We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Virgin Islands Campground
Nearby Hotels
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
US$305
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
US$569
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
US$612
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Secret Harbour Beach Resort(Benner)(Great Value!)
US$286
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
292
19
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
19
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon beachrent a golf cartthe cottagesvirgin islandsshort walkother guestscooking areacrown bay marinashared kitchenferry dockst thomashot tubsea turtlesfish tacoswonderful breezegourmet galleryamazing hosts
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The four nights here turned out to be the best part of our US Virgin islands trip. The owners were incredibly nice, welcoming and helpful. The facilities were well planned and incredibly well kept. They really thought of everything that you could need in terms of comfort and usefulness- from cooking utensils, to grocery bags, beach towels, and toiletries. We traveled light so it was fantastic to not want for anything. We stayed at a similar campground and this one was ten times as nice. If you are looking for a low key beautiful place to spend a few days this is a great spot to do it. We were engaged there our last day and am sure that we will revisit this great spot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, General Manager at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Emily,

Just going thru my trip advisor reviews and somehow I missed not sending you a thank you for writing such a nice review. So thank you!!

Come join us again and you know that 10% discount applies to all returning guests.

Sincerely,

Paul and Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Virgin Island Campground is really a relaxing, lovely place with 7 cottages, a big, attractive shared outdoor kitchen and nice washrooms for a family to stay that won't cost you a fortune. All the cottages are tucked into flowering tall bushes on a hillside of little, low-key Water Island, just a 7 minute ferry ride from the large, bustling St. Thomas Island. The hosts are warm, friendly, and helpful, and there's a lovely shelter with hammock and table and chairs as well as a solar heated hot tub. These simple cottages are for the slightly adventurous couple or families who prefer to cook most of their meals and set off each day to a different beach (there are 2 great beaches to snorkel at within 10 minute walks downhill of the campground) or a different island each day. The cottages are rustic, simple, very clean, with small decks facing the water with 2 comfy chairs to relax on.
We found an inexpensive flight package to get to St Thomas Island (the main one), then took a taxi and tiny ferry over to Water Island ( $5 plus $5) to get there. One day we popped over to the Virgin Island Ecotours at the Mangrove Lagoon (kayak, snorkel, hike 3 wonderful hours with a biologist guide) on st. Thomas Island. Another day we spent at St. John Island where we found a wonderful nearly-empty beach to snorkel (all the beaches there are great and most of the island is a National Park). Lovely restaurants, shops and bars along the beach at Cruz Bay too, where the ferries all arrive.
Back at the adorable Water Island, the 200 or so inhabitants drive golf carts instead of cars, and all go to Honeymoon Beach on Monday nights to eat a fresh dinner, or popcorn and watch a movie on a screen actually hung up between two tall palm trees. It was great!

Room Tip: All the cottages have great views of the water and St. Thomas Island. They can't fit more than a couple, or a couple and 2 children, I believe. There is one larger suite with a private bath also available.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerri3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Jerri,

Thanks so much for the informative review...it is so helpful to us. People want to know more about Water Island and you have given them a lot of information. Hope our paths will cross again someday.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

ps: don't forget your next visit to us will be 10% cheaper!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at the Virgin Island Campground for four days and it was really delightful. The location on Water Island is spectacular - you get an amazing view of the St. Thomas Harbor and blue waters of the Caribbean, very comfortable eco-cabins, and a well-stocked shared kitchen and amenities. The owners are incredibly nice and welcoming. It's a great place to rest and relax, spend time at the nearby Honeymoon beach, and take in the Virgin Islands. I highly recommend this as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Andy,

We are so glad you were able to spend some time with us here on Water Island. We enjoyed our time with you. Best Wishes on your new adventure and do keep in touch.

Sincerely,

Deb and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I were almost afraid to come back. We'd loved every minute of our two- week stay last winter but wondered... could the campground and the island possibly be as wonderful as we remembered them? They were. In some ways even more so.

Again we came to walk and swim, but mainly to read and sleep and let the world go on without us. That's just what we did. In two weeks we left the island only once, to replenish groceries on St. Thomas; some days we hardly left our cottage. So beautiful there, to sit on the deck, watching the sea, finishing conversations left unfinished amidst children and grandchildren, the cottage itself a perfect blend of simplicity and comfort... We were content.

We did venture out, most days, to revisit walks Paul and Deborah had shown us the year before or explore corners we hadn't yet discovered; to swim in the late afternoon, when the beach was quiet.... The rhythms of the island felt familiar. We settled into them. Returned to New York rested and restored.

Thanks to Paul and Deborah for their hospitality and kindness. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityWalker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Nancy and Peter,

Thank you. You're so busy and still took the time to write a beautiful review...you both are so special. Nancy, you probably don't know, but Peter gave us one of the best compliments we have ever been given...ask him to see if he will share....because it meant so much to me...and I think of that often....

I hope you all make it back again next year. Cottage 1 awaits you.

Sincerely,

Deb and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We loved our recent stay here. Our cabin was so comfortable and we had a wonderful view off of our deck overlooking the ocean and the sunrise. Water Island is so relaxing and the people living there have fun events and dinners as well. (Pizza night on Fridays, Heidi's delicious beach dinner on Saturday nights, Monday night movie night etc.) The pace is slow and relaxing and the beach and water are beautiful. The facilities here are very upscale and I would hardly consider it camping in the traditional sense. There were some "regulars" visiting and gave us some good tips. Freeze food and bring it with you on the plane. (Chicken, steak, soups and stews in ziploc bags, etc) They bring a cooler and check it on the plane with straps holding on the lid. She said it was still frozen when they got to Water Island even with a 3 hour layover. Deb and Paul are gracious hosts and make you feel welcome. We've only been home 10 days and want to go back now!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 6 and it has a great ocean view and was very private.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborahquade, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Kerri,

Thank you for your review...it makes us feel so good to read great reviews...we really do want people to have an amazing time...please join us again. You will receive a 10% discount.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews