We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 July 2015

An average Scandic hotel. Good regarding the distance to for example Liseberg, but the facilities and services are just average. The restaurant is a disappointment - limited menu (in late June) and nothing special for persons with food allergies.

Room Tip: 13th floor (top floor). Good view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HK_ST09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Hi hkim69,

thank you for giving us a review on Tripadvisor and thank you for the description of our position in Gothenburg. I´m sorry that we didn´t meet your expectations in our restaurant, we actually work a lot with intolerances and allergens so it´s really unfortunate that we were not able to pass this on to you.

I wich a nice summer.

Best regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 188 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Just average hotel, nothing special, but about right for short stay.
Breakfast good, but nothing fancy, you will not leave hungry nor inspired. Room clean, neat, simple, quite small.
Sound proofing is not what you could say. So prepare for waking up when your neighbours are returning in the middle of the night.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank krakar0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Hi krakar0l,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. Nice to hear that you had a good start at our breakfastbuffet and that the rooms held a good standard. I´m sorry that you did have to wake up when you neighbours returned, that´s good feedback for us.

Wish you a nice summer.

Regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

Check in was fantastic, staff more than happy to help and advise on surrounding area. Not far to walk to either the main street or to Liseberg theme park which is worth a visit. Room are modern but small, bathroom was cinished to a poor quality though given the standards of the rest of the hotel.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ida L, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Hej Dave,

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the service was great!
We have many different room types and we are happy to guide you through them if you have plans to come to Gothenburg again!
As for the worn bathrooms, we will of course take this feedback with us.
Nice summer and hope to see you again!

Kind regards Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We did have a room with a view on the 12:th floor.
There was no minibar.
There is a safe but badly placed.
Bathroom is big and good, just one sink though.
Bed is a little bit hard but otherwise good.
One really good and appreciated thing is that lightswitches and
220 volt is placed just beside the bed!
The room is a lssing.ittle bit worn down.
Its clean and tidy.
There are, no slippers, no shoeshine, no shoe removal thing.
It is a really large hotel (which I do not like).
You can check out via internet though which really is good.
Breakfast is not to well organised. There are always things missing.
They do remove the plates at good speed though.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better windiws...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootsyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Hi Bootsyfan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review onTripadvisor and also for your great feedback! It´s reviews like this with both things we do good and less good that really helps us where to put our focus, so thank you again.

I wish you a nice summer.

Best regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Very nice hotel, good location and easy access.
Lovely with a bathtub. Near to the cinnema.
And the relax vas good.
The personal is very serviceminded.
I was there for a night and loved it, I like to go back som day.



  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank liselottev128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ida L, General Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Hello Liselotte,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
I wish you a wonderful summer!

Kind regards Ida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 km away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#35 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,030 reviews
0.5 km away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
953 reviews
1.1 km away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#34 of 67 in Gothenburg
487 reviews
0.8 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,076 reviews
0.5 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: RM490 - RM1,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing