We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem hotel”
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This was our second visit to Skiathos Bay area and the lovely Hotel Alkyon. I say lovely due to it's location, a small Greek owned hotel Manos and travelled again with Thomas Cook. Flight was excellent with just a 5 minute transfer to this hotel set at the waters edge the far end of Skiathos Bay - We were welcomed again by Kikki and Georgina at reception both have worked there many years (part of the family they tell me) We asked for a side sea view on floor 3/4 and got exactly what we requested via e-mail two week before travel. Rooms are cleaned ! well floor not mopped daily (seemed to have dusty feet daily) and seemed bathroom towels were changed daily also. Room has a small fridge and hair dryer in the bathroom, Bath with shower large hand basin loo and nice tiles. Safe box provided at rear of reception, you keep the key with you. Door key is handed in when you leave the hotel daily. Has a small bar and outside seating with lights in trees, small pool area 14 sun loungers, but I would just say they (the covers) had not been changed since our Sept visit last year, still had stains on them, not really inviting to sit on and if it rains the spongy seating got wet. The terrace restaurant is on the 4th floor for eating outside or inside, on a self service basic breakfast, with coffee/tea machine, juices. It's the stunning views which attract us here - I beg to find another hotel on the level with the same stunning views, also close to the airport run way 10 mins down the road - not a bit of aircraft sound at all. There is a small field opposite side sea view rear of a taverna which has cockerels in the rear garden an alarm call at 5am each morning - prefer that than in Turkey with the call to prayer at 5am. The bus stop for the whole area is just a step away from the hotel and stops at all 22 beaches along the route. or a water taxi from the old port gets you to beaches also. I am not going to say which Taverna I prefer out of hundreds but you have a choice for 6 just left of the hotel set at the waters edge. I think may be Milos which is an old mill shape taverna far left of the hotel has a stunning setting and excellent food and not expensive and garlic bread like Ginster pasties oh lush. With both old and new port 10 minute stroll away and old town new town shops quaint little alleyways if you look and just find them hidden gems of tavernas with music. With boat trips to other islands and a great day out, I will leave Skiathos up to you to seek out. I would say for elderly or people with walking problems DO check on the hotel you choose via reviews or youtube because a lot of hotels/appartments are set up steep hills to the reception area - great views, but a view is not everything. Just research well and even look at small hotels in Skiathos town it's self we saw many. just remember what comes down must go up and if it's hot in high season a steep climb can be difficult with pushchairs and elderly. Transfers to the airport are quick but your luggage goes ahead of your transfer and is left at a secure area!!!! as the roads are steep and narrow transport to your hotel is not able to get there. You then collect your luggage and wheel to the terminal building a few minutes walk. Check in is not as quick as last Sept, or security checks so arrive in good time for check in. Some times the aircraft have to refuel and therefore adds an extra hour to your homeward journey, as you have a stop off to refuel and then wait for a slot to take off again. The food is so good in Skiathos, the beaches are stunning and tavernas on the beaches good value.

Room Tip: All room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthSomersetFortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Alkyon From 20 September to 4 October
Had a great holiday
The staff were verrrry nice and friendly
Breakfasts were great
Bedroom was a good size bedding changed every other day towels every day kept clean
View from the terrace was fabulous across the harbour lovely place for breakfast
We were waken in the mornings by the local cockerel
We had a side balcony on 2nd floor had a good view of the top part of the harbour
Would certainly stay here again and would recommend this place
Thank you to the staff for a very enjoyable holiday
Love Skiathos and would certainly visit here again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank un1ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

If you are looking for 5 star luxury, the Alkyon is not for you. However if you want a base to walk into Skiathos town from, catch the local buses to the beaches, not have to climb steep hills and even walk to the airport – the Alkyon is ideal. Actually situated on the front, breakfast on the terrace overlooking the harbour is a great way to start the day. Perhaps breakfast is a little basic, but staff are all very friendly and there is a pool to relax at during the day and a bar where you can unwind in the evening, but after a day in Skaithos you will be so ‘chilled’, you won’t be able to unwind any further. Our bedroom was clean and it had a lovely balcony which caught the afternoon sun – perhaps the shower could have been better, but the Alkyon proved to be just what we wanted

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhuu65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Arrived Friday much earlier than rooms are normally available, due to a flight change but kindly allowed us our room. Only 5mins drive from airport, about €10 in taxi.
KiKi on reception was a delight and so helpful. Given a lovely room with wonderful views and very grateful.
Room clean and cozy and just right. Extra pillows and warm blanket provided and fridge fir water. Bathroom modern and clean with shower (bring travel plug) and hairdryer
Hotel has nice comfy sitting area, loads of books to read /swap.
Bar and pool area for snacks
Would defo recommend and would stay here again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 6spoonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We stayed here for two weeks in September 2017. We have stayed many times at the Alkyon Hotel, we always find the staff friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned every day, fresh towels changed every day, sheets changed every other day. Buffet breakfast, good choice, eat as much as you like. Convenient for restaurants, super markets, the main street with its many shops is within walking distance. The bus stop is a minutes walk from this hotel which takes you from number 1 bus stop to number 26 with great views along the way. However, the buses to get very busy and very very full. We find this hotel is perfect for us, and will be returning again in September 2018. Thank you to Kiki and Georgina, and all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CatherineFP2485XN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
118 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
5.5 km away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
74 reviews
0.6 km away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
0.5 km away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: RM170 - RM567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing