We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally situated hotell with potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Quite ordinary hotel room. Nothing to write home about. The size was acceptable and the bed was wide enough. Not the narrow 90 cm you might find in many hotel rooms, especially in older hotels. This one was at least 120 cm. that's the good part.

When I closed the black curtains I quickly found that they do not block out all daylight. It is remarkable that modern hotelsstill today do not equip their rooms with effective curtains. I mean, the main reason for staying in a hotel is usually to sleep! To make things worse, there were light sources that lit up the room; the thermostat had one light, and the television had two. I had to hang towels over both of them to make it dark enough for sleeping.

When I entered the room there was an unfamiliar smell. Not really fresh but I could not identify what it was. The corridor on the fourth floor could use a refurbish!

The bathroom was quite small and the bath had damaged coating in several places. Not very fresh! On the other hand it was all quite clean and all fossets worked well. (This was the first time in years I experienced a shower without thermostat. It was one grip but no temperature setting. It felt kind of cheap). The space around the toilet was very cramped.

The sleep was quite restful, although there were noises from time to time.

They offer free wifi but the speed is insufficient. It was actually impossible to use so I was forced to stay with my mobile Internet. In the bar area the wifi did not work at all.

Why there is no safe in a modern hotel room is beyond my comprehension. A hotel room should have safe and furthermore they should have an outlet so you can charge your mobile device while in the safe.

When you leave the room you have to take your room key. This means that the main electric switch disengage. If you have left your cellphone on charge it will not charge while you are out.

The hotel offer a few garage spots. They cannot be prebooked so it is first come first served. Very annoying when you arrive late and just want to park the car and go to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Hi Kax2,

thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and thank you for all the good feedback. You have some really good inputs that we will discuss in our upcoming developmentplan.

I wish a gerat summer.

Best regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Hotel Opalen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 178 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in slightly upgraded rooms! Clean and spacious rooms on the 13th floor.
The staff is very helpful and nice.
Sadly we didn't get our room cleaned and that was unexpected. If we had known this would have not been an issue, but since we got no notice this seemed strange.
Loud and noisy breakfast but good selection.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Maryanne Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Hi Maryanne Ø,

thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I´m really happy to hear that you liked the location, room and friendly staff. I´m however a bit surprised of the fact that you didn´t get your room cleaned, in our standards we always check the room to make sure that our guests have everything they need. I´m really sorry that we didn´t manage to give this basic service to you and I hope that we can have a chance in the future to make it right.

I wish you a great summer.

Best regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

The Location of the hotel is good. Many restaurants and bars you can reach in walking distance. The room was small but clean. The wardrobe is so small that you can hardly get your clothes in. The bath is old but again is was clean.
Breakfast was served as a buffet with an average selection of food - nothing special. The atmosphere in the breakfast room was like a train station - large, loud and very crowded and the waiter couldn't clean up the tables fast enough.
The hotel has a very small gym - which I didn't use. Unfortunately it's not that easy to make a good run in the neighborhood of the hotel.
All over all is was OK - but nothing special.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrnkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Hi FrnkS,

thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.I´m happy to hear that the location and cleanliness was at your satisfaction. Unfortunately during summertime our breakfast area is not as cosy as usual since we have a larger amount of guests during breakfast.
If you were to stay with us again I would love to show you some great running close by the hotel.

I wish you a nice summer!

Best regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

An average Scandic hotel. Good regarding the distance to for example Liseberg, but the facilities and services are just average. The restaurant is a disappointment - limited menu (in late June) and nothing special for persons with food allergies.

Room Tip: 13th floor (top floor). Good view from the room.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HK_ST09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Hi hkim69,

thank you for giving us a review on Tripadvisor and thank you for the description of our position in Gothenburg. I´m sorry that we didn´t meet your expectations in our restaurant, we actually work a lot with intolerances and allergens so it´s really unfortunate that we were not able to pass this on to you.

I wich a nice summer.

Best regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Just average hotel, nothing special, but about right for short stay.
Breakfast good, but nothing fancy, you will not leave hungry nor inspired. Room clean, neat, simple, quite small.
Sound proofing is not what you could say. So prepare for waking up when your neighbours are returning in the middle of the night.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank krakar0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpalenGuestRelations, Chef at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Hi krakar0l,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. Nice to hear that you had a good start at our breakfastbuffet and that the rooms held a good standard. I´m sorry that you did have to wake up when you neighbours returned, that´s good feedback for us.

Wish you a nice summer.

Regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 km away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,004 reviews
0.5 km away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
939 reviews
1.1 km away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#35 of 67 in Gothenburg
475 reviews
0.8 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#37 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,047 reviews
0.5 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#27 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: RM520 - RM1,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing