We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay in the city.”
Review of Bus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bus Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

If you're goal is to stay in downtown Reykjavik and spend your time in the city, this isn't a BAD location, but it's not the best. If you're goal is to spend a few days here and then venture out into the rest of the country, or take a few bus tours, this spot it PERFECT. Better yet, rent a car and use this as a home base.

Parking in the surrounding area is plentiful, but there isn't much else within a short walk. A small supermarket provides cheaper food than most restaurants, which is ideal when you have a kitchen at your disposal. The cafe in the lobby has sandwiches and other small fare.

The prices are some of the most reasonable in the city, and with clean, well-maintained bedrooms and bathrooms, Bus Hostel provides a great opportunity to shake of the jet lag and freshen up after that flight. Bring your sleeping bag or rent a duvet for 1000 krona. The lockers in the rooms provide a safe place to leave valuables, but they are only big enough for a backpack and not much more. Keys are found at the desk with a deposit or leave your ID for collateral.

The spacious lobby is full of couches and chairs perfect to bunker down in if the weather turns and those afternoon plans no longer sound as appealing as they had the night before. This is also a great hangout spot to meet other travelers and spend you night once you get back in. With free WiFi and plenty of power outlets, open your laptop and upload those photos of the northern lights.

Staff is helpful, welcoming, and accommodating to first-time visitors. They are willing to recommend any tours or sights for the traveler coming without specific plans and need a little advice.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

I booked to stay in Bus Hostel and I am very glad I did so. The Hostel is very close to the city centre (10 minute walk) and it is kept to a very high standard. The rooms were big, clean and the beds were very comfy. The main lounge area is cosy and has plenty of seating and great free wifi. I was able to try some Icelandic beer from the bar in the main lounge also. The staff were so friendly and helped me when I had issues with organising my tours. Yes, the bed linen is provided but at an additional cost so make sure to bring your own sleeping bag. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a very well priced stay in Reykjavik! 10/10

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LMaciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Great and wonderful friendly place to be. Love the atmosphere in it. They have a wonderful customer service and recommend great tours. BusTravel Iceland was a wonderful company to work with as well and not only was their office right behind the house.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bustravel-Iceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We were accommodated in a room of 4 and we were 3. The room is big with 2 bunk beds and a locker(1000 krones) in deposit if you need it. The bathroom is across the hall and right in front of the room, both bathroom and room extremely clean. Bring your own toiletries. If you need a duvet it's 1000 kronas and a towel is 500 kronas. There is plenty space in the parking lot. There is pretty size kitchen on premises where you can heat your food. Breakfast is also offered at additional charge. Everything in Iceland is very expensive (food and clothing) try not to forget anything at home.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mayra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

I was only in Iceland for about 24 hours between flights and was very impressed with this hostel. It’s a quick walk to the bus terminal that has airport connections and about a 15 minute walk into the city center. The bed was the comfiest hostel bed I’ve ever slept in, the rooms large and spacious with many bathrooms, a good kitchen area, and large, stylish lounge area. The staff is kind and helpful. Of course it’s expensive, but that’s just Iceland. Compared to other places nearby it’s really well priced. I’d stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kaurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,173 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#3 of 110 in Reykjavik
493 reviews
Oddsson Hostel
#14 of 110 in Reykjavik
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
#19 of 110 in Reykjavik
313 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#5 of 110 in Reykjavik
425 reviews
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 110 in Reykjavik
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bus Hostel

Address: Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: RM 179 - RM 905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bus Hostel. We offer a relaxed and inviting environment for the budget-conscious traveler. Our dorms are simple, bright and comfortable ranging from 4 to 24 bed rooms as well as more private room options. The dorms are sleeping bag accommodation, however our private rooms come complete with duvets and towels. Additionally, all of our rooms and common areas have access to our free wifi.Our spacious bathrooms all come with private showers. You can relax in our lounge which is complete with a small bar. The bar has excellent happy hour prices and a very reasonably priced breakfast. Or you can prepare your meal in one of our two fully equipped kitchens. We are happy to help you plan your trip in Iceland. The front desk is open 24/7, and our friendly staff are more than happy to help you book your return shuttle, tours or give you directions around town. We have a car rental at the front desk and plenty of parking outside. Bus Hostel Reykjavik is located only a few minutes away from the major bus routes in and out of Reykjavik. We are a 15 minute walk from the main shopping streets in the downtown area in one direction and Kringlan the mall in the other. Perlan, the Klambratun park and Kjarvalsstadir art museum are all just ten minute walks from us as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing