We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My top fish place in Reykjavík ”
Review of Gallery Fiskur

Gallery Fiskur
Ranked #6 of 568 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Open for for lunch Monday to Friday and the whole day and dinner Tuesday to Saturday. The restaurant is closed on Sunday's.Gallery Fiskur is located next to the Arbaer open-air museum in Reykjavik and right by one of the main roads from the city center. It is an ideal stop when heading to or from the city or when visiting the Arbaer museum. The restaurant is easily accessible by public transport since several bus-lines stop at Artun close by, bus no 24 from Mjodd stops right out side.The restaurant serves fresh seafood, traditional Icelandic fish dishes and lamb dishes among vegetarian bake, soups and salad in a bright and welcoming dining room decorated with works of art from local Icelandic artists. The exhibitions in the dining room change regularly. In the Gallery Fiskur fish shop, which is located next door to the restaurant, you can buy fresh fish of the highest quality as well as freshly prepared seafood take-away.Whether you feel like stopping by for a quick lunch, want to enjoy a delicious Icelandic dinner or are looking for ingredients for a home-cooked meal, Gallery Fiskur offers a range of options at reasonable prices. Our mission is to always provide the best and most exquisite seafood - true to the Icelandic maritime traditions.
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

I come here regularly to get top fish food, it is a family run restaurant and atmosphere is so nice, it is a bit out of the center but I recommend this place for fish lovers

Thank Sturla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krist_fer_, Owner at Gallery Fiskur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Thank you for a good review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017

The pepper steak fish was nice - extremely salty though. My fish was raw in the middle so I had to send it back. There were no baked potatoes left so we had to have new potatoes or chips. Neither of these were nice because they tasted like vinegar. My new potatoes were also undercooked. My son had lamb steak - he said it was nice but the vegetables were undercooked and tasted of vinegar.
Service was nice.
I was really looking forward to baked potato so I was disappointed about the fact they had run out.
Prices are high but this is the same all over Iceland

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank delilahbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krist_fer_, Owner at Gallery Fiskur, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Our dinner at this very nice, local spot was a real treat. The "15 year recipe for halibut" lamb and monkfish combo, as well as Monday fish were each fantastic; langoustine bisque was good. Very comfortable atmosphere, the room was visually pleasing, background music very nice. Our server was very good - polite, attentive and efficient. This is a hidden gem.

Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krist_fer_, Owner at Gallery Fiskur, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for a good review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Gallery Fiskur was recommended to us by our guesthouse host at the Minna Mosfell guesthouse. The restaurant was quiet and away from the main tourists areas, only found due to recommendation. The service was friendly and unobtrusive and the food was amazing, we had to go twice (may have been more of we'd stayed longer).

All the food was fantastic and above all expectations, particularly for what we paid, but would definitely recommend the halibut pepper steak.

Thank SW_LH_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krist_fer_, Owner at Gallery Fiskur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

I sincerely thank you for your good review. Welcome back any time. Except Sunday then we are closed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Gallery Fiskur is only 5 km away from touristy and overpriced center of Reykjavik. Excellent seafood restaurant. It has it all: tasty meals made from fresh ingredients, decent size portions, cozy atmosphere, reasonable for Iceland prices and super friendly staff. My husband ordered famous Halibut Pepper Steak - yummy! Highly recommend! I had haddock - delicious as well. Even our son who is a picky eater ate his fish. Chief came out to greet us and check if everything is fine. I must say - one of the best dinners we had during our stay in Iceland.

Thank kolibribird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krist_fer_, Owner at Gallery Fiskur, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Well thank you so much for your good review. Hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gallery Fiskur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gallery Fiskur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing