We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good stay but needs some tweaks to make it amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Hot tub and the view from the porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot tub and the view from the porch
Property view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Hot tub and the view from the porch
Property view
Northern lights above the cottage
The cottage
Cottage and surroundings
The cottage and view
The cottage and view
The area
Akureyri
Eyjafjörður and northern lights
Akureyri
Akureyri
Akureyri harbour
Akureyri / Eyjafjörður
Akureyri
Akureyri
Akureyri
Eyjafjörður
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Akureyri, Northeast Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

TazIcelan...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay but needs some tweaks to make it amazing”
Reviewed 19 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

The location is great, close to Akureyi and the apartment is nice however the hot tub was not good due to the fact there is no path. It is situated at the back of the property and the area is very over grown with no lights so we were fighting the super long grass with a torch to get to it when all they needed to do was put down some stones and one light. There is a great decking at the side of the property so I have no idea why they did not put it there

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Nov 2018
Hi, thank you for your review. The reason why we have the hot tub where it is so you feel more private and also the location of the hot tub gives you better view to Akureyri. We decided to have it located in the nature to give our customers a feeling of bathing out in the nature. Because of the location of the property and the possibility to enjoy northern lights we did not want to put lights that would disturb the lights from the northern lights.
Best regards
Benedikt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabuclin
Veyrier, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Very nice view from the terrace, comfortable place to stay, well equipped, clear user information, we can highly recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Jul 2018
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed staying at my cottage :)
Best regards
Benedikt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artus17
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice cottage in Akureyi”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is quite spacious and offers everything you would expect.
What I really missed was more space to put things like books, computer etc, for example an extra shelf in the living room.
The weather was very nice during our stay, but out of two chairs on the terrace one was broken-we we’re three people.

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Thank you for your review and your tips, we will take care of these problems :)
Best regards
Benedikt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara S
2 reviews
“Cozy Cottage”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Viking Cottage. The cottage was well stocked with a beautiful view. It was nice to do some laundry during our stay. It was near to Husivik where we were able to go whale watching. I highly recommend staying at this cozy cottage.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 May 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review Tara, really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuffty998
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We find Iceland a little challenging for us on three counts...mobility issues, vegetarian and acute shellfish allegy. However we love the country so much this is our sixth visit in 8yrs. So with a little care all three issues are very managable.
We choose ground floor, self catering accomodation where ever possible this covers all our needs. Viking cottages ticked all the boxes for our four night stay in the wonderful Akureyri where the stop lights on traffic signals are heart shaped.
Our cottage was all on one floor and has a good amount of space for 2 adults.We were glad to find out it was well equipped including a much needed washing machine However by far the best attribute to our cottage was the view over to Akureyri especially at night time.
Regarding the disability access - the step up from ground to patio is far too high it could prosper from an interim step making it ground,step, patio.
We had a problem accessing the TV it just kept showing no data found. We were invited to get in contact if we had any problems with the cottage but we chose to go without the TV it wasn't important enough to us to follow it through...but it might be to the next occupant .
We enjoyed our four days with Viking Cottages and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 May 2018
Glad to hear you enjoyed your house and the view :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.