We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hostel, quite loud and crowded though”
Review of Kex Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kex Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

If you like a quiet small hostel this is not for you, if you like a really cool lovely hostel this is def for you. I enjoyed my stay very much and the staff was more than helpful with everything.
The burger they serve at the bar is one of the best i had in town.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Firas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
There are newer reviews for Kex Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 159 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2016

KEX is an ideally located bohemian haven. The decor is just as quirky/splendid as the staff :-P

In the lounge/dining area at KEX I never lacked for friendly conversation resplendent with ideas of things to do, places to see and how to save money adventuring Iceland. For example I learned of the carpooling website: samferda while lounging in the common area which, in the end, saved me a few bob!

The rich mix of guests was phenomenal - I met people from Finland, Japan, New Zealand, Taiwan and North America (to mention a few). Having said that, there was a heavy USA presence (which in itself is not a bad thing). Conversation came easy, smiles and laughter were commonplace and the quality of ideas to make for adventure were stellar.

I attended with my own padlock and had a locker in my bedroom (a 16 bedder!) that it fit snugly on. Some of the Icelandic culture must have infused into all our souls because we were ALL respectful of each other (late arrivers whispering and using their mobile phones for lights for example). I'm not sure this is always the norm, but this is what I experienced.

The food at KEX was exceedingly good though a tad pricey. Should you pay for the breakfast buffet the evening before, however, it comes at a considerable reduction. In addition, as it's a buffet, you can easily make yourself a packed lunch from it (a sandwich and so on) - food fuel for any adventures planned in the ensuing hours after breakfast!

I wholeheartedly recommend KEX to springboard your Iceland adventure :-D

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Victor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed for a night. The hostel part is on the third floor, with clean bathroom and comfortable bed. The bar and restaurant on the second floor, where you will check in for the hostel. Food and drink are good. Lots of people when I was there, felt like Party!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Chon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I travelled to Reykjavik with 9 friends and we stayed for 3 nights at Kex. It is a very well decorated hostel with a great bar and restaurant and is very close to everything. It is more pricy than the average European hostel, but everything in Iceland is more expensive so that don't surprise me. I do wish that some of the cost to the travelers went to keeping the dorms in better condition. The mattresses are really thin and the frames are so squeaky that you can hear every movement from your bunk mate. The dorms and bathrooms are also pretty grimy. The common areas and bar are in such good shape that it is a bit deceiving about what kind of state the beds and dorms will be in. I wish Kex would invest in getting new mattresses or frames and cleaning the dorms and bathrooms better. It would be a rad hostel if they just improved those areas.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ElissaDido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

My first hostel stay at 30 years old back in Aug 2015. It was so comfortable/clean/welcoming that i've predominantly used hostels since.

Helpful staff. Well priced. Super comfy beds. Great beer garden/deck and very cool bar to hand out in - for these reasons I will always recommend Kex.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Rooms are basically all the same, however Northern Europeans they love to crank the heating. I alway...
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Talia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 53 in Reykjavik
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#4 of 109 in Reykjavik
402 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 109 in Reykjavik
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kex Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kex Hostel

Address: Skulagata 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: RM289 - RM864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It' s the Icelandic word for "biscuit" and a social hostel in Reykjavik. What's not to love? Housed in an old biscuit factory in the heart of Reykjavik, KEX is just steps from all the bars, clubs, and music venues that give this city its legendary reputation. It's also a painless distance from late night munchies and a mind-boggling array of coffee houses, shops, and tourist attractions. Of course, you might not even want to venture outside of the hostel with all its features: a cafe and bar, lounge area, heated outdoor patio, tourist information desk, laundry room, and free Wi-Fi. Two guest kitchenettes and private laundry facilities are also available. And with a variety of rooms for up to 214 guests, you'll have no problem meeting interesting, new travel buddies from exotic places. KEX oozes with personality and soul-just like our guests. Every piece of decor has a story to tell. Using salvaged materials and found objects from various sources, KEX is an organic concept blending Iceland' s past with a modern, international twist. The raw industrial spaces and vintage furnishings combine to give it a homey, eclectic feel. With the affordable nightly rates, you'll still have enough cash left over to enjoy a few pints of Viking beer or sample some local delicacies like hakarl and Brennivin. In addition to our dormitory rooms we offer three different double rooms: 1. Double Plus - 1 double bed, 1 private bathroom, linens and towels, and 1 fantastic seaside view. 2. Double Standard - 1 double bed (of the most clever convertible design in case you get tired of being so close to your travel partner), shared bathrooms, linens and towels, and if you are lucky the same fantastic view. 3. Twin - 2 single beds, linens and towels, and a better than average chance of making your friends back home quite jealous indeed. LOCATION: KEX is located in the center of Reykjavik, with a view across the sea to Mt. Esja across the bay. The old factory that houses KEX is also home to The Living Art Museum and studios of various artists, dancers, and fashion designers. KEX is within an easy walking distance to the city's interesting nightlife, restaurants, shopping streets, cultural attractions, and other points of interest in the city center. To reach those places a little further afield, the hostel is well connected to the city's public bus system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kex Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kex Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing