We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$290
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$306
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OK Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$371
US$358
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$440/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$329
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
22 Hill Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
US$307
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,235)
Filter reviews
1,235 results
Traveller rating
514
465
186
50
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
514
465
186
50
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel hostelfemale dormbus stationtop bunkbed dormcommon areasthe main streetbar downstairsenjoyed my stayhappy hourstayed nightsblackout curtainsthe location is perfectdowntown reykjavikbedsfloorbackpackers
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 1,235 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Hlemmur Square Hostel stay 30.8.17-6.9.17 - fantastic stay!!

Great hostel, great staff -very friendly, polite and extremely helpful. Can book all excursions/ tours at reception. Shared dormitory rooms are very spacious and have under bed lockers - more than enough space to fit a hand luggage suitcase in. Please note: don't forget to bring a padlock for the locker.
Hostel reception provides towel for rent and deposit and the hostel provides free use of a hair dryer.
Bus number 10 is right outside the hostel. Location is very convenient and a stones throw from all the bars / clubs on 'Laugavegur', 'Bankastraeti' and 'Austurstraeti' streets.
Please note: everything in Iceland is between two and a half times and four times the price you would pay in the UK for soft drinks to food both in restaurants and supermarkets.
Overall my experience and stay was great and I would score the hostel a 10/10.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

When you find yourself right in the middle of town in a country that's a bit expensive (relatively), then you need a bar that has a Happy Hour... this is it. Pleasant bar-staff too and the beer's not bad either. Good place to meet and swap stories.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BigNeil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

This hostel is clean, peaceful for sleeping, spacious, and the management was incredibly kind.

Thank you, Hlemmur Square, for helping me get my laptop +passport back in time to catch my Keflavik flight! I will stay with you next time.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Stayed in a room with a King bed and private bathroom. We had a private balcony as well with a great view of the water. The hotel is in a convenient location with lots of parking options close by. There is a super handy grocery store across the street, and the trendy shops and restaurants are a close walk away. The customer service was good. We did not eat at the restaurant or indulge at the bar but the ambiance was lovely. There was free Wi-Fi in our room and in the common areas as well, and we had access to daily housekeeping. There are also floors/rooms that operate more like a hostel than hotel but we did not have any exposure to those areas.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Hlemmur Square is a cute and quirky hostel located just outside the core downtown of Reykjavik. Its location can't be beat - you can walk anywhere downtown in under 20 minutes. I was really impressed by the cleanliness and comfort of the hostel bed (read: starched white sheets and fluffy duvet) and facilities. The staff were friendly enough, and I would definitely stay here again.

Tips: Most evenings, the hostel restaurant Pulsa offers a special Square meal from 6-7pm for only 1100 ISK, which is half the price of a regular dinner anywhere else in town. We had the leg of lamb and roast potatoes on Tuesday night, and it was delicious. The front counter also offers free luggage storage as well!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Allison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews