We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairlight Beach House
Ranked #1 of 8 Umdloti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We stayed in the coral sands apartment which has 2 bedrooms and a very well-equipped kitchen for a semi self-catering stay. The view of the sea from the apartment was wonderful and the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Coral sands apartment is fantastic for a family stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 959thamsanqam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016

Wonderful location, comfy & clean, white sheets and great hospitality - loved every minute! I hope to be back and highly recommend this guest house for business or pleasure even on a cold rainy day. I did not get to experience the surroundings - hopefully next time!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cheryllynd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I booked this lodging only for one night as a day to recuperate from nearly 3 days of travel from Hawai'i to South Africa. I wish I had booked it for longer.South Africa is replete with bed and breakfast-type lodges and I have stayed in a number of them that were wonderful. The Fairlight is at the top of the list. The property is directly across from the ocean in Umdloti, a small, quiet and somewhat bohemian village only minutes from the Durban King Shaka airport. The convenience of being so near to the airport is great; however, you would never know it - the area is quiet and peaceful. My room was huge with a king-size bed, sitting area, walk-in shower, and deep tub. The room had a balcony with view of the ocean. I was escorted to my room through a lovely courtyard with pool, large couches and other seating to enjoy the area. The breakfast area was enormous, with seating near a giant TV, in a sun room and on a large patio. The breakfast was equally sumptuous. It seemed every possible breakfast item imaginable was available and all that I enjoyed was delicious. All the staff were pleasant and smiling. The property had a fully stocked kitchen available to all guests if they wished to self-cater. All areas were immaculate!My only regret was that I had only booked one night and had to be further north the following day. On my next visit to the Durban area, I will booked for several days to fully enjoy the property and the pleasant, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank hfdeepblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

My stay at Failights was Fantastic. The experience and view is nothing short of WOW, Exceptional Value for money. The Owners and staff were extremely friendly and made my stay comfortable. I will certainly be returningnad have already recommended to friend the beauty of Fairlights, its people and the location. Thank you all for making my stay a memorable one. Appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank O1599HFjeanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful one night stay here in June, 2016. Can't beat the oceanfront location, wonderful deck outside the clean and comfortable rooms. Bathroom was small, but that didn't negate all the positives about this place. The included breakfast as tasty and plentiful, prepared to order. Wish we could have stayed another night!! Owners were friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tennisfanaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umdloti
7 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
404 reviews
6.4 km away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#8 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
334 reviews
0 km away
Umdloti Letting & Sales
Umdloti Letting & Sales
#1 of 2 in Umdloti
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
82 reviews
14.5 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
2.8 km away
The Sibaya Lodge
The Sibaya Lodge
#17 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlight Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlight Beach House

Address: 1 Margaret Bacon Avenue | Cnr. South Beach Road, Umdloti 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umdloti
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Umdloti
Price Range: RM 468 - RM 713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlight Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairlight offers every comfort in 7 individually decorated rooms and luxury apartment. This luxury four-star rated guest house caters for the individual to couples and families. Begin your day with Fairlight's famously indulgent full house or lighter continental breakfast. Each room in this distinctive guest house is serviced daily by Fairlight's friendly team. Furnished at the highest quality, a stay at Fairlight translates into guests enjoying warm hospitality with every home comfort. Fairlight's selection of double, self-catering and family accommodation come standard with a bathroom en-suite, DSTV, hospitality trays, ample cupboard space, bar refrigeration, hairdryers, ceiling fans and air-con. Complimentary Wi-Fi and secure parking are also provided. Enjoy the beach or relax around the lush poolside. Just 10 mins from King Shaka Int. Airport and close to golf courses, tourism/ leisure and business centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fairlight Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing