We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Farmhouse, a haven to relax, recharge...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar Rahal

The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Relaxed outdoor dining The central courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Relaxed outdoor dining
The central courtyard
Master bedroom
Ensuite to master bedroom - the old birthing room
Upstairs twin bedroom facing the sun terrace
Ensuite shower room of upstairs twin bedroom
The roof top sun terrace and outdoor shower by the pool
The view from the roof top sun terrace towards Marsalforn
The cosy lounge - originally the stables
The dining area in the stables
Fully equipped kitchen
Downstairs twin with ensuite shower/washroom
Downstairs en-suite shower room with washing machine
The back terrace shaded by vines
Gate to the pool area
Safety gates on all the stairs
Plenty of toys, books and baby gear so you can travel light
Courtyard by night
View across the Marsalforn salt pans
Xlendi cliffs at sunset - our favourite walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Xaghra, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Tonykatka
WOrthing
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Farmhouse, a haven to relax, recharge and enjoy”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Spent 8 days here in Sept 2013, We were attracted by the child friendly nature of the farmhouse, and it provide excellent. Our 18 month old have a great time exploring in a safe environment without fear she could fall down lots of steps.
Everything we needed was there, my only recommendation to future visitors is the use of insert repelling incense, the fly's are a pain but by burning incense it helps this situation massively.
Overall - full recommend and would use the place again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: Fly's
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank-you for your lovely review. You're the first person who's commented on the safety gates, it's great to hear they really do their job in terms of keeping little people save from the stairs. Sorry to hear the flies gave you trouble but glad to hear you found the solution to this - we'll try the same next time we're in Gozo. I hope we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susannah...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful farmhouse in a great location”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

As soon as you open the front door to this property and find yourself in a beautiful, secluded courtyard covered in flowers, you know Dar Rahal is a special place. It's a 400-year-old farmhouse with bags of character and a small pool up on a deck, which is great for younger children. The owners and housekeeper were extremely helpful and the location wonderful - just a 5-10 minute walk from the town square, which is surrounded by outdoor cafes and restaurants, all of which had good food and very friendly service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secluded courtyard
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank-you for your lovely review and delighted to hear our farmhouse impressed from the moment you stepped through the front door. We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit, not only our farmhouse, but everything Xaghra has to offer too and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sn0wgarth
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the location, the courtyard, the pool - in fact everything”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Dar Rahal is a genuine Gozitan farmhouse less than a 10 minute walk from Xaghra's village square. The village itself has lots of good restaurants and there are plenty of shops to buy supplies.

The shady courtyard was ideal for outdoor dining, though we hardly used the large living area inside. There is one bedroom on the ground floor and two at first floor level, all independently accessed. All in all, a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The plant filled courtyard dining area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2013
Thank-you for your kind review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our farmhouse and it's location. We think Xaghra is one of the best villages in Gozo due to the various shops, restaurants and bars all walking distance from our farmhouse - it makes for a very simple holiday. We hope we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMullans
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Once you step through the doors it is like stepping into your own tranquil hideaway.”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Great place, farmhouse well equipped, swimming pool great, my 14 year old twin boys and 77 year old mother loved it! Lovely ground floor bedroom and bathroom, my mother felt like she had her own apartment. Have a cup of tea, sit by the kitchen window and watch the travelling shops go by and listen to the village life. Make sure you take a look at the local church, amazing. Everything you need is in the village, papers from the petrol station, local bread and wine and good restaurants. Looking forward to our next trip to Gozo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2012
Thank-you for your lovely review. It is really nice to hear our farmhouse suited all ages of the family and that you found Xaghra a well serviced village, making your holiday an easy experience. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire...
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Dar Rahal”
Reviewed 4 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Dar Rahal was the perfect location for our holiday in Gozo. The house is tucked away in Xaghra but still only a 10 minute walk to the village square and its restaurants. We really enjoyed everything about the house, particularly the rooftop pool and, given that we were travelling with a toddler, really appreciated the children's toys and stair gates. The booking process was easy and the owners very willing to answer any questions we had and provide recommendations about things to do and places to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: some of the kitchen utensils had seen better days
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2012
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're glad you found the stair gates and kids' toys useful. As parents ourselves we always find such facilities make a world of difference to any stay in a rental property. We hope we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing