We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Home Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
101 hotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
24
30
9
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
30
9
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapartment was very cleanhome away from homethird floorstayed here for nightsthe main streetmattressannoyancestubkeyheatinghairdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

First of all we arrived at the property through the back door which is actually next to the front door (confusing I know) You need to check in at Apartment K then walk outside to the apartment. The apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. It was very comfortable and cozy when the heating was on.
Location: it's right in the middle of the town so everything is close by and in walking distance. Also it is literally right next door the the tourist information centre. Bonus!
There's only a few small things that let the place down just a tiny bit. One of them was the smell from the drain in the bathroom. We were out most of the time so it didn't bother us too much but when in the bathroom I did put a towel over the drain to try and reduce the smell. I know there isn't much that can be done about this but the people above were quite loud and you could hear every footstep and dropped object amplified through the floor. Quite annoying when you're trying to get to sleep. Also, leaving the property you can leave via a door in the back fence which is very handy but you can't gain entry via the same door. This wasn't explained to us when checking in and only when we came in through the reception and we asked were we told. I would definitely recommend this place to anybody. The price, location and facilities were really good apart from the minor annoyances mentioned.

Room Tip: Probably best to get a top floor room due to noise from people walking on floor above.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cja55476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Located just off the main street in Reykjavik, Home Luxury Apartments is centrally located making it perfect for seeing the sights in the city. The building is made up of numerous serviced apartments (also called Apartment K, we later found out) which provide a kitchen, bathroom, lounge and bedroom. It had all the amenities we could ask for including a hair dryer, clean towels, good heating (especially in March!) etc but it's definitely more practical than luxury. Can't complain for our long weekend away. Although, I didn't like the set up of the bedroom area which was literally just a mattress on the floor. We also had some disturbances during one of the nights from the occupants above stomping around until 1am, but apart from that it was an ideal place to stay for our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jayjay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Not exactly luxury, but definitely a cool place to stay! The "penthouse" is a third floor walk up, nicely appointed but not luxury in any sense of the word. No amenities except coffee, no hair dryer. Very cool tub but no stand up shower. This is not what one would call "accessible" . That's it for the negatives! Pros: location, wonderful restaurants just a few strides out the door, comfy beds, functional kitchen, great common space. Staff friendly and efficient...I checked in at 0530 and they were great! Had a broken window latch that they had repaired immediately. Overall... A little pricey for what you get ( no breakfast!) but was a fun little home away from home for a few days.

Room Tip: Avoid if you are not able to climb stairs or get in and out of a tub that is more than a meter tall!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was huge, with a full kitchen (full size fridge, stove, dishwasher, etc) full private bathroom, large bedroom, and separate living room area. The hotel was hard to find though, with just a small sign on the door that we missed at first. Check in was quick and the employees are very friendly. Great location, centrally located near attractions and nightlife. Our only problem was that our shower temperature was faulty and the water only came out scalding hot. Maintenance came up and looked at it and it worked briefly then went right back to scalding so we couldn't really use the shower.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank hlawlor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

For the most part this was a great place to spend the week. My family rented two studios and the 2 br penthouse.
The central location is really convenient for walking to almost anything in Reykjavik, and right in the middle of the tourist area, so restaurants, shops, etc, are all a quick walk away. BUT - on weekends that area is a partier's paradise, so it was loud all night. We had drunks walking up and down the street, talking, yelling, etc, and since our street was a small side-street, it was a favorite spot to pee. Yes, there were many people URINATING in the parking area behind the apartment all night long on Friday & Saturday. So keep your windows closed if you don't want to hear and smell what's going on out there. Weeknights were fine.
The apartments were basically clean and comfortable, though not as well equipped as they could have been (e.g. no microwave in our apartment).
The penthouse was a nice, well-lit, and scenic space, but a bit dangerous... walking in the front door there is a three-inch step up over which we all tripped at least once - my 85 year old Dad took a header and hit his nose on the kitchen counter. This is a really bad design and should be fixed! Also, the barrel style bathtub, though cute to look at, was impossible for my folks to get into - should be replaced. After a few nights they got used to the low sloping ceilings in the bedrooms so were able to stand up without banging their heads.
Communication with management before arrival was terrible. We had an issue with our credit card charge and it took a week's worth of emails and phone calls from us and Booking.com to even reach anybody there. Not much better when we were there. There is supposedly someone in the office 24/7, but it was rare to see anybody working there during the day, and never in the evenings. (In fact, for the first two days there was someone there, Birgir, who was very helpful and friendly, but he was only filling in for someone else and left after our second day - just wanted to give him a shout-out).
And by the way, though the address is listed as Skolastraeti (which I think means "piss here"), the actual entrance is around the block on Thingholtststraeti.. .would have been good info to get before unloading our luggage from the taxi and finding a locked gate.
That all said, I would recommend staying here, and hope that some of the property's problems can be addressed. (I just read in the NY Times that the city is trying to deal with the public urination issue).

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank organik48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews