We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scandic gone mad!”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 16 December 2017

I have been staying at this hotel for years, before the great Scandic take over and sadly it is declining. I asked to print of my return boarding pass, this is not possible in the usual way. I was escorted to a guest PC, with no printer and the PC not able to connect to the main desk printer. So it was impossible to print these out. I cannot think of another hotel where this service is not possible. The room which holds the guest PC is smaller than a broom cupboard. The toilet in the front lounge cannot be opened unless reception give you the key code - I am not making this up! The bathroom smelled of drains, despite being the top floor.
All in all it’s very sad that a lovely quaint small hotel has been taken over by a corporate giant and has now lost all that made it very special. Very disappointing.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicHotels, Kundansvarig at Scandic Gamla Stan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Hi judiko,

Thank you for taking your time and write us a review.
I'm sorry to hear that you where so disappointed with your stay.
We are at the time having trouble with the printer connected to our guest computer but our reception staff are more than gladly to help you print your boarding card if you just email it to our reception mail. We've done it before and I can't see why we couldn't help you with that at the time.
The toilet in the lobby just got a lock with a code since we've been facing some issues with unauthorized people occupying the toilet. We are more then happy to give the code to all of our guests if they just ask for it in the reception.
I'm sorry to hear that you dislike Scandic so much since we are constantly working on how to make the hotel experience as good as possible for all of the people around us both working in the business and guests.

Kind regards,

Maria Nyström, Scandic Gamla Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

Small but nice, beautiful place, clean and nice rooms, good breakfast and professional staff. Situation great, fine foodrestaurants close, short walk to Gamla Stan Tunnelbana and taxiservice in Stockholm seems to work fine.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank 362jyrkik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicHotels, Kundansvarig at Scandic Gamla Stan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

ScandicHotels, Kundansvarig på Scandic Gamla Stan svarade på det här omdömet

Hi 362jyrkik,

Thank you for such a friendly review.
I'm glad to hear that you liked both the location, service and breakfast during your stay. I hope you had a great time here in Stockholm and that we will have you as our guest soon again.

Welcome back!

Maria Nyström, Scandic Gamla Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank henkd876
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicHotels, Kundansvarig at Scandic Gamla Stan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Nice hotel in Old town with great location. The building had an old charm and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was very good og we do enjoy our stay in Stockholm. The service was excellent. The only thing we don't approve was that they did clean the breakfast room too early.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
1  Thank evalJ1625DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicHotels, Kundansvarig at Scandic Gamla Stan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Hi evalJ1625DR,

Thank you for taking you time and write us such a nice review.
I'm happy to hear that you liked everything so much.
I'm sorry that you felt like the breakfast was closing too early but we have opening hours and a schedule we need to follow. I hope this wasn't too much of a problem for you and that you still could enjoy your breakfast at our hotel.

Welcome back and Kind regards,

Maria Nyström, Scandic Gamla Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
1  Thank linbo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicHotels, Kundansvarig at Scandic Gamla Stan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#59 of 154 in Stockholm
1,440 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
643 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
3,092 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#71 of 154 in Stockholm
187 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#82 of 154 in Stockholm
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: RM 580 - RM 1,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing