We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining and exceedingly friendly staff”
Review of Hofnin

Hofnin
Ranked #26 of 516 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Hofnin has a beautiful seaside view overlooking the harbour.
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

When we walked in the restaurant, we were greeted tremendously by the owner, who was able to find time on a busy night for us to eat. The soup of the day was great, and our main courses were pretty good as well. The restaurant was intimate and conveyed a sense of family. Nice views of the harbor as well. Overall a satisfactory meal.

Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSigurdar17, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciated. Great to hear that you liked the restaurant and were satisfied with the meals. We hope your stay in Iceland was enjoyable and welcome back. The Höfnin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Best restaurant we visited in Reykjavik. Right on the harbor so view was superb. Very small seating area so reservations a must. Food was very good, and all well prepared. Service was superb and made us feel right at home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScottyP1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSigurdar17, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Great to hear, we like to be the best restaurant on everybody visit ! We are happy you liked the food and the service and that you felt at home - mission accomplished. We hope your stay in Iceland was nice and you had a good time.
The Höfnin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We made reservations a day on advance and asked for a window seat. When we arrived at 9:00... (closes at 10) we were told they had one upstairs ready..we excitedly waited and then were told they didn't have one anymore. We looked upstairs and it was empty. They seated us in the busy middle of a crowded room right next to the kitchen and were no longer willing to work with us. The host seemed to be in a hurry to head home. This is a more expensive restaurant where you pay a lot for the atmosphere so we ended up leaving. Very disappointed.

Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We were a party of four at a window table for dinner. The shellfish stew, haddock, trout, and warm chocolate cake were wonderful. The chef and staff work very hard and are excellent.

Thank samuel755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSigurdar17, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Great to hear that everyone liked their meals. We love to cook and to serve and to read good comments about us :) Thank you very much for posting the review. We hope your Iceland trip was a very nice one and welcome back.
The Höfnin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We had spent about a week in Iceland before visiting Hofnin. So far the food and service at other places had been disappointing to say the least. However, after finding Hofnin our trip had taken a lovely turn. Despite the chilly weather we decided to sit outside to enjoy the lovely view of the harbor. We were greeted very pleasantly by the staff who gladly took our drink orders. The drinks were outstanding, our favorite was "the drink with no name" and the grasshopper. The food was spectacular! Two people in our party got the fixed menu both times we come to the restaurant. (Yes, I said both.) The fixed menu was absolutely wonderful! Best reindeer, shellfish soup, and lamb I had in Iceland!! Highly highly recommend any of those dishes! Also the desert was wonderful and everything complemented each other perfectly!
We visited the restaurant three days before we left Iceland and then the day right before our departure. Both times we had a fun and warm interaction with the staff. We were joking around and have all sorts of laughs. The staff made you feel very welcome and at home. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is visiting Iceland! Although, you might want to make a reservation incase they are busy!

Thank Casey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHSigurdar17, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you very much for this great review, it's very rewarding to read. We are happy that you like the food had such a happy time that you decided to have dinner with us twice. Our staff is very friendly and they like to serve the customers. We hope your stay in Iceland was good and welcome back.
The Höfnin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hofnin also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hofnin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing