We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tours! ”
Review of BusTravel Iceland

BusTravel Iceland
Ranked #3 of 38 Transportation in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bustravel Iceland is one of the oldest tourism companies in Iceland and carries that rich heritage on its shoulders in everything it does. Originally founded in 1960 under the name of Þingvallaleið (Thingvellir Route), the company was re-imagined in 2015 to take on the form it does today. This re-imagining brought with it an all new startup mentality to the tourism industry though while we have the attitude of a startup we maintain our deep roots and experience in the tourism industry. We bring a fresh outlook on sharing the unique qualities of Iceland with our customers. By thinking outside the box and going the extra mile for our customers, our team is able to provide great service at competitive rates. We are continually evaluating ourselves and our tours to ensure that we are offering our customers the most innovative and enjoyable experiences at the highest level of service.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My three friends and I used bus travel for the Golden Circle and South Coast tours. They were fantastic! The buses has free WiFi and some buses even has plug ins to charge phones. The tour guides were informative and humorous. They stopped for bathroom breaks and coffee about an hour or so into the tour. Each stop has bathrooms and places to get food as well. I would definitely recommend using this company!

2  Thank kcurtis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your kind words about the friendly customer service you received. We will be sure to pass along the compliments. We look forward to your return to Iceland for more memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bus travel"
in 152 reviews
"grand golden circle tour"
in 66 reviews
"glacier lagoon"
in 124 reviews
"southern iceland tour"
in 47 reviews
"special offer"
in 44 reviews
"tour guide"
in 165 reviews
"great tour"
in 80 reviews
"secret lagoon"
in 57 reviews
"small bus"
in 39 reviews
"airport pickup"
in 17 reviews
"afternoon tour"
in 19 reviews
"comfortable bus"
in 17 reviews
"northern lights"
in 100 reviews
"other companies"
in 42 reviews
"diamond beach"
in 17 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 21 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 44 reviews
Filter

425 - 429 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

I was very excited for this tour, but unfortunately it did not live up to my expectations at all. I would highly recommend skipping it in favor of other tours. We began by having to wait nearly 20 minutes at the beginning of the tour for a second tour guide to arrive. And this was only the beginning of all the waiting. We arrived at the first waterfall and were only given 20-25 minutes there (even though there is a hike behind the waterfall). I literally ran back to the bus to make it back on time, yet another family arrived 15 minutes late. Our tour guide did nothing. At the next waterfall, people again showed up late, and our tour guide did nothing. It is not fair to those of us who paid to go on the tour to have to continually wait for people who show up late and there be no consequences for those people. The 20-25 minutes we were allotted at each waterfall felt very rushed and it would have been nicer to have more time or at least be told that we could show up 15 minutes late without consequence. There were no ice/icebergs at the either of the main attractions - Glacier Lagoon or Diamond Beach. I get it - it's nature - but just like the Northern Lights tours are cancelled (and refunded) if you can't see them, this tour should be cancelled if there is no ice to be seen in the lagoon or on the beach. This tour also got back so late that many of us on the bus missed our northern lights tours for that night. If we hadn't been waiting on late people all day, we would have made it back in time. Avoid this tour; it's a waste of money.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Gisselle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The pick ups and drop offs were always on time. Very easy to book tours with them and their staff is really helpful and nice. They give goods tips regarding what is interesting in Iceland and offer to drop you off downtown if you change your mind during the day.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your kind words about the friendly customer service you received. We will be sure to pass along the compliments. We look forward to your return to Iceland for more memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Tour was fantastic (beautiful blue skies definitely help) and our tour guide Howser was great! Took us to a few spots that weren't on the agenda since we had time and they were amazing. Told of a lot of history, not only for the spot we were visiting, but also history of Iceland in general. Wonderful tour, highly recommended!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
7  Thank scottgreer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your kind words about the friendly customer service you received. We will be sure to pass along the compliments. We look forward to your return to Iceland for more memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We took two trips with Bus Travel Iceland, one to the Golden Circle and the other to the Northern Lights. Both trips were fantastic, the guides were friendly, funny and extremely knowledgeable. They really gave us a deeper insight into Iceland and it's beautiful scenery. Both trips ran like clockwork and were well organised, we really couldn't fault them and would highly recommend booking with them. The Golden Circle trip offered more locations than other tours and was a phenomenal experience, we saw Iceland at its truly rugged and raw finest. Our guide Artis was a real character and sang the Icelandic national anthem on the bus a capapella at one point...very talented lady. Our Northern Lights tour was incredible, we managed to hunt the lights down and watch their magical show play out in the elements. Our guide was lovely, she showed us how to photograph the lights and gave us some fascinating insights into Icelandic culture during the trip. The hot chocolate, doughnuts and shark nibbles (maybe not the latter) were a nice touch given how cold this experience was. Word of advice for this one though, wrap up folks you'll be out in the elements waiting for the lights! It will be well worth it though if you've got clear skies and those elusive solar winds on your side! Good luck hunters, hope you're as lucky as we were.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank hilarystephenson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your kind words about the friendly customer service you received. We will be sure to pass along the compliments. We look forward to your return to Iceland for more memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BusTravel Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to BusTravel Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing