We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
254
249
107
47
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
249
107
47
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captains bar sea pool eastern end of the island beach bar diving center main restaurant sao lourenco private beach all inclusive package whole complex huge bathroom hotel provided cocktail bar shuttle bus to funchal relaxing holiday peace and quiet hot buffet
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We stayed as a couple celebrating our wedding anniversary at the end of February. The resort complex is modelled as a village with its own marina and chapel with the large hotel reception building which also houses the main restaurant and bar near the centre of the complex.
Good points are, the rooms, public rooms, and resort as a whole are kept very neat, tidy, and clean. All the staff we had contact with are friendly, polite, and helpful. The resort is situated at the eastern end of the island and is very peaceful out of season with lovely views. There is a complementary shuttle bus to Funchal 6 days a week, as well as a service bus which passes on the road outside. Boat trips from the marina as well as snooker, tennis, beach , several pools(unheated) small shop.
The entertainment appears to be run by a French company( lots of French people on holiday) but the entertainers were very good and happy to include all who want to join in.
Being off season several bars around the complex were not open, and I believe the restaurant is run differently when the occupancy level is higher. We were on an all inclusive deal which was more than adequate, 3 meals a day, buffet breakfast, and waiter served lunch and dinner, always soup, starter, choice of fish, meat or veggie main course and choice of fruit salad or cake as a sweet. Some interesting combinations, often combining fruit and meat or fish, but generally we found the food very tasty and very well presented.
We went into Fundal 2 or 3 times, and did a west of the island tour and an east of the island tour, both tours run by Madeira limos who picked up from the hotel and had a very enjoyable holiday.
Some people complain about the location, it is out on a limb, but hire a car, do trips avail your self of the shuttle bus and we had no problem. Some moan about the drinks, tea, proper coffee, beer, wine, Madeira wine, whisky, brandy, gin, run, vodka, all of reasonable quality, soft drinks some of which are the well known brands, all free, all day untill 11 at night. I'm not sure what they expect.
We think there is a lot to recommend this hotel, and should we return to Madeira, we would certainly consider staying again.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank map1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Álvaro A, Diretor-Geral at Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and most appreciated feedback.
I´m very glad to know that our / Your Resort suits you the best.
Thank you for your detailed review , very useful for future travellers.
Our dedicated team is grateful and honored with your mention.
Knowing that you would consider staying with us again on your next visit to the Atlantic Pearl, is the best award that we can get.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Sunny Regards from Madeira,
Álvaro Aragão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

There are two main reasons for staying at this resort, particularly off-season. The staff and the food. We went in February when lunch and dinner were waiter-served, with the benefit of an exceptional maitre-d. All dining, bar and reception staff were efficient, professional, friendly and helpful. A rare time when service was slow in the restaurant was when they were suddenly overwhelmed with visitors. Language skills were first class, with many also speaking other languages. The quality of the food was superb. We liked the buffet breakfast and enjoyed the evening meal but for service alone nothing could beat the lunches. Like the evening meals they are four-course, comprising soup, starters, choice of fish, meat or vegetarian for mains and either salad or dessert of the day. Completely fresh and mostly piping hot, with a different selection from the evening. If you love fish, then you are in for a treat. The chef knew exactly what he was doing and you would go a long way to find anywhere else who was capable of cooking and presenting dishes so well. A real star. Perhaps the presentation might be lost when they move to more buffet service in the high season? At all meals red, white, rose, sparkling wines and water by the glass, were generally chosen. If you want more order it when the next course is served to avoid a wait.

The French comprised the bulk of the tourists when we visited. Such entertainment as there was, was geared towards them. There is little to do in the evenings if you don't have your own entertainment. The upstairs bar is a huge room with the usual seating, and a featureless bar at one end. The drinks are local and we liked the quality of wines and spirits. You sign for everything, but there is no restriction on the amount if you are all inclusive.

For day and evening entertainment there is a good library, a room with a full-sized billiards table (ask for the snooker balls if you want to play pool), a huge separate games room with quality ping pong table, fitness and other equipment, and a separate tennis court. Equipment supplied on request. Pools looked good, but too cold for us to use. Our balcony was shady, so we sat in the huge verandah alongside the dining room (we opted to eat outside a couple of times). It is a suntrap, away from the wind which is a feature of this part of the island.

This is a small self-contained resort away from the main towns of Madeira. It is about 25 minutes from the airport on the east of the island. The whole place is clean and well-maintained and most attractive from land and sea. Buildings are the hotel, church, marina, bar, a few small shops and a number of unoccupied houses (time-share?). The bus stop (113, hourly or so) is immediately outside the gate. There is a shuttle bus to Funchal, but book well-ahead as it gets full quickly. If you get the bus, sometimes you have to change at Machico Bus Station, rather than going directly. A lovely, but slower route. We found nothing much to do at Machino, but made a change. Walked to Canical and around the dry docks which is busy with trawlers in for servicing. Nearby cemetery for the church was worth a detour and the whale museum is reportedly excellent (but we went on a Monday when it is closed). Ask reception staff to stamp a card to get a 10 percent discount on admission.

Q da L is suitable for those who want a quieter holiday, perhaps visiting Funchal, going to Santana, and walking to Sao Laurenco which we found the best hike of the island (see separate review). No pavements on local roads, but drivers are accustomed to walkers so nothing to fear if you take the usual precautions.

We personally had a fantastic break. This holiday was everything we wanted.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pf12015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Álvaro A, Diretor-Geral at Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and detailed and most appreciated review , after your recent stay with us.
Knowing that your holiday was everything you wanted , gives us the feeling of job well done; we have the daily goal to provide you a memorable stay.
I´m very glad to read that our food options were up to your preferences , and that our dedicated team made you feel very welcome to Your Resort.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Warm Regards from the Atlantic Pearl , Madeira Island,

Álvaro Aragão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We went there in the off-season spring 2016. The hotel is placed at the far end of Madeira, a bit of a drive from most sights and activities, but therefore peaceful and good to relax and wind down. Having a car is very recommended, parking is free. The site looks like a typical Madeiran village, all buildings have the same style and the square with the church and the lighthouse is as picturesque as it can get. If you look for a really fancy place to marry - here you go! :)

Breakfast buffet is very good. We did not have dinner there, because I personally like travelling and exploring more places rather than eating in the same place again and again - from what I saw, Dinner looks very good as well. You can have good drinks in the bar or eat a small snack at the marina.

There is a small boulevard at the marina which offers tourist rides and diving tours and some shopping, but in off-seasons they were closed.

Room tip: front row has best sea view, but most other rooms also feature a great view down from the hill.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eckart691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Álvaro A, Diretor-Geral at Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your visit and feedback.
Thank you also for your detailed discription of our / Your resort, very useful for future travellers.
I´m very glad to know that overall you had a nice stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you on your next visit,

Warm Regards,
Álvaro Aragão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Spent two days in this very nice hotel. We were visiting in low season and it was very peaceful with very few other customers. We had a great room overlooking the small harbor and coastline between Machico and the hotel. The room was large with two bathrooms and large bed room and sitting area separated by a door. The main bath room was very large. The breakfast was very good with made to order omelletes and sparkling wine. The check in was lengthy but the staff was very kind.

The one point for improvement would be to have mattress toppers for the bed. The bed was very hard.

Staff was Kind
Breakfast fabulous
Views were Awesome
Free Parking
Very interesting property and expansive lay out.

Would come

Room tip: Building H4 Room 305
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Álvaro A, Diretor-Geral at Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and most appreciated feedback.
I´m very glad to know that our / Your resort suists you the best.
Our dedicated team is honored and grateful with your mention.

Knowing that you plan to return is the best award that we can get.

Sunny Regards from the Atlantic Pearl, Madeira Island.

Álvaro Aragão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We were outside the main holiday season so the buffet evening meal was not offered; instead we had delicious four-course meals, always a choice of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes. The service was quick and the multi-lingual waiters attentive, knowledgeable and pleasant to talk to.The breakfast is a buffet offering full English breakfast, cereal, meat and cheese, many types of bread and freshly-baked cake, pancakes and always fresh tropical fruit and fruit juices. The very fresh eggs could be fried or boiled to order.
Our room was spacious, with a balcony and sea view. Very comfortable beds, a large bathroom with shower and bath.
The atmosphere was that of a small village, separate blocks gathered round the marina. A small supermarket provided wine, milk and various essentials. The launderette was modern and had a professional (fast) washing-machine and dryer.
The resort has been beautifully designed, the decoration is discreet with polished stone and wood. The foyer had an enormous bouquet of fresh flowers: roses and lilies and eucalyptus leaves.
This is an excellent resort for those who appreciate quiet and calm. The hotel is some distance from Funchal but there is a free mini-bus service in the morning, returning at five in the evening. For those hiring a car there is a large underground garage.
All rooms have good wifi.
There are several outdoor swimming pools, including a seawater pool with small fish swimming alongside the bathers!
The blocks of hotel rooms are connected by roads which some people may find steep to walk up, but there are very many lifts which connect the upper and lower areas.
We had a delightful holiday and would highly recommend the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AlbaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Álvaro A, Diretor-Geral at Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your most appreciated preference and fantastic feedback.
It´s a true joy to read such a nice review as your´s.
I´m very glad to know that our rooms, service, food options , resort facilities were up to your expectations.
Knowing that you had a delighful holiday feels our heart , and make us work harder and better every single day.
Our dedicated team is honored and grateful with your mention.
Your recommendations are trully appreciated.
I hope you give us the chance to welcome you back again, in a non distant future.

Sunny Regards from Quinta do Lorde,
Álvaro Aragão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews