We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hlemmur Square Hostel (not hotel)”
Review of Hlemmur Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hlemmur Square
Reviewed 8 October 2017

First of: Hlemmur Square Hostel has amazing showers and it was very clean. The location is great and you can walk anywhere in no time.
They have a great bar on the ground floor and you can book different daytrips at reception.
The staff answers all your questions but you have to ask. Not all of them were friendly while answering and they came a bit short on personal recommendations but if you already knew what you wanted to see or do, they always helped out with directions. It was also not so easy to meet other travelers outside your dorm because there were no group activities.
I enjoyed my stay anyways and I'd recommend the hostel for everyone who is looking for a nice and clean place to stay while exploring Iceland.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Natasha0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Hlemmur Square Hostel stay 30.8.17-6.9.17 - fantastic stay!!

Great hostel, great staff -very friendly, polite and extremely helpful. Can book all excursions/ tours at reception. Shared dormitory rooms are very spacious and have under bed lockers - more than enough space to fit a hand luggage suitcase in. Please note: don't forget to bring a padlock for the locker.
Hostel reception provides towel for rent and deposit and the hostel provides free use of a hair dryer.
Bus number 10 is right outside the hostel. Location is very convenient and a stones throw from all the bars / clubs on 'Laugavegur', 'Bankastraeti' and 'Austurstraeti' streets.
Please note: everything in Iceland is between two and a half times and four times the price you would pay in the UK for soft drinks to food both in restaurants and supermarkets.
Overall my experience and stay was great and I would score the hostel a 10/10.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

When you find yourself right in the middle of town in a country that's a bit expensive (relatively), then you need a bar that has a Happy Hour... this is it. Pleasant bar-staff too and the beer's not bad either. Good place to meet and swap stories.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BigNeil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

This hostel is clean, peaceful for sleeping, spacious, and the management was incredibly kind.

Thank you, Hlemmur Square, for helping me get my laptop +passport back in time to catch my Keflavik flight! I will stay with you next time.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Stayed in a room with a King bed and private bathroom. We had a private balcony as well with a great view of the water. The hotel is in a convenient location with lots of parking options close by. There is a super handy grocery store across the street, and the trendy shops and restaurants are a close walk away. The customer service was good. We did not eat at the restaurant or indulge at the bar but the ambiance was lovely. There was free Wi-Fi in our room and in the common areas as well, and we had access to daily housekeeping. There are also floors/rooms that operate more like a hostel than hotel but we did not have any exposure to those areas.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,835 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#2 of 110 in Reykjavik
488 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#5 of 110 in Reykjavik
413 reviews
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
#18 of 110 in Reykjavik
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlemmur Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlemmur Square

Address: Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: RM229 - RM1,507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hlemmur Square 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel and Social Hostel with cafe, bar, restaurant and tourist information office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hlemmur Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing