We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Capital-Inn
Nearby Hotels
Apartment K(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$244
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
OK Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Island(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bus Hostel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$213
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$559
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
88
139
110
43
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
139
110
43
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhale steakcity centregeothermal beachthe busbed roomcrackersbedside tableother guestsno liftpetrol stationcommunal kitchenexpensive countryhama nice place to stayporridgecleaned dailythe staff was friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I researched heavily places to stay in Iceland that wasn't horrendously expensive given the price of food/drink...
We came across The Capital Inn and decided that was the best option for us. It was reasonably priced. It looked like a good situation.
When we arrived at The Capital Inn we checked in on the Friday and were told there was a restaurant on site but it was shut until Monday, very surprised by this as it was over a weekend that the restaurant would be closed. Bit annoying as we had planned to eat there on the Friday night before going out on the Northern Lights tour, to ensure we had plenty of time. We had the use of the kitchen in the basement but food is still really expensive even in the supermarket. The receptionist did also tell us about a food court we could go to, but it wasn't great, we had pizza and even that was pricey at about £28 for 2 quarters of pizza, stromboli, 2 sticks of garlic bread and 2 drink refills.. The pizza was basically a bit like Domino's.
Our room itself was OK and fairly spacious. It was at the very top of the hotel and therefore nice and quiet. It had its own bathroom, a double bed on a mezzanine floor with a single bed underneath opposite the bathroom. It had a TV but we had no need to use it. The stairs from the bottom floor of our room up to the mezzanine floor were oscillating and pretty hazardous to climb being wood, steep and very narrow tread... Don't climb the stairs in socks!
Breakfast at the hotel was.. OK. It was included in the price of staying, but a bit limited. Considering it is made in Iceland, it was very disappointing not to see Skyr included. If you wanted Skyr you had to buy them at £210 for a small pot.
The hotel itself was situated on a busy highway but inside the hotel we weren't disturbed by the noise.. It was however, a bit far out of town for us, it was a good 20 minutes walk to the bus stop and in layers this wasn't that practical.
I don't think I would go back to The Capital Inn, it was nice enough inside but was too far from town.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room and it was large with a huge window. Shared bathroom facilities were very clean and a good size.
Breakfast was included which was simple but appreciative. Included bread, cereal, ham and cheese.
Staff was always super helpful - we kept going back to ask about the northern lights and they would tell us where to drive for the best chance.
It's located about a 5 min drive from the city so is a little far if you don't have your own transport.

Would definitely stay again when we come back to Iceland!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

For people only concerned about amenities, I'm a light sleeper and 2 things affected me here - road outside room, and thin walls. If you're easily affected by noise, you may want to choose another place. Could hear conversations of our neighbours and door-slamming at all hours.

The place is far from anything and is a little like a dorm, in that there's shared bathrooms (and not the kind with a few cubicles, but just One for each gender on each floor). Was fine with that, just that it gets inconvenient if you need to use them at certain times and it's occupied. You'd have to keep leaving your room to check if The bathroom was free. Ended up having to go to other floors to check as well.

Our room came equipped with a sink - light above the sink was spoilt but no issue for us since the room light was bright enough.

Breakfast provided that's quite standard - bread and spreads, cereal, etc. Dining area doubles up as 'restaurant' at night.

Here's where we had a problem. There's this elderly fellow who monitors movement in the dining area (next to reception) and has an abrupt manner. He'll ask for your room no. and might even sarcastically tell you you're taking too much food (??). I'm not sure why you would provide breakfast and then question people for taking said food? Read in other reviews (after we returned from the trip) that he was rude to others as well.

Extremely loutish, saying he knows it's in 'our culture' for..taking more than one plate? This happened the 2nd day and we had just dined at the 'restaurant' the night before. At first, we thought he recognized us and was joking with us. We were too shocked to react, otherwise, I would have told him off there and then. Our money would have been better spent at the Subway down the road (at petrol kiosk) where the service was better and we felt more welcome.

Conclusion: bad location, ok amenities, worst service of entire trip - would not stay again if you paid me.

Room Tip: Request for room away from the road, if you can. Unfortunately, you won't be able to avoid hearing doors slam through the thin walls.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Audrey_KWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Capital_Inn, Manager at The Capital-Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your review. First of all from all of us at Capital Inn please accept our apologies if the elderly fellow came across as a bit grumpy. He is in fact our chef. He has been working for Capital Inn for many years and we know he is getting a bit old now but we still love him. He in fact loves this guesthouse a lot and he treats it like his home. For some of our guests he is the best part of their experience at Capital Inn and for others his manner and humor might be a bit difficult to understand. He is very apologetic and sad about this. So if you come back again he will treat you to a nice meal on the house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

As a hostel this looks rather good, with a well appointed kitchen and hostel accommodation in the basement level. Breakfast is self-service and continental with cereals, toast and suchlike.
It has hotel rooms on the first and second floors. Ours had an extremely comfortable bed, a television (with three channels - a local channel, sky news and channel 4) a toilet and sink in a tiled room and a shower, situated just inside the door into the room. It was a strange arrangement of rooms but worked fine. The bathroom gained bonus points for having a shaving mirror but lost points for no hair-dryer, kettle, fridge or suchlike. Storage for clothes is a two-drawer cabinet and a couple of coat hangers on rack on the wall.
As with most places in Iceland during winter, the room was very warm and the bathroom had underfloor heating.
The downside was noise. The bedroom of our room was located directly above the stairwell, which has a very, very thin carpet. So anybody going up the stairs made an inordinate amount of noise. In addition, the hostel area must have a launderette and this could be heard from early morning until late at night.
it would take about an hour to walk to the city centre but the 18 bus stops a short walk away. in addition, it is a short walk to Perlan and a city-tour bus calls there every 30 minutes throughout the day. The tickets are valid for 24 hours, so that can be better value than the local busses (which require exact change only - you can pay for the tour bus with plastic).
inexpensive accommodation and not actually bad but very basic and too noisy when you've been out until the small hours star-gazing and just need to sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PackHorseUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

It has pretty much everything for a hostel and I like the common area, the big kitchen and individual bathrooms. I lived in a 4-people mixed dorm (there seems to be no dorms for a single gender) and it could be annoying at times as there is no curtain in the bed so there is bery little personal space. However, there is no locker provided and people in the common areas could make loud noise at night so the rooms are not really quiet. Also, its location is quite far from the city centre but there is a free shuttle bus from Kringlan shopping centre nearby to City Hall (though not frequent at all in winter). And for most local day tours, the travelling company would pick tourists up at the hostel so the inconvenient location does not really matter.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hoi Yung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews