We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Virgin Islands Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Randy and his wife Lisa were wonderful hosts. Both of them went above and beyond to make us feel at home. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet that we found at Virgin Islands Campground. It's pretty close to camping, so if you're expecting fancy amenities, you shouldn't come here. But my wife and I really enjoyed the relaxation from cooking our own food over a shared grill, walking around an island that felt empty most of the time, and just getting to mingle with the handful of people on the island. I would 100% visit again, half due to the peacefulness of the location and half due to the hospitality of Randy, Lisa, and everyone else on Water Island.

Go on the Flavors of St Thomas food tour and ask for Liz while you're there.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah Q, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Joshua,

Thank you for your nice review and wonderful comments about our managers and our neighbors on Water Island. I really think that one of the special experiences about Water Island is the feeling of not being a tourist and the feeling of being a "local". Your review touched on that.

We do hope you will visit again..this time as friends!

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul Quade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here during the first week of August. The views are amazing, and the cabins were perfect. Each night had a great breeze that kept us from getting too hot to sleep, and the humidity was nothing we aren't already used to as we are from Louisiana. We mainly used the campground for cooking breakfast, showering, and sleeping, and that was perfect for our needs! If you're a traveler that wants a lazy boy and the evening news, this isn't for you. If you want to get the most out of your vacation, this is definitely the way. We plan on returning every year and will recommend it to anyone who wants to truly unplug and enjoy their Caribbean vacation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah Q, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Erin,
What a nice review...maybe wedding bells on Water Island? We appreciate you taking the time, especially now while you're likely busy, again.

Thank you. Thank you.

Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Great campground with lots of amenities--awesome getaway
Randy and Lisa do a great job---Honeymoon beach is a walk away everyday. Works for families and friends, but is very relaxing, no stress vacation place

Room Tip: Great views at all cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 373toddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah Q, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review...it is soooo important to our business. Seems like people really do read the reviews and I personally think all together they give a true view of the Virgin Islands Campground.

We hope you return. Please book directly to receive your 10% returning guest discount.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Virgin Islands Campground on our vacation 3 weeks ago. I haven't been able to stop talking about it since our return. We were met at the ferry dock by the campground manager, Randy, who gave us a quick tour of the island. Upon arriving to the campground, Randy showed us to our cabin. We stayed in cabin #1, by far the absolute best cabin on the property, but my opinion is definitely biased. The cabin was well kept and was the perfect scene for two full time working parents to reconnect and relax. We had the perfect view of the ocean but were tucked away in the trees in our own private hideaway.
Every morning we hit the ground running because we wanted to have the opportunity to explore all that St. Thomas and Water Island had to offer and we were nothing but satisfied. The beach itself is reason enough to book your stay at Virgin Islands Campground! Beautiful, clean sand topped off by clear, perfectly temped waters with a perfect view of sun kissed clouds at sunset every night- your very own slice of paradise. It was in those very moments that I had the opportunity to fall in love with my husband all over again and to inhale and absorb God's mighty works. The locals were ever so helpful and beyond friendly. Randy was ever so accommodating. He arranged for our golf cart rental and even offered to print our boarding passes out for us for our return flight. We definitely left as friends as the welcoming sign states. I can't wait to book our next trip to our very own slice of paradise.

Room Tip: Cabin #1 has an amazing view and is tucked away for lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah Q, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your cottage...almost everybody in every cottage says the same...the best!! They are all pretty much the same and that is one reason why people really enjoy their stay...the cottages are just darn nice. We appreciate you sharing that info with the "world".

We do hope you will come back and join us again.

All the best,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

this is my husbands and my 2nd year at VICG. and we wouldn't trade our time here for the world. Just when life gets crazy (crazier) there is still a little slice of heaven here at the campgrounds. Randy and Lisa are so very helpful and knowledgeable. The serenity of the campgrounds make it perfect for relaxing. The ingenuity of the entire build is amazing. Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: know your physical capabilities. and know you're not going for pampering. this is eco-friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tesst01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah Q, Owner at Virgin Islands Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Tess,

Thanks for writing the review (much appreciated) and I hope you were able to book direct and save 10% off of your bill!!

Thanks also for your comment about the ingenuity of the build...my husband is amazing...he planned and built the whole place...and thru the years we have had the similar comments from our guests, but not sure anyone has put it in the review. So thank you!

Hope to see you again next year.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Water Island
10.6 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
4.1 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
2.5 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
6.1 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
2.2 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin Islands Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin Islands Campground

Address: 64 Water Isle, 00802-7803, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Water Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Water Island
Price Range: RM651 - RM1,124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Virgin Islands Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Eco Sensitive resort with self-contained canvas eco cottages, each with an ocean view terrance. We are located in the St. Thomas Harbor, on a pristine 500-acre island, Water Island, which has regular ferry service (10 min. boat ride) to St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands. Each cabin has pillow top mattresses, all 100% cotton linens (including beach towels), an outdoor cooking pavilion with an ocean view and the property is only 5 minute walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Virgin Islands Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin Islands Campground Hotel St. Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing