We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$441
US$399
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$365
US$355
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Island(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OK Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$397
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$451
US$393
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$307
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
22 Hill Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$185
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
445
308
98
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
308
98
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuit factorybed dormfree earplugsbathrooms and showersbar downstairscool barcommon areassun voyagerbook toursshared bathroomblackout curtainsthe main streethappy hourhipsterbackpackersbunklock
Filter
Updating list...
684 - 689 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Four of us shared a room in this very central hostel. The room itself was very clean and had a wonderful view over the bay. There were several shared bathrooms to choose from on the floor which were always clean and had lots of toiletries for use left by previous guests. The only problem for me was that they were almost all communal showers is testing the prude Britishness! (although the chance of having to share was almost nil when I stayed). Each floor had a gigantic shared kitchen to make use of although we didn't take advantage of this.

We did however pay extra for the breakfast which I found had plenty of choice, from local Icelandic biscuits, yoghurtys and preserves to fresh fruit, cereals, fresh tasty bread and meats as well as cheeses. We ate in the hostel the first night, the food was of a high quality but the portion size was not very large and the price in comparison to meals we found on later evenings was relatively high.

The atmosphere in the hostel is very relaxed and quite kooky with lots of live entertainment in the evening. It is located about a five minutes walk away from the main street and has a handy 24/7 shop just behind it for any odd bits of food you may want to buy. The staff did give advise when asked and provided maps.

Overall we enjoyed our stay although it isn't quite your standard budget hostel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ditzyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Amazing hostel! Recommended by a friend who stayed here in 2011 and he said I would never forget this place and I never will. Friendly staff, great bar, excellent breakfast and restaurant, atmospheric and a place that's nice to spend time. Bathrooms are the cleanest I've ever encountered in a hostel. Decor is similar to the Drake and Gladstone Hotels in Toronto. I will forever and always recommended this place to anybody visiting Reykjavik. Simply the BEST!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erikvoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Overall I thought this was a great hostel with a fun atmosphere, friendly staff, good location and clean and comfortable accommodations. There were several private showers and bathrooms, and the kitchen had everything we needed. The housekeeping staff did a great job of keeping everything clean. The bar was fun, it was a great place to hang out and the beer was tasty. I liked that the hostel had lots of comfy areas to hang out. The location was great, not far from downtown and right across from a walking path on the water with a wonderful view. We stayed in the 16 bed dorm room which was noisy and a bit chaotic, but that was to be expected. My only complaints are that the lockers were a bit on the narrow side and you needed to purchase the lock, and the door to the room was quite loud when it closed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portsmouth_yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The basic story of this place is this: It's unquestionably beautiful and well designed. However, the service seemed stuck up and at the end of the day it's still a hostel. In my opinion I'd go here, take some pictures, meet up with some friends and head somewhere else to actually sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cclemens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Reykjavik is a beautiful city (find me a place in Iceland that isn't!) and Kex is located fairly centrally within it.

The hostel lobby area is also open to the public as a bar, which encourages a party style atmosphere (which can be noisy if the partiers continue the celebrations in the dorm hallways). The reception area is quite nice with interesting furniture and decor - staff seem reasonably well informed about things to do.

Beds were comfortable and the (communal) showers had good pressure and loads of piping hot water. Kitchen was well equipped. Lots of public space to meet other travelers.

My room was a wee bit noisy because it was located just above the front door (where taxis were dropping people off all night and the door closes very loudly).

Lockers that lock (or that I could put my own padlock on) would be a plus.

Room Tip: Avoid anything directly over the front door
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews