We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've stayed in”
Review of Kex Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kex Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We got off a red eye flight to Iceland and went straight to Kex. Check in was a breeze and within a few minutes was enjoying a hot coffee and traditional Icelandic breakfast. It gave me the energy to go out and explore before our rooms were ready at 14:00. Great location with beautiful views of the water. Easy walking distance tithe city center. Also a popular local hangout. The place was packed during the Euro semi-final lending the hostel a very authentic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlleyLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
There are newer reviews for Kex Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 620 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

Four of us shared a room in this very central hostel. The room itself was very clean and had a wonderful view over the bay. There were several shared bathrooms to choose from on the floor which were always clean and had lots of toiletries for use left by previous guests. The only problem for me was that they were almost all communal showers is testing the prude Britishness! (although the chance of having to share was almost nil when I stayed). Each floor had a gigantic shared kitchen to make use of although we didn't take advantage of this.

We did however pay extra for the breakfast which I found had plenty of choice, from local Icelandic biscuits, yoghurtys and preserves to fresh fruit, cereals, fresh tasty bread and meats as well as cheeses. We ate in the hostel the first night, the food was of a high quality but the portion size was not very large and the price in comparison to meals we found on later evenings was relatively high.

The atmosphere in the hostel is very relaxed and quite kooky with lots of live entertainment in the evening. It is located about a five minutes walk away from the main street and has a handy 24/7 shop just behind it for any odd bits of food you may want to buy. The staff did give advise when asked and provided maps.

Overall we enjoyed our stay although it isn't quite your standard budget hostel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ditzyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Amazing hostel! Recommended by a friend who stayed here in 2011 and he said I would never forget this place and I never will. Friendly staff, great bar, excellent breakfast and restaurant, atmospheric and a place that's nice to spend time. Bathrooms are the cleanest I've ever encountered in a hostel. Decor is similar to the Drake and Gladstone Hotels in Toronto. I will forever and always recommended this place to anybody visiting Reykjavik. Simply the BEST!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erikvoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Overall I thought this was a great hostel with a fun atmosphere, friendly staff, good location and clean and comfortable accommodations. There were several private showers and bathrooms, and the kitchen had everything we needed. The housekeeping staff did a great job of keeping everything clean. The bar was fun, it was a great place to hang out and the beer was tasty. I liked that the hostel had lots of comfy areas to hang out. The location was great, not far from downtown and right across from a walking path on the water with a wonderful view. We stayed in the 16 bed dorm room which was noisy and a bit chaotic, but that was to be expected. My only complaints are that the lockers were a bit on the narrow side and you needed to purchase the lock, and the door to the room was quite loud when it closed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portsmouth_yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The basic story of this place is this: It's unquestionably beautiful and well designed. However, the service seemed stuck up and at the end of the day it's still a hostel. In my opinion I'd go here, take some pictures, meet up with some friends and head somewhere else to actually sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cclemens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#4 of 109 in Reykjavik
402 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 109 in Reykjavik
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kex Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kex Hostel

Address: Skulagata 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: RM289 - RM868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It' s the Icelandic word for "biscuit" and a social hostel in Reykjavik. What's not to love? Housed in an old biscuit factory in the heart of Reykjavik, KEX is just steps from all the bars, clubs, and music venues that give this city its legendary reputation. It's also a painless distance from late night munchies and a mind-boggling array of coffee houses, shops, and tourist attractions. Of course, you might not even want to venture outside of the hostel with all its features: a cafe and bar, lounge area, heated outdoor patio, tourist information desk, laundry room, and free Wi-Fi. Two guest kitchenettes and private laundry facilities are also available. And with a variety of rooms for up to 214 guests, you'll have no problem meeting interesting, new travel buddies from exotic places. KEX oozes with personality and soul-just like our guests. Every piece of decor has a story to tell. Using salvaged materials and found objects from various sources, KEX is an organic concept blending Iceland' s past with a modern, international twist. The raw industrial spaces and vintage furnishings combine to give it a homey, eclectic feel. With the affordable nightly rates, you'll still have enough cash left over to enjoy a few pints of Viking beer or sample some local delicacies like hakarl and Brennivin. In addition to our dormitory rooms we offer three different double rooms: 1. Double Plus - 1 double bed, 1 private bathroom, linens and towels, and 1 fantastic seaside view. 2. Double Standard - 1 double bed (of the most clever convertible design in case you get tired of being so close to your travel partner), shared bathrooms, linens and towels, and if you are lucky the same fantastic view. 3. Twin - 2 single beds, linens and towels, and a better than average chance of making your friends back home quite jealous indeed. LOCATION: KEX is located in the center of Reykjavik, with a view across the sea to Mt. Esja across the bay. The old factory that houses KEX is also home to The Living Art Museum and studios of various artists, dancers, and fashion designers. KEX is within an easy walking distance to the city's interesting nightlife, restaurants, shopping streets, cultural attractions, and other points of interest in the city center. To reach those places a little further afield, the hostel is well connected to the city's public bus system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kex Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kex Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing