We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking for next year”
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Reviewed 18 September 2017

there are a lot of comments saying this hotel is not a three star hotel. This is Greece so you won't find the usual comforts of say Spain, but in saying that we found the hotel to have everything you need. Fridge air con ( free ) tv okay no English channels but does it really matter. Towels changed daily comfy bed two pillows each in a polythene bag fresh and clean.. the breakfast has a toaster and a choice of cereals fresh or tinned fruit. Bacon eggs cheese ham etc. All to be consumed on a veranda with a view to die for. We stayed in room 410 at the side with a view of the sea and mountains. It was spacious and spotlessly clean with a very good bathroom with bath and shower. Minutes from the centre and a two minute stroll to the bus stop were you can go off to numerous beaches. There is a pool but only small and gets limited sun . Bus stop 10 takes you to a lovely beach with three tavernas and a charge of four euros for Sun bed and parasol. Go left out of the hotel for some lovely restaurants. A good tip is to forget the transfer bus home and take a taxi booked from the hotel. This way you can avoid all the rush of finding your case at the airport as it will be taken separate from yourself to the airport, check your bags in but don't go through to passport control as there is nothing to do. Go outside there's a little taverna next to the airport. A great place to stay cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms 403 to 411
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank familypet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Stopped for 7 days. Not much of a view from balcony but i prefer the pool area. Hotel is ideally situated. Bus stop just round corner that will take you to the beaches for a couple of Euros. Virtually on the docks and great view while having breakfast on the roof watching the planes come in. Free air con which was a bonus. Great place and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you may have to pay a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TankNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I have just returned from Skiathos and very pleased I stayed in Alkyon it was very near the town,bars and restaurants. Last year I stayed in Skiathos Blu and it was too far out and not as good as the Alkyon. The rooms where very clean seem to have been not long decorated,beds comfortable,small television(which we never had on)good air-conditioning only came on when the window was shut which was great(but was not noisy) ,bathroom always clean shower always hot, the toilet could have done with a bigger toilet seat a bit small for toilet and kept going to the side(but not a big problem) We where on the ground floor and did not have a good view just a wall but the terrace had a table and chairs and a sunbed. Towels where changed every day and sheets always clean. No noise really except for the cockerel but you got used to it. Breakfast was on the terrace and you had some lovely views of the planes coming in and also of Skiathos.Breakfast not bad could have been a bit more change but they seemes to have every thing like cereals,fresh fruit only one yogurt, toms,cheese,ham. The fired eggs where a bit slap dash same as bacon some times little sausages. Would have liked to have seen sliced bread so you could toast it instead of French sticks the jams where nice, fruit juice and water and tea and coffee overall you would not go hungry there was something you could eat.And the tables where cleared straight after you have finished. The pool was nice always clean and the sunbeds where comfortable not a lot of room but the beds where never full, good area to sit in and have coffee and lunch. Pool bar was good and the lunch time menu had a good selection and you could always order room service up till 9-00pm if you did not want to go out.The staff where friendly and helpful. The only thing I would say is the outside of the hotel could do with some structural mending and a coat of paint but then you do not stay on the outside.I loved this hotel and would deffinatley stay here again it is so handy for every thing bus stop,taxis and restaurant. I must say we had a lovely Chinese in the restaurant just 5mins walk from the hotel.Thumbs up to this hotel. See you next year hopefully.

Room Tip: Rooms not in the dungeon good but no view try and get on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ruby w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Room around the back of hotel (ground floor), not much of a view. Inside room was very nice and very modern, with small TV. Outside terrace with table and two chairs open on to grassy area.
Staff very nice, and helpful, always.
Buffet breakfast was served outside on roof terrace with amazing view of sea and boats.
Just along road to centre one way and night time bars and retaurants the other way.
Very handy for bus stop, although buses were extremely full.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We stayed at the Alkyon twice this year, first time June/July the second August/September and on both occasions enjoyed our stay. We were allocated a room on the top floor at the side and had a lovely view towards the airport. We found the breakfast offered to be adequate for our needs. The pool area is on the small size and therefore the sunbeds are very close to each other but as we enjoy the beach we didn't use it. With regards to the staff at the hotel we had no problems whatsoever, everyone of them acknowledged you. As for cleanliness, all social areas, bedrooms and even the steps and pathway to the hotel were cleaned on a daily bad us. Towels were changed every day. The hotel is situated in a perfect location to walk into town, a matter of 5-10 minutes away depending on how fast you walk and although located on the road leading to the islands clubs we did not experience any noise. The only noise we heard early in the morning was the cockerels but you got used to them. Would we return, that's a definite yes.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greeky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
0.4 km away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#8 of 13 in Skiathos Town
93 reviews
0.6 km away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
978 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
118 reviews
0.2 km away
Meltemi
Meltemi
#69 of 84 in Skiathos
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: RM176 - RM486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing