We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 9 day trip to Water Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Virgin Islands Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our family of four (2 & 4 year old kids) stayed at the Virgin Islands Campground for 9 nights this March. We had a fantastic time and managed to totally unwind on the beautiful and relaxing island. Upon arrival at the Water Island ferry station we were picked up and given a quick tour of the beach and some of the island before being dropped off at our cottage. We arrived a little frazzled from our flight - barely making the last Sunday evening ferry over and without our luggage. We were promptly hooked up with essential toiletries and a couple of cool Coronas which helped us settle in. The hosts are very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

The location is simply fantastic - great views of St Thomas and the water and just a few minutes from beautiful Honeymoon Beach. We found the cottages very comfortable and well appointed with almost every detail taken care of (see other reviews). The only challenge was getting enough food back to the island. We spent most of our time lazying around Water island. There are no grocery stores or even corner shops on the island so getting some cereal, a loaf of bread or some milk requires a ferry trip into St Thomas. It is a fair hike from the Water island ferry terminal back to the Campground so I highly recommend arranging a ride back if you get a lot of groceries. We found that Pueblo's (which is 2 mins from the ferry dock in St Thomas) offered better prices on food than the more conveniently located Gourmet Gallery.

We're already dreaming of our next trip back!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear Daniel and Family,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reivew...I know with 2 young kids...how did you find the time...It was so much fun day one watching your little ones with no inhibitions!! I must say your check in was memorable!!!

We also appreciated your sharing some of your pictures...pictures speak a thousand words!!

Again, we are looking forward to your return...a 10% discount is waiting you AND if you are able to stay 9 different visits the 10th stay is FREE!! ( a new policy we adopted this year)

Sincerely and Best Wishes,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 227 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

The four nights here turned out to be the best part of our US Virgin islands trip. The owners were incredibly nice, welcoming and helpful. The facilities were well planned and incredibly well kept. They really thought of everything that you could need in terms of comfort and usefulness- from cooking utensils, to grocery bags, beach towels, and toiletries. We traveled light so it was fantastic to not want for anything. We stayed at a similar campground and this one was ten times as nice. If you are looking for a low key beautiful place to spend a few days this is a great spot to do it. We were engaged there our last day and am sure that we will revisit this great spot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, General Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Emily,

Just going thru my trip advisor reviews and somehow I missed not sending you a thank you for writing such a nice review. So thank you!!

Come join us again and you know that 10% discount applies to all returning guests.

Sincerely,

Paul and Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Virgin Island Campground is really a relaxing, lovely place with 7 cottages, a big, attractive shared outdoor kitchen and nice washrooms for a family to stay that won't cost you a fortune. All the cottages are tucked into flowering tall bushes on a hillside of little, low-key Water Island, just a 7 minute ferry ride from the large, bustling St. Thomas Island. The hosts are warm, friendly, and helpful, and there's a lovely shelter with hammock and table and chairs as well as a solar heated hot tub. These simple cottages are for the slightly adventurous couple or families who prefer to cook most of their meals and set off each day to a different beach (there are 2 great beaches to snorkel at within 10 minute walks downhill of the campground) or a different island each day. The cottages are rustic, simple, very clean, with small decks facing the water with 2 comfy chairs to relax on.
We found an inexpensive flight package to get to St Thomas Island (the main one), then took a taxi and tiny ferry over to Water Island ( $5 plus $5) to get there. One day we popped over to the Virgin Island Ecotours at the Mangrove Lagoon (kayak, snorkel, hike 3 wonderful hours with a biologist guide) on st. Thomas Island. Another day we spent at St. John Island where we found a wonderful nearly-empty beach to snorkel (all the beaches there are great and most of the island is a National Park). Lovely restaurants, shops and bars along the beach at Cruz Bay too, where the ferries all arrive.
Back at the adorable Water Island, the 200 or so inhabitants drive golf carts instead of cars, and all go to Honeymoon Beach on Monday nights to eat a fresh dinner, or popcorn and watch a movie on a screen actually hung up between two tall palm trees. It was great!

Room Tip: All the cottages have great views of the water and St. Thomas Island. They can't fit more than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerri3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Jerri,

Thanks so much for the informative review...it is so helpful to us. People want to know more about Water Island and you have given them a lot of information. Hope our paths will cross again someday.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

ps: don't forget your next visit to us will be 10% cheaper!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at the Virgin Island Campground for four days and it was really delightful. The location on Water Island is spectacular - you get an amazing view of the St. Thomas Harbor and blue waters of the Caribbean, very comfortable eco-cabins, and a well-stocked shared kitchen and amenities. The owners are incredibly nice and welcoming. It's a great place to rest and relax, spend time at the nearby Honeymoon beach, and take in the Virgin Islands. I highly recommend this as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Andy,

We are so glad you were able to spend some time with us here on Water Island. We enjoyed our time with you. Best Wishes on your new adventure and do keep in touch.

Sincerely,

Deb and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I were almost afraid to come back. We'd loved every minute of our two- week stay last winter but wondered... could the campground and the island possibly be as wonderful as we remembered them? They were. In some ways even more so.

Again we came to walk and swim, but mainly to read and sleep and let the world go on without us. That's just what we did. In two weeks we left the island only once, to replenish groceries on St. Thomas; some days we hardly left our cottage. So beautiful there, to sit on the deck, watching the sea, finishing conversations left unfinished amidst children and grandchildren, the cottage itself a perfect blend of simplicity and comfort... We were content.

We did venture out, most days, to revisit walks Paul and Deborah had shown us the year before or explore corners we hadn't yet discovered; to swim in the late afternoon, when the beach was quiet.... The rhythms of the island felt familiar. We settled into them. Returned to New York rested and restored.

Thanks to Paul and Deborah for their hospitality and kindness. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityWalker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Nancy and Peter,

Thank you. You're so busy and still took the time to write a beautiful review...you both are so special. Nancy, you probably don't know, but Peter gave us one of the best compliments we have ever been given...ask him to see if he will share....because it meant so much to me...and I think of that often....

I hope you all make it back again next year. Cottage 1 awaits you.

Sincerely,

Deb and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Water Island
10.6 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
9.7 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
2.2 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
6.1 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
11.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin Islands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin Islands Campground

Address: 64 Water Isle, 00802-7803, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Water Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Water Island
Price Range: RM642 - RM1,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Virgin Islands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Eco Sensitive resort with self-contained canvas eco cottages, each with an ocean view terrance. We are located in the St. Thomas Harbor, on a pristine 500-acre island, Water Island, which has regular ferry service (10 min. boat ride) to St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands. Each cabin has pillow top mattresses, all 100% cotton linens (including beach towels), an outdoor cooking pavilion with an ocean view and the property is only 5 minute walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Virgin Islands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin Islands Campground Hotel St. Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing