We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t use”

Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off
Ranked #92 of 100 Tours in Stockholm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the beautiful city of Stockholm with Red Buses. We offer Hop-on Hop-off sightseeing with buses and boats around the city. We also have the boat tour "The Royal Bridges and Canal Tour" that takes you through the city of Stockholm and around the Royal Island of Djurgarden.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We booked them with the hope of seeing and hearing all about Stockholm, there were long waits at bus stops and the time table completely random.

The audio system where we were sitting was broken and because of the timetable and long waits the buses were always full so no chance to swop seats. I raised my issues with a representative who advised me to email for a refund, only to be offered another trip around Stockholm or wait for it ..... a city trip for Berlin!!

Avoid at all costs, there are better and cheaper.

2  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redsightseeing, Guest Relations Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Alex,

Thanks for your comments and we will improve our service in the future. The waiting time during the off season is 45 minutes and we are really sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with our tours.

Kind regards,
Red Buses Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

33 - 37 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed with this service. I’ve been to many European cities for city breaks and always use a hop on hop off bus to gather my bearings for said city but this was disorganized, disengaging and disappointing rubbish. Time tables were non existent with a broad start/end time, we were told the buses come every 20 minutes which is complete bolony as spent over an hour waiting on 3 occasions, meaning it would’ve been quicker to walk that wait in the snow, and the numbering on the physical bus stations are outdated on a few stops which caused confusion initially! The audio is poor with very little content compared to other cities. Better off walking.

1  Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redsightseeing, Guest Relations Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Christina,

We are terribly sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience. There are supposed to be timetable on bus stops and we will have a closer look at the issue. Now buses operate according to the off-season schedule and the frequency will be 45 minutes. Since we are obliged to make our customers satisfied, please kindly write an e-mail to info@redbuses.com and we will make sure that you get properly compensated.

Yours sincerely,
Red Buses Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

I have used red sightseeing buses in many cities and have always found them to be an excellent way to experience a city but cannot say this about the Stockholm experience. I agree with previous comments re timings - you could be waiting five minutes and two turn up and wait an hour for one - I am sure there is a joke there but when it's -7 it's no laughing matter. There is no reasoning at all.

To make matters worse the stop numbering doesnt tally with the map numbering and presumably needs updating, The stop nearest our hotel is 17 on the bus stop but 16 on the map - really confusing so you end up ignoring the numbering and trying to figure out the stop place names.

I also agree that the drivers have very little interest in anything save for attractive girls getting on the bus. Absolutely no interaction at all.

I am not going to say it has ruined my stay in Stockholm but feel frustrated and annoyed as having experienced the first class service in Amsterdam last year felt I had to review.

PS the bus was absolutely freezing.

1  Thank lizzieclift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redsightseeing, Guest Relations Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Sir or madam,

We are really sad to read your comments and please allow us to express our deepest apology. Thanks to your comments, we will look into the issue and improve our service in the future. We would like to make sure that you get properly compensated for our insufficient service, please kindly write to info@redbuses.com.

Best regards,
Red Buses Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The routes were clear and easy to follow, covered most of the must-see places and ran until night. It was a pleasant way to travel around the city.

Thank Jiji-Miji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redsightseeing, Guest Relations Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Der Sir/Madam,

Thanks for your sincere and positive comments. It's such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our tour and find the tour interesting. We will continue to do our best to offer the most satisfying service to our future customers.

Kind regards,
Red Buss Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We were quite disappointed we normally use Hop On Hop Off Buses in the cities we visit around the world and have found them very good. However, the Stockholm Red Bus was very disappointing. The coach had a lot of rubbish on the floor. The driver was more interested in looking at his mobile phone and jumping out for a cigarette at stops. The driver rushed from Point 1 to Point 14 not allowing time to view the sights on the map and then we sat at Point 14 for 10 minutes. The audio outlets on the coach were not working and we had to hunt to find one working and in one seat the audio connection was nonexistent. I would not recommend the Red Bus Hope on Hop Off Stockholm.

2  Thank Gallding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redsightseeing, Guest Relations Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all, thanks for your comments and we are terribly sorry to hear about your experience. We will improve our service in the future and please allow us to express our apology for the service you received from the bus drivers. We are working hard to meet our customers' expectation, so in this case, please write an e-mail to info@redbuses.com and we will make sure that you will get properly compensated.

Best regards,
Red Buses Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off also viewed

 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing