We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute Cottages with Stunning Views”
other travellers have booked this property
Summer view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer view
Front Surrounding
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
16 reviews
Summer view
Front
Surrounding
Autumn
Living room and table
Two bedrooms
One double bed in each bedroom
Sofa and dining table
Mysterious night fog
Hiking area
Nine hole golf course
Northern lights
Beautiful nature
Quiet pound
Magnificent hiking area
200 meters deep canyon
Autumn colours
Autumn colours
Walking up the hill
On the top (1000 meters)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Geysir, South Region

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Japanese first
Any
English first
Sharon B
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cute cottages ZERO service. DIRTY soaking pool”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Please note the friendly yet rushed staff at check in was my first clue that we would not be serviced. We were spoken to as if we were a hassle.
These cottages are very cute and clean but staff need to treat people as if they are important. We pay their salary.
What you need to know is bring all your own food, coffee, etc for fully stocked cottages and clean the cottage or receive a fee of over 100 euros. NONE of this was on booking.com website.
I took a video of every inch upon departure as proof it was left clean and we took our own trash as required. There is no free tea or coffee so you either make it yourself, or drive 10 min to Geiser.
The closest real shopping store
Is 10km away.
In retrospect, this place needs to advertise that you must be fully self sufficient and don't expect anything.
The outdoor tub to use for soaking was dirty. This was not worth over 24,000 kr
Stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-Biller...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Somewhat run down”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in one of the cottages with two bedrooms. The cabin and the facility overall seemed to be well past its prime. Although some other reviews refer to hot tubs the one in our camp was not functional (there was no mention of a hot tub in the booking either). Outside grounds were not well kept. Beds were terrible, the kitchen seemed pretty dirty.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geysir hotels

Shyamal31
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very small cottages”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Located near Geysir and Gullfoss in a non descriptive area. Very small cottages with even smaller beds. Rough uneven outdoor. Regimental rules about cleaning and garbage disposal. Main door does not lock.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Hi Shyamal, thanks for your stay. Our smallest cottages are around 32m2 and they are listed like that, cheap and basic accommodation. To lock the door you have to pull up the handle. Sorry if you have not be told that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SparklyAn...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute Cottages with Stunning Views”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just enjoyed 5 nights at these lovely cottages which are located in the middle of the Golden Circle - ideal for visiting the most popular sights. We stayed in a two bed cottage with outside hot tub which was very spacious and clean. We loved our cottage (Stora) which had a spacious patio with barbeque and hot tub with panoramic views from the balcony and lots of big windows inside the cottage offering fantastic views from each room (there was snow the whole time we were there so very picturesque). There is plenty of space between each cottage so it feels very tranquil and private and there are screens behind the outside hot tubs providing privacy from passers by whilst still enjoying the view from the balcony. The cottages are located 5 minutes drive from Geysir so we were able to make the most of seeing this wonderful sight at dawn and dusk on our way out and back for the day (perfect times as the lighting is much nicer than during the day and there are no coach parties at those times of the day!). Gulfoss waterfalls are 15 mins drive, Thingvellir National Park about half an hour drive and Reykjavik is an hour and a half's drive. Fontana Spa is 10-15 mins drive and Blue Lagoon is about 1 hour 45 mins. Blue Lagoon is near to Keflavic Airport so some people visit either on their way from or to the airport. Lots of reviews mention how the water smells of rotten eggs - this is just the sulphur from natural springs that provide Iceland with hot water and heating - just accept it and you'll soon get used to it. It's not like it's caused by sewerage or anything nasty so I think it's unfair to mention this when reviewing accommodation or hot springs sites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquillity, location and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahjane...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Me, my husband and our little boy booked to stay here for 2 nights whilst travelling in Iceland and it wasn't great. The hot water had a very strong smell of sulphur an the water was slimy. The mattresses were dirty along with the windows and kitchen counters. Needless to say we were up early the next morning to go back to our previous location. I wouldn't really recommend staying here, Iceland is a beautiful place an I was shocked to see somewhere with such high potential being let down by neglecting the fundamentals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing