We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Helsingor - Bistro La Mer is a must.”
Review of Bistro La Mer - CLOSED

Bistro La Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$36
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 November 2017

We had no idea about this restaurant, except we were told, Go to Copenhagen. Go to Helsingor and then go to Bistro La Mer. Traveling over 10,000 kilometers to come to Copenhagen, we made the evening trip to this restaurant. No reservations, no advance calling. We just arrived.

I can tell you, I fell in love with the place, the moment we arrived there. The large door on the outside (too bad I did not take a picture of that and the entrance way), the little walk to the restaurant, was just so rustic yet at the same time, so beautiful.

The restaurant was a very warm and cozy place on a cold and windy day in November. The couple that runs is (a Mr & Mrs) were amazingly down to earth people.

Not only did they treat us warmly and with smiles, but we genuinely felt welcome!

The restaurant is known for its fish, which we did try, but then again, we pretty much ordered EVERYTHING off the menu, as their were five hungry souls to feed.

Whilst we are no expert tasters, we can however, tell good food from bad. The food here was very well cooked (that was the job of the husband, while the Mrs. kept up at the bar and served us).

Especial mention is of the steak, yes, yes, the fish was superb, but the steak was also very good.

Try as I might to find faults in the menu and the dishes served, I think I would be doing a disservice to the owners. They truly deserve the appreciation. More warm than the food is the warmth of the restaurant, the homely feeling, the rustic layout (don’t miss the upstairs section), and the quietness of the place.

If you are going to be visiting Helsingor or passing through. It would be nice of your to drop and and taste their offerings. You will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 573faisalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

I have been visiting restaurants in this part of the country and all over the world for many years and this place is the best local restaurant, simply because the they have a great cook that care and serve the best food you can imagine.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The restaurant has a very personal style as can be seen in the menu. Two items on the lunch menu were varients of steak tartare. There were a couple of Danish classics, but it is more French bistro. Stunning presentation. The mussels stood on their hinges and the plate looked like a giant sunflower. Best frites ever. Eat them first while they are hot and crisp. Rather casual service, but it was a relaxed summer day.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We had the 3-course dinner, great strong bouillabaisse with a lots of seafood.
The steak was tender and done perfectly, the pommes frites were homemade so was the bearnaise sauce, a little great salad with mustard vinaigrete was served as well.
The desert was the best Chocolate fondant i have ever had, not to sweet or dark, served with a lemon sorbet.
The wine choices were foreseeable and great choices, besides fair prices.
The service was very friendly and not at all snobbish.
We will certainly come back, never before had a such great steak in Elsinore.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 160danielk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

This bistro is very nice and charming. We have tried the smoked salmon toast which was very good. I would come back.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank sap1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro La Mer also viewed

Helsingoer, Helsingoer Municipality
Helsingoer, Helsingoer Municipality
 
Helsingborg, Skane County
Helsingoer, Helsingoer Municipality
 
Helsingoer, Helsingoer Municipality
Helsingoer, Helsingoer Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing