. We got a great deal and the hotel was reasonably priced so we were not expecting a palace.
The staff were great and the bar area/ pool area was nice.
The location is amazing, this was the hotels highlight.
The breakfast was nothing special, although paying for b&b we actually spent most of our holiday going out for breakfast as the quality and choice was so much better and quite cheap.
The big let down for the Alkyon was the room (115). I requested a high floor and view of harbour/sea (I understand that requests are not guaranteed) when we arrived we were put in a room at the very back of the hotel downstairs (could not be any further from my request). There were broken wall panels in the corridor and a stained runner along the floor, the corridor often had a funny smell. The bed was rock hard and we had a pillow each that was as flat as a pancake, we had to roll up clothes to use as extra cushions. The bath/shower would leak all over the bathroom floor somehow and the fixtures were shoddy. There was a patio area with one table but no chairs looking on to a small patch of grass with a broken plastic sun lounger and rubbish. I felt as though no natural light came in to the room from this patio. With it not being a great sight we kept the doors/shutters and curtains closed. The maids would come in every day and leave the patio doors open- letting in the wildlife for our return (this is despite me leaving on the 'do not disturb' door tag). The only cockroach I seen on the entire holiday was the huge one in our room! The air conditioning was noisy and sometimes made a dripping noise. The final grumble although not a massive problem was that the hotel wifi was not available in the room.

It is such a shame that the room let this hotel down, it seemed as though the higher the floor the nicer the surroundings so other rooms might be better, however this was definitely enough to put us off.
Our holiday in skiathos was fantastic and we definitely be returning, but not to this hotel.

Room Tip: Insist on being above ground level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Katiepr1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
0.4 km away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#8 of 13 in Skiathos Town
93 reviews
0.6 km away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
978 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
118 reviews
0.2 km away
Meltemi
Meltemi
#69 of 84 in Skiathos
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: RM176 - RM486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing