We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food”
Review of Il Grappolo Blu

Il Grappolo Blu
Ranked #368 of 2,598 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$118
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: BENVENUTI AL RISTORANTE IL GRAPPOLO BLU Il Grappolo Blu is a cosy authentic Italian restaurant located in the centre of Copenhagen . The restaurant opened in 1999 and has since 2003 been listed in the Michelin Guide. Chef and owner Alfredo Franco will expand your idea of what the Italian cuisine has to offer . He has uncompromisingly searched into the heart of La Cucina Italiana : Quality , Raw Materials, Simplicity and Taste . "My goal is to serve authentic Italian food and great wines for our guests and to give them the feeling of dining in italy. I would like to give the a piece of my Italy, while visiting us " - Alfredo Franco Owner and chef
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

This is the first time I have felt strongly enough to tell a host the food was awful at the end of a meal.
Seriously awful food. Salty, terribly cooked and not in the slightest pleasant to eat.
We eat out a lot (UK and abroad) and, honestly, I cannot remember poorer cooking. Shame; when you spend so much on good wine, you expect the food to be at least a little bit worthy of the wine.
Pinci with carne (of some sort) I described to my partner as similar to "going to a freind's when you are a kid and having spaghetti bolognese (in the very loosest sense). But, their parent can't cook..." Hard meat, massively over-seasoned, terribly made, hard pasta, more than unpleasant taste...
The beef cheek main was, frankly, much worse. Inedible.
One star is a compliment.
I am not being harsh.

Thank DanLovedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe A, Chef  at Il Grappolo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Dan
Please remove your review, since you clearly made a mistake on the restaurant.
We don't serve beef cheek or pinci (is that pasta?) with meat.
This is a family owned restaurant, which means that we are always present, and none of us have ever heard about any guests making a complain that our food is awful.
Please remove your review, it's either fake or you made a mistake, since we do not serve any of the things you mentioned!!!!

Best Regards
Alfredo Franco - Headchef and owner
Giuseppe Aliberti - Restaurant Manager and Sommelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Had a large testing menu.
Started with anti pasti, vitello tonnato was good, italian sausages and melon and ham. Pizza margarita as intermetso - crisp thin and really tasty tomato sauce prepared by the World champ pizza maker - delicious!
Steak was juicy, cooked medium rare and tasty accompanied with olive oil and oven baked potatoes, green beens with salty almonds.
Tomato and mozzarella salat, the cheese was significant! Der best thing to finish a great italian diner is with the house tiramisu! Best ever!

Thank J0hn_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Ate here whilst on business with colleagues. Brilliant standard of food with an extensive offering of pizzas and pasta. The calzone I ordered was one of the best I've eaten. The service was good, the waiter was pleasant and friendly. Decent value for money as well. considering you're in Copenhagen.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank callen1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

A lovely welcome and delicious sounding menu...but

We were offered glasses of sparkling wine as a welcome drink. These ended up on our bill as £35!!

The calamari at £24 were overlooked and dry. The chips at £7 were pale and defrosted.

On the good side, a delicious steak and excellent service.

Not a place to go in a city full of amazing, good value and honest restaurants.

2  Thank TasteTestersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had a fantastic experience at Il Grappolo Blu! They of course have great food, drink, ambiance, and decor, but the highlight is their wonderful staff. Valerio (server) and Mae (host) were the cherry on top of the wonderful sundae that is IGB. They made us feel as if we were guests invited into their home. That’s what a dining experience should be!

Food: We had the Capricciosa pizza (Pizza with tomato, mozzarella, ham, mushroom, olive, artichoke), the Crocchette di baccalà (Baccala Croquettes), the Parmigiana di melanzane (Eggplant Parmesan), and the Linguine alle vongole (Linguine with Clams). Everything was on time, and on target. Flavorful, perfectly seasoned, fresh ingredients, and lovely presentation without being overly complicated. Simple and delicious like home made comfort food!

Drink: We had a glass of wine each from their huge list, as well as a house Limoncello at the end which was absolutely perfect!

Ambiance / Decor: It’s a beautiful and proper restaurant inside and out, but it’s not intimidating or stiff or stuffy by any means. The chairs and candle-lit tables were very cozy, and the line of bottles and casks around the perimeter of the dining room was a nice touch. IGB is fit for a night out with your partner, or with a big group of friends. This was evidenced by the final two parties in the restaurant being myself and my partner, as well as a group of 10 singing and commiserating on the other side of the dining room (which probably seats a maximum of 40 people). We ended up joining in with the sing-along and Valerio and Mae were having a laugh as well!

Staff: I can’t say enough good things about the staff, especially given the circumstances. We came in just 5 minutes before they were scheduled to close (yikes!), and Mae was very happy to have us and treated us like it was middle of the day. After Mae sat us, Valerio’s service was impeccable. He was very knowledgeable, accommodating, and graceful. Again, they made us feel like we were guests in their home. We got to chatting with both of them at different points in the meal, and they were so genuine and warm. They made our experience at IGB a lovely time indeed.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Grappolo Blu also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Il Grappolo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing