We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Budget-Friendly Hotel in Awesome Location”
Review of CenterHotel Klopp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CenterHotel Klopp
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good, Budget-Friendly Hotel in Awesome Location”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the CenterHotel Klopp for two nights in November 2011. The hotel was part of a vacation package that we booked through Icelandair.

The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of many sites and restaurants. The guestrooms are a nice size, but the bathrooms are a bit on the small size (see pictures). The breakfast was decent - breads, pastries, salads, cheeses, etc. The staff were really friendly and accommodating.

Overall, I have no major complaints, but outside noise was definitely an issue one night. Our room was on the second floor, so maybe a higher floor would be less prone to street noise.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QTPyePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    379
    180
    42
    30
See reviews for
104
405
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a perfectly acceptable and clean hotel in the center of town. Excellent location and very reasonably priced. The rooms are small but functional and there is an early check-in option that is well worth it for transatlantic travelers arriving early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukas1west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moret-sur-Loing, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

You know those hotels that charge you for EVERYTHING? Well this is it!

To be fair, the hotel is really cheap, compared to others around the center of the city. But I don't know why do they have to charge for every single bit. I have lived in the region before, and usually they're open for stuff if it is possible, but this one no.

They'd charge you for early check in, late check out, or even to bring your breakfast out (it's just bread cheese and ham anyway). They do understand that most of their international clients fly out early morning or late night (to the States or Continental Europe), and the best thing they could do is help around this.

The rooms are tiny, and not so well kept. Nothing on TV and sometimes the internet does not work. But you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vodkacran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

There were 5 of us staying in 3 different rooms at this hotel. All of us had to request different rooms then originally assigned. The room I was given was already occupied, another room smelled really really bad and the other room was really really tiny. We checked in at different times and didn't know the problems the others encountered until we met later that day. Why can't they just give you a decent room to start with? We were there mid-week, off season and they had plenty of rooms. The showers are tiny with a curtain that is dated and old and tends to wrap around you when you shower. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms had mini refrigerators and hot water pots to make coffee/tea. The breakfast selection was ok, typical selection. The hotel location provides is right around the corner from main shopping, restaurants, bars, etc. The hotel staff was a bit surly. We weren't there on the weekend, but we were told some of the rooms are subject to street noise/party goers on Friday and Saturday nights. I would probably stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room BEFORE you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Overall, Centerhotel Klopp was fine. Our stay there started out a bit rocky as our flight into Keflavik arrived at 6:30AM and we made it to the hotel at about 8AM. Although we had emailed to request early check-in (we never heard back from the hotel), there were no rooms available for us. As it was 8AM on a Sunday, nothing in downtown Reykjavik was open, so we ended up sitting in the lobby until ~11AM when they were able to provide us a room. In retrospect, as they were booked up and there simply weren't rooms available, I don't think there's anything more they could have done in the moment; however, I wish they would have emailed me back to let me know that we were NOT going to be able to check in early...

In any case, once we got our room, everything went smoothly with the hotel. We stayed there five nights and had no issues with noise (we were on the fifth floor), cleanliness, or the staff. The room was small, but we expected that based on prior reviews. It was clean and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job of quickly cleaning it every day. The breakfast was fine - typical European breads, cold cuts, fruit, cereal, coffee. The staff was helpful in terms of assisting with booking tours, our bus back to the airport, and with answering basic questions.

Finally, the location was great! We were within minutes of numerous restaurants, shops, and attractions.

Overall, despite the painfulness associated with not being able to check in early on the first day (and particularly with them not having replied to my email to let us know that WASN'T an option), we were pretty happy with Centerhotel Klopp.

Room Tip: Our room on the fifth floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbricha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
0.1 km away
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
563 reviews
0.5 km away
Fosshotel Baron
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,612 reviews
0.8 km away
Centerhotel Midgardur
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,605 reviews
0.8 km away
Fosshotel Lind
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
905 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Klopp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Klopp

Property: CenterHotel Klopp
Address: Klapparstigur 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price range (per night): RM675 - RM1,384
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Klopp 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Klopp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Klopp Reykjavík
Centerhotel Klopp Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing