We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,504)
Filter reviews
2,504 results
Traveller rating
1,725
472
186
72
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,725
472
186
72
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal palace cadier bar veranda restaurant grand experience mathias dahlgren grand dame steam room old town harbour view elegant hotel star hotel room service overlooking the water deluxe room perfect location breakfast buffet beautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 2,504 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015

The visually attractive Grand Hotel is appropriately named. Located within walking distance of a number of attractions including the Royal Palace, popular "Old Town", ferries and tour boats, and the Nobel Museum. Located in the center of Stockholm's main harbor, the Grand Hotel offers unique views and outdoor dining opportunities.

Room Tip: The best view is of the Royal Palace and harbor directly in front of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear Larry D
Thank you for posting your review, as you mention the hotel is very centrally located, right on the waterfront and allows you to explore the city at leisure. By the sounds of it you managed to see quite a lot of it when you were here, but hopefully you left something for your return visit.
Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

A five star waterfront hotel with stunning views over the harbour. Boat trips leave from right outside the hotel and smart shops, museums and the picturesque old town of Gamla Stan are all within walking distance.
If feel exhausted after sightseeing you will be thrilled with the Nordic Spa which will get you back on your feet and ready for a meal at the hotel's two Michelin star Matsalen restaurant. It's a deliberately small restaurant so book ahead. Tip: ask for a spoon: you will not want to waste a single drop of sauce. Other restaurants, less expensive,are available at the hotel.
We booked an executive suite, (it was the only room available), and enjoyed faultless luxury, at a price. Last year we stayed in a superior de luxe room, not so large, but just as comfortable. The style of both rooms was sophisticated and classical but not old fashioned: contemporary touches abound. Free Wi Fi.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear LizC
Thank you for posting your review
It seems you really know how to get the best out of what destination Grand has to offer, I love the “spoon tip”. We hope to see you again soon.

warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

The Grand Hotel is one of my favourite hotels - comparable to The Dorchester in London and The Pierre in New York. The tasteful decor and excellent service make a stay very pleasant, and the food, including breakfast are also of a very high standard. Unfortunately something seems to have gone wrong this time with my rooms ervcie dinner - it took a very long time arricing and when it finally appeared, it had hone cold, which made it less appetising to eat. I was by then too tired and hiungry to complain or ask for it to be returned for re-heating, but the meal was not apleasure, and I was quite disappoiinted, as the hotel on previous occasionas had proved itself to be above such mishaps.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
1  Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear AnnJ
Thank you for posting your review
I am so happy that you we are one of your favorite hotels but I was sorry to hear about your room service experience. I hope that you brought this up after your night’s sleep so we were able to take action. Please do let us know when you are planning to return.
Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

My boyfriend insisted that while in Stockholm I partake in the ritual known as the fish feast at the Grand Hotel restaurant. Alas, this was a work trip and the only time I could get there was mid-day: too late for lunch and too early for dinner. But the restaurant was still open (even if the smorgasbord was closed) and the staff was very kind, they made me feel welcome and comfortable in what is truly a magical, luxurious setting. I sat at a beautifully laid table sipping a German Riesling while savoring the herring sampler platter. Four varieties of herring were artfully presented. My favorite - herring with elder flower. Excellent! What a totally fun treat. Worth every penny. When in Stockholm, indulge yourself in a one-of-a-kind experiences!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisabinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear lisabinnyc
Thank you for posting your review
Well, we are happy that your boyfriend insisted and that it was such a positive experience, I have to say my favourite is the mustard herring. Hopefully next time you can spend more time with us.
Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is old style but still looking well maintained . The personnel nice and well trained . The room comfortable , but quite cold , I asked radiators and they took it immediately . The television only half working , no movies on demand . Good restaurant but too slow in serving .Staff quite ready to help and reactive , but The cold room has been really unpleasant ...

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank The globe trott... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear The globe trott... M
Thank you for posting your review.
It seems that you had a mainly positive stay, I am glad that we could help with extra heating but sorry that we could not get the temperature as you would want.
Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews