We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights on Eigg”
Review of Glebe Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glebe Barn
Ranked #3 of 4 Isle of Eigg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2017

For our early season island break we chose the self catering apartment attached to the Glebe Barn bunkhouse. The apartment is well equipped with a full kitchen including a washing machine and gas cooker as well as a very nice bathroom and large bedroom with a mezzanine like aspect over the lunge and dining area. It is better than I make it sound.

the views back to mainland Scotland form the bunkhouse as well as living under the shadow of An Sgurr make for a spectacular location on an enchanted isle.

One for the self caterers who like a bit more privacy than a bunkhouse affords.

Room Tip: Pre order your groceries from the island shop and prepare to immerse yourself into the island idyll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the apartment over the hostel and was very pleased. The owners were nice and the view from the apartment was amazing. There were many nice walks to go on on Eigg. We walked to the old cemetery from Glebe one day and the view and nature was so beautiful. We met two dogs that were to be seen around the island. And they went on a long walk with us almost guiding us around. We had a really lovely and peaceful stay. Would recommend for anyone who loves a bit of quiet and nature.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marius G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed here for two nights as a large group (both adults and children) where we have the full barn to ourselves. Have to say I was well impressed, the location is brilliant (Eigg is a lovely island in a lovely part of Scotland) and the cleanliness and amenities in the barn were spot. The kids had a great time walking and adventuring around the island...and it was great to come back to the barn to spend the evening (bar one night where we went for a ghost walk to the wee church not far up the road).

Enough room for everyone and assume if staying in smaller group then there are rooms to suit varying party sizes and the communal kitchen, dinning and sitting areas are spot on, enough space to you to either mingle or sit on your own. Plenty of toilet and shower facilities too. Great stay...well done to Tamsin and Stuart.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank The_Stoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

From the pre visit comms and advice this was fantastic. This accommodation forms park of a larger (but not overly large) group accommodation house set on the hill (about a 2km hack up) overlooking Galmisdale Bay.
Our kit was ferried on arrival to the accommodation together with the provisions bought from the small but perfectly formed shop on the harbour front. Solid steed bikes can be hired from the harbour too and are highly recommended as the best way to investigate the island - locks not required. The space is laid out efficiently and combines privacy with stunning views and all the essentials (including maps and guidebooks) and space needed to allow a relaxed and comfortable stay on this wonderful island. Whilst this is not the only accommodation on the island I really see no reason to change. We're already planning several return journeys.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeddediah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We stayed at the Glebe Barn hostel for one day and night during our visit to the beautiful and charming Isle of Eigg. It was our first visit to the island, and it definitely will not be our last.

We arrived at the Isle of Eigg via the Loch Nevis out of Mallaig. We brought way too much luggage with us. It's about a mile hike, mostly uphill, to the Glebe. It was a hot sunny day, and as we were struggling up the hill, a gentleman by the name of Ben stopped his 4WD and offered to take our luggage to the entrance to the hostel. We gladly accepted, and Ben also stopped for some other travellers who were struggling. Needless to say, it made the rest of the walk a lot easier. We never saw Ben again, and so never had a chance to thank him. So Ben, if you're reading this, thank you very much!

After we picked up our luggage, we made our way down the hill to the Glebe. (I have to admit that whenever I hear the word Glebe, my first thought is of "The Broons".)
As it had been years since we had stayed in a hostel, we approached the accommodation with some trepidation. But we were very pleasantly surprized to find that the accommodation was very modern, and very comfortable.

We had opted for a private room, and were very happy with it. Unfortunately, it had twin beds instead of a double, and in hindsight, we could have probably put the beds together. But that is a minor quibble. After 43 years of marriage, it was probably good to sleep separately for once! :)

The toilets and showers were just across the hall. The showers were very good, with lots of hot water. The beds were very comfortable, with sheets and duvet provided. There was H and C in the room, with a note on the wall advising us not to drink the water from the faucets. Unfortunately, we didn't see the note until after we had drunk the water. We're still alive, so no harm done!

The Glebe has a huge kitchen, with everything that you need to prepare and eat food. You can also safely drink the water from the kitchen faucet.

As we were exhausted from the heat and the hike up the hill, we took a brief nap, then headed out to Laig Bay. It was a beautiful afternoon, but the midges were really biting. In fact, we had to keep the window closed in our room to keep them out. We had an opportunity to visit the Eigg museum (a must!) and the swap shop, and had a very tasty snack at "Rest and be Thankful," which is just before the turn off for Laig Bay. We met Charlie the Taxi at "Rest and be Thankful", and arranged for a lift to the ferry the following morning.

When we returned to the Glebe, we prepared dinner, then relaxed and read in the lovely sun room. It was enjoyable watching the midges and clegs trying to get inside. It was almost like revenge, in a way. The view from the sun room, and the view from our bedroom were absolutely beautiful.

We were sad to leave Eigg the next morning, but we agreed to return, and to stay longer. An Sgurr awaits! We really enjoyed our brief time on Eigg, and really enjoyed our stay at the Glebe Barn. It is a very comfortable and very welcoming hostel, and we'll definitely stay there again on our next visit. Next time, though, we'll bring less luggage! And next time, we hope to meet Tamsin and Stuart. You folks have a really nice place there!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, call Charlie the taxi at 01687 482404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Runrig_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Eigg
0 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
176 reviews
0 km away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
131 reviews
0 km away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#3 of 27 in Tobermory
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Barn

Address: The Glebe, PH42 4RL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Eigg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Eigg
Price Range: RM211 - RM231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glebe Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide comfortable self-catering accommodation for large groups, families and individual backpackers. Full catering is available to groups by arrangement. Situated on the extraordinary Isle of Eigg in a charmingly converted 19th Century building, the Glebe Barn offers Four Star, homely hostel accommodation within 1 mile of the well stocked island shop and cafe/restaurant. The hostel boasts outstanding sea views from every room, well equipped kitchen, cozy log fire and a library of books and games for all ages. Sleeping up to 22 persons in a combination of twin, triple, family and dormitory rooms, the Glebe Barn is perfect for individuals, families or large groups. If you fancy more privacy, an adjoining 2 person Glebe Barn Apartment can be let in conjunction with, or separately from the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Glebe Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing