We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So... So”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

This hostel is in a good location. It's walking distance to the bus station, attractions and pick up sites fir tours. The breakfast is good and it's 12-15$ if I remember correctly but the rooms and bathrooms needs plenty of TLC. Some of the bathrooms were not clean at all and the rooms are very small.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-RHV, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Anin A.,
Thank you for your review . We are happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hostel and the good deal of our breakfast (12€).
We continue our program of extended renovation to improve the comfort of the bathrooms and rooms.
Warm regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

The room was sparse, but it is one of the cheaper accommodations in Reykjavik. The receptionist there is kind, helpful and patient. Unfortunately, my wife had a very unpleasant experience with the cleaner on the penultimate day of our stay in Reykjavik. The kitchen is open for guests, from 7a.m. -10p.m. Around brunch time, my wife went down to make something to eat in the kitchen. As she saw the cleaner, she said "Hallo", to her. However, as she was placing her items for brunch, the cleaning lady came in and stared at her, then stated that she required her to leave the kitchen 20 minutes. She was abrupt and spoke loudly. So, my wife agreed straightaway with her to try to do so, but she couldn't guarantee 100% that she would have finished eating by then. Then the cleaning lady stared at her even more and repeated many times that she "must" leave the kitchen within 20 minutes. She spent several minutes repeating this quite loudly, to which she agreed that she would try her best to leave as she told me to. However, this was not good enough for her and she further repeated many times that she must leave in 20 minutes so she could clean it. Through her repeated commands to leave in 20 minutes, she was making it hard for her to eat breakfast, so she had to terminate this unpleasant exchange and start brunch, otherwise the 20 minutes would be wasted any way.

The cleaner's behaviour disturbed my wife very much and she refused to give her name and ordered my wife to go to the reception to complain. The cleaner then mocked my wife and called her crazy.

It is unacceptable for hostel staff to speak in such a threatening and intimidating way to guests and even more shocking that the cleaner of this hostel felt that it was acceptable to abuse/mock people with mental illness. If you have ever had times when you or a friend or relative have suffered from a period of mental illness please avoid this hostel. There are many other places in Reykjavik with more friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so people with more luggage should consider staying on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-RHV, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Martin L.,
Thank you for your review and for pointing out your satisfaction about the room and the reception. About the trouble you had with the housekeeper, I present you again our sincerest apologies for the incident. Like I told you before, we do not accept this kind of behavior and we took the appropriate measure with this staff member so it will not happen again. I hope that you get my email where I give you more details.
Warm regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Our room was in a different building - a few minutes by foot from the reception. Very good location close to the city center and Hallgrinskirkja church. Everything was clean besides the shower which was kind of grose... this building has several floor, each of them has its own kitchen (our was well equipped) and a bathroom. Our room was in the basement, it was large enough, furnished by Ikea :)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeannieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-RHV, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Jeannieee,
Thank you for your review and for pointing out our good location and the cleaning of the rooms. The bathrooms are cleaned a couple of times per day but they are shared with other travelers. We´ll keep an eye on that. We are also happy to read that you´ve enjoyed the kitchen and the equipment. We hope to welcome you a next time if you´re back in Reykjavik.
Warm regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The hostel is well situate, close to Hallgrímskirkja and not very far from the harbour. Apartment was spacious, but in terrible condition. Kitchen and bathroom cleanliness was average, no blinds for the windows (no dark nights in Iceland in summer)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank micvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-RHV, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear micvdh,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for pointing out our good prices and location. Apartment is the next on our list for some upgrade and renovation. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you a next time.
Warm regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Great family friendly, quiet hostel.
I stayed with a friend in a twin room on the second floor of the main building.
The room was cosy but did contain a small wardrobe, desk, bar/mini fridge & sink/hand basin. There was a bathroom located on each floor & fortunately they were not busy when we were there so there was never a wait. The bathrooms were clean and there was no problem with hot water.
The receptionists were friendly and helpful in recommending things to do/see & where to eat.
There is a communal eating area downstairs to serves a continental breakfast (cold meat, cheese, tomatoes, bread, pastries & cereal with hot drinks). However it didn't appear to be open outside breakfast serving times, so there was no other communal area to sit.

Great location for airport/blue lagoon bus pick-up, easy walk to the cathedral &/or centre of town. Some indoor thermal pools also located nearby.

Would recommend for those looking for a quiet & affordable hostel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-RHV, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Travelling_Bilbury,
Thank you for your detailed review. Our team is glad to know that you had a good time with us and we hope to welcome you a next time.
Warm regards,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Oddsson Hostel
#14 of 110 in Reykjavik
137 reviews
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
#18 of 110 in Reykjavik
313 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bus Hostel
#10 of 110 in Reykjavik
369 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#5 of 110 in Reykjavik
425 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#3 of 110 in Reykjavik
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: RM 164 - RM 899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel located downtown, in the heart of Reykjavik, at a walkable distance from the main shopping street, from all touristic attractions and places of interest. The 45 rooms are set across 3 residential houses and offer all kind of amenities for a comfortable and convenient stay. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 6 min walk from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 12 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing