We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Nearby Hotels
Spar Hotel Majorna(Gothenburg)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
First Hotel G(Gothenburg)
US$112
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kvibergs Hostel & Cottages(Gothenburg)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon Hotel(Gothenburg)
US$190
US$177
Avalon Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gothia Towers(Gothenburg)
US$164
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
US$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Pigalle(Gothenburg)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Upper House(Gothenburg)
US$310
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveller rating
305
497
326
136
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
497
326
136
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh roomnice hotelfootball stadiumeconomy roomtram stopquick checkgreat roomwalking distancestayed here for one nightcomfortable stayboiled eggscity centreamusement parkeasy accessgreat breakfastbed was very comfortablebreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Just average hotel, nothing special, but about right for short stay.
Breakfast good, but nothing fancy, you will not leave hungry nor inspired. Room clean, neat, simple, quite small.
Sound proofing is not what you could say. So prepare for waking up when your neighbours are returning in the middle of the night.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank krakar0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Hi krakar0l,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. Nice to hear that you had a good start at our breakfastbuffet and that the rooms held a good standard. I´m sorry that you did have to wake up when you neighbours returned, that´s good feedback for us.

Wish you a nice summer.

Regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

Check in was fantastic, staff more than happy to help and advise on surrounding area. Not far to walk to either the main street or to Liseberg theme park which is worth a visit. Room are modern but small, bathroom was cinished to a poor quality though given the standards of the rest of the hotel.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ida L, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Hej Dave,

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the service was great!
We have many different room types and we are happy to guide you through them if you have plans to come to Gothenburg again!
As for the worn bathrooms, we will of course take this feedback with us.
Nice summer and hope to see you again!

Kind regards Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We did have a room with a view on the 12:th floor.
There was no minibar.
There is a safe but badly placed.
Bathroom is big and good, just one sink though.
Bed is a little bit hard but otherwise good.
One really good and appreciated thing is that lightswitches and
220 volt is placed just beside the bed!
The room is a lssing.ittle bit worn down.
Its clean and tidy.
There are, no slippers, no shoeshine, no shoe removal thing.
It is a really large hotel (which I do not like).
You can check out via internet though which really is good.
Breakfast is not to well organised. There are always things missing.
They do remove the plates at good speed though.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better windiws...
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootsyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Hi Bootsyfan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review onTripadvisor and also for your great feedback! It´s reviews like this with both things we do good and less good that really helps us where to put our focus, so thank you again.

I wish you a nice summer.

Best regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Very nice hotel, good location and easy access.
Lovely with a bathtub. Near to the cinnema.
And the relax vas good.
The personal is very serviceminded.
I was there for a night and loved it, I like to go back som day.



  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank liselottev128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ida L, General Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Hello Liselotte,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
I wish you a wonderful summer!

Kind regards Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

When checking in we were met by a crowd in the entrance of the hotel having a party at the hotel. I was quite surprised that they were allowed to stand right by the doors smoking and blocking the entrance without anyone doing anything about it. Sadly the entrance remained "untouched" after the party during the whole weekend with plenty of cigarette butts, broken glass etc.
We got a double bed room with a view towards the parking lot behind the hotel, it was quiet. The room had a sofa bed where our son slept which was extremely hard and uncomfortable - not recommended for a grown-up person to sleep there. It had basic amenities; iron, water boiler, safe and shampoo/soap. The room appeared nice and clean with wooden floors but the bathroom was not.
The breakfast buffet had a large variety of items but during our visit the hotel was full and it was crowded during the breakfast which resulted in long waiting for refill of plates and food.
My impression is that the hotel was understaffed due to the chaos during the breakfast and the lack of maintenance of the entrance area. However the staff was nice and friendly, easy check-in/out and the location is great.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grover888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Hi Grover888,

thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor.

I´m sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay at our hotel, unfortunately Summerburst, a large concert, was in town and it was a challenge for the hotel both in the lobby- and breakfast area.
I´m happy to hear that our teammembers, even though understaffed, made a good impression. I hope we will have the chance to see you back at our hotel in the future during a "normal" weekend.

I wish you a nice summer.

Best regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews